Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:33:57 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Firstbits.com / Blockchain.info Discrepancy  (Read 1333 times)
benjamindees
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 08:37:14 PM
 #1

Blockchain.info tells me that my firstbits are 1sland.  Firstbits.com tells me that they are 1slan.

Doesn't this present a problem?  I see the potential for conflict here.  Which is authoritative?

Related:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=66508.0

Civil Liberty Through Complex Mathematics
1480718037
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718037

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718037
Reply with quote  #2

1480718037
Report to moderator
1480718037
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718037

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718037
Reply with quote  #2

1480718037
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480718037
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718037

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718037
Reply with quote  #2

1480718037
Report to moderator
1480718037
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718037

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718037
Reply with quote  #2

1480718037
Report to moderator
1480718037
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718037

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718037
Reply with quote  #2

1480718037
Report to moderator
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 02:30:41 AM
 #2

Blockchain.info tells me that my firstbits are 1sland.  Firstbits.com tells me that they are 1slan.
Doesn't this present a problem?  I see the potential for conflict here.  Which is authoritative?
Related:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=66508.0

Neither is, you shouldn't use firstbits— not only does it encourage spamming, but it's fundamentally incompatible with pruning which will be required in the future to keep the cost of running a bitcoin node manageable.
benjamindees
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile
May 19, 2012, 06:32:42 PM
 #3

you shouldn't use firstbits

Okay, I'm convinced.  Mostly because it clearly doesn't work.  After a bit of research, the issue is with firstbits.com.  

Originally it told me my firstbits were "1slan".  But blockchain.info returns a different address for those firstbits:

1sLanGJHUdTBnFgqHUgq2fggx3UaMryvT

So, I entered that address into firstbits.com, and now it says that that address has the firstbits "1slan" and that my address has the firstbits "1sland".

Clearly some very sloppy programming on the part of Firstbits.com.  This is not reliable at all.

Civil Liberty Through Complex Mathematics
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!