Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:17:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: My video cards + Linux  (Read 3393 times)
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 22, 2012, 01:01:06 AM
 #1

Hello !

I need help installing my video drivers

I have two AMD ATI Radeon 7770 HD First time I use the default additional drivers then i reebot and give me a black screen

then I use this guide https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto/ATI and happen the same thing

and heard that the 7000 series not supported yet ( but that was on Feb 2012 ) and i found this :
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pa ... pport.aspx ( so i use it on the guide that i show before )

what can i do ? please

Linux mind 12
Dual core
4 gb ram
1480724273
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480724273

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480724273
Reply with quote  #2

1480724273
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480724273
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480724273

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480724273
Reply with quote  #2

1480724273
Report to moderator
1480724273
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480724273

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480724273
Reply with quote  #2

1480724273
Report to moderator
1480724273
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480724273

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480724273
Reply with quote  #2

1480724273
Report to moderator
lueo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


Bitcoin believer


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2012, 05:33:46 AM
 #2

You might want to try Xubuntu. At least mine went smoothly.

I've wrote a guide of it. Hope that can help you.

http://goo.gl/vP3G9

Hello !

I need help installing my video drivers

I have two AMD ATI Radeon 7770 HD First time I use the default additional drivers then i reebot and give me a black screen

then I use this guide https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto/ATI and happen the same thing

and heard that the 7000 series not supported yet ( but that was on Feb 2012 ) and i found this :
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pa ... pport.aspx ( so i use it on the guide that i show before )

what can i do ? please

Linux mind 12
Dual core
4 gb ram

Donation: 1M1mB5BQX5QthTojfHxXxJQJr8ro5xLcKR
Real-time LR <-> MTGOX exchange! http://goo.gl/gJqZS
Internet Marketing Q&A in Chinese: http://qa.webcash168.com/
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 22, 2012, 06:23:14 PM
 #3

SWEET ,THANK YOU !!1 (L) I will give it a try !
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 23, 2012, 05:10:31 AM
 #4

Hello !

I test it , and its works but not very well but its better.

1 Question , what i need to do in the xorg.conf on :

IV.Config AMD Driver

Check if all your cards can be detected and then write configuration to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

And

On terminal last step :

sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --odgt

I get :

ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series
ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series

I Have Two cards ( 7770 )

And every time I move the mouse I get a blink line on the screen ( its annoying )

If you can tell me something or someone else ! Thanks @lueo
lueo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


Bitcoin believer


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2012, 05:40:10 AM
 #5

I'm not sure what happened...

Have you installed Catalyst 12.4?

7xxx need Catalyst > 11.12 to be recognized.

Hello !

I test it , and its works but not very well but its better.

1 Question , what i need to do in the xorg.conf on :

IV.Config AMD Driver

Check if all your cards can be detected and then write configuration to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

And

On terminal last step :

sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --odgt

I get :

ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series
ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series

I Have Two cards ( 7770 )

And every time I move the mouse I get a line on the screen ( its annoying )

If you can tell me something or someone else ! Thanks @lueo

Donation: 1M1mB5BQX5QthTojfHxXxJQJr8ro5xLcKR
Real-time LR <-> MTGOX exchange! http://goo.gl/gJqZS
Internet Marketing Q&A in Chinese: http://qa.webcash168.com/
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 23, 2012, 05:43:47 AM
 #6

On Settings > AMD Catalyst Control Center > Information > Software :

Driver Packaging version : 8.96.7
2D Driver version : 8.96.4
Catalyst Control center Version : 2.14
RandR Version: 1.3

lueo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


Bitcoin believer


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2012, 05:49:18 AM
 #7

Try the following commands before aticonfig:

Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1

sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --odgt

On Settings > AMD Catalyst Control Center > Information > Software :

Driver Packaging version : 8.96.7
2D Driver version : 8.96.4
Catalyst Control center Version : 2.14
RandR Version: 1.3



Donation: 1M1mB5BQX5QthTojfHxXxJQJr8ro5xLcKR
Real-time LR <-> MTGOX exchange! http://goo.gl/gJqZS
Internet Marketing Q&A in Chinese: http://qa.webcash168.com/
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 23, 2012, 07:04:41 AM
 #8

Same:

ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series
ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series
lueo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


Bitcoin believer


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2012, 07:20:18 AM
 #9

...
Nothing I can do more...

How about skip this step and try cgminer detection directly? If cgminer shows your cores correctly, then you're ready to do.

Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1

./cgminer -n

Same:

ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series
ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series

Donation: 1M1mB5BQX5QthTojfHxXxJQJr8ro5xLcKR
Real-time LR <-> MTGOX exchange! http://goo.gl/gJqZS
Internet Marketing Q&A in Chinese: http://qa.webcash168.com/
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 23, 2012, 04:20:01 PM
 #10

Yes , im going to install the miner , but the blink line and lot of crash reports are annoying Tongue

I write when I  make it
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
May 24, 2012, 07:20:16 AM
 #11

I get :

ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series
ERROR - Get temperature failed for adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 7700 series

Did you do:

Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --initial -f

Sometimes the error appears because the xorg.conf isn't built right or not at all.
'-f' is force, if you omit it, sometimes xorg.conf won't be built properly.

Also, did you reboot after you --initial -f the aticonfig step? Reboots are a requirement for many steps.
For instance, after you install the CCC driver, reboot, then install SDK, reboot, set aticonfig, reboot, then check --odgt. Wink
These reboots are required because changes are being made to the kernel and kernel code won't be running without a reboot.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
andrufala
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 10:46:50 PM
 #12

Thanks for your Help & Answers but I give up , cant solve this Tongue , I'm back to windows until next drivers updates for my 7000 series

Thanks guys !
lueo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


Bitcoin believer


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2012, 03:59:05 AM
 #13

I met the same problem while reinstalling xubuntu.

The problem is solved after I upgrade the system by:

Code:
sudo apt-get update; sudo apt-get upgrade

Hope that helps!

Thanks for your Help & Answers but I give up , cant solve this Tongue , I'm back to windows until next drivers updates for my 7000 series

Thanks guys !

Donation: 1M1mB5BQX5QthTojfHxXxJQJr8ro5xLcKR
Real-time LR <-> MTGOX exchange! http://goo.gl/gJqZS
Internet Marketing Q&A in Chinese: http://qa.webcash168.com/
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!