Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:08:15 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is there anything wrong with my configuration?  (Read 1707 times)
Clarithium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2011, 07:32:59 AM
 #1

Here is the parts im going to build for my rig.. tell me if theres anything wrong or if parts arent compatabile or if I need to upgrade my CPU to at least a dual core. Will be running linux!

AMD Sempron 140 Sargas 2.7GHz
80 GB Sata HDD
Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157207
Power supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817171055
2GB DDR3 Ram
COOLER MASTER HAF X (Will this keep my pc cooled?)
3 x ATi 6990

Are there any parts im missing that my rig would require? Or could I throw these parts together and start mining right away. Thank you for any tech enthusiast willing to help me out Smiley








I make websites for bitcoins! Will help you host!Click Here
Bitcoin Mining Rigs
1CrNUxx8E9ds1jQ1dexp9FFjhcuUqupdmN
1481198895
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198895

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198895
Reply with quote  #2

1481198895
Report to moderator
1481198895
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198895

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198895
Reply with quote  #2

1481198895
Report to moderator
1481198895
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198895

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198895
Reply with quote  #2

1481198895
Report to moderator
"Governments are good at cutting off the heads of a centrally controlled networks like Napster, but pure P2P networks like Gnutella and Tor seem to be holding their own." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481198895
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198895

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198895
Reply with quote  #2

1481198895
Report to moderator
Nythain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 15, 2011, 07:38:46 AM
 #2

A case?
And if you run windows  you'll need some dummy plugs for your video outputs or windows will shut the cards off.

Clarithium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2011, 01:31:54 PM
 #3

Quote
COOLER MASTER HAF X (Will this keep my pc cooled?)

Is my case.

I make websites for bitcoins! Will help you host!Click Here
Bitcoin Mining Rigs
1CrNUxx8E9ds1jQ1dexp9FFjhcuUqupdmN
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
May 15, 2011, 01:34:33 PM
 #4

A case?
And if you run windows  you'll need some dummy plugs for your video outputs or windows will shut the cards off.

Quote
COOLER MASTER HAF X (Will this keep my pc cooled?)

Is my case.

I'm not entirely sure, but I think the implication may have been that a case isn't entirely necessary. I have one but I only have the one GPU, running quite cool. Miners with pets, small children etc may also regard a case as essential!

This space intentionally left blank.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 01:44:02 PM
 #5

A case is also nice to have if you don't like short circuiting the power pins on the MB with a screw driver to start it.
Clarithium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2011, 01:48:55 PM
 #6

Guys I posted my case... x.x;

Heres a pic of it.
http://www.legitreviews.com/images/reviews/1311/cooler_master_haf_x_001.jpg

I plan to build 3 of these rigs.  Is the config good?

I make websites for bitcoins! Will help you host!Click Here
Bitcoin Mining Rigs
1CrNUxx8E9ds1jQ1dexp9FFjhcuUqupdmN
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
May 15, 2011, 01:56:46 PM
 #7

A case is also nice to have if you don't like short circuiting the power pins on the MB with a screw driver to start it.
True, that's one luxury I'd quite like to keep. I think if I was building a multi-GPU rig on the cheap I'd try and use a desktop case with the top removed. Though, to be honest, I'm sufficiently paranoid about small animals etc that I'd probably avoid doing it completely on the cheap and settle for a cheap case with decent fans.

This space intentionally left blank.
Nythain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 15, 2011, 02:14:33 PM
 #8

A case?
And if you run windows  you'll need some dummy plugs for your video outputs or windows will shut the cards off.

Quote
COOLER MASTER HAF X (Will this keep my pc cooled?)

Is my case.

I'm not entirely sure, but I think the implication may have been that a case isn't entirely necessary. I have one but I only have the one GPU, running quite cool. Miners with pets, small children etc may also regard a case as essential!

Actually, i was just retarded and didnt take the time to google that product since it didnt have a link. I had assumed it was an aftermarket cooling system Sad
So yeah, i mean, given that thats the case, i dont see much else you could need for a functional system.

kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 02:23:36 PM
 #9

I am running 2 x 6990 with the Haf x. I noticed that the lower gpu has way higher temperature compared to the top card. This is due to the hdd bays restricting the hot air venting into the case. We know that the design of 6990 pushes hot air out through both ends of the card, so all I can say is that 1 core of both your 2nd and 3rd card will experience high temperature. I would suggest removing the hdd cage to allow more room for the hot air to circulate but it requires drilling through the reverts holding the hdd drive bay. Anyway as a gauge the hottest core in my system is about 10 degrees hotter than the coolest core. In this case the core nearest to the hdd case vs the core nearest to the 5.25 inch drive bays. Overall Haf x is sufficient but I would suggest looking at Aerocool case http://www.aerocool.com.tw/index.php/products/chassis/28-pgsb/111-xpredator-black- if your budget permits and location sells them. The 4 x 120 mm fans on the side panel allows you to change fans depending on ur preference instead of the low rpm 200mm sidepanel fan of the Haf x.

Tukotih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 03:49:00 PM
 #10

Guys I posted my case... x.x;

Heres a pic of it.
http://www.legitreviews.com/images/reviews/1311/cooler_master_haf_x_001.jpg

I plan to build 3 of these rigs.  Is the config good?
My MB has a power button. Most modern MB has these days I think. Atleast the three machines I've build over the past 2 years.

Donations always appreciated: 1GkRu9rZxk5iMRzsrcZxZ3BUHV1SWNZ9RB
IMPORTANT! Switch from deepbit: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8653.0
Clarithium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2011, 09:10:46 PM
 #11

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/linux/Pages/radeon_linux.aspx?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.42&lang=English

Wouldn't this work for triple 6990's..?

I make websites for bitcoins! Will help you host!Click Here
Bitcoin Mining Rigs
1CrNUxx8E9ds1jQ1dexp9FFjhcuUqupdmN
Clarithium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2011, 09:38:12 PM
 #12

Well i'd like someone to confirm that my 6990's will run on linux if I have 3 of them before I drop all this money on it..

I make websites for bitcoins! Will help you host!Click Here
Bitcoin Mining Rigs
1CrNUxx8E9ds1jQ1dexp9FFjhcuUqupdmN
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 11:18:48 PM
 #13

Well i'd like someone to confirm that my 6990's will run on linux if I have 3 of them before I drop all this money on it..


I can confirm that for you.

Ubuntu allows up to 8 GPUs to work on 1 board at any given time.
Clarithium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile WWW
May 16, 2011, 12:41:16 AM
 #14

Will I still pull that 700mhash/s though thats what im wondering.

I make websites for bitcoins! Will help you host!Click Here
Bitcoin Mining Rigs
1CrNUxx8E9ds1jQ1dexp9FFjhcuUqupdmN
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!