Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:38:12 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How long does it take to solve a block with a solo miner?  (Read 15847 times)
Trini8ed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375


<3 Bitcoins


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 08:12:44 AM
 #1

Well I have 2 5870's running the gui-miner I just setup the solo miner how long does it usually take for 750mhash to solve 1 block also how many bitcoins usually in a block? Have been using deepbit and don't know whether solo mining or deepbit would make me more bitcoins please answer my questions would love quick responses!

Everyone Loves Donations: 1PEVhtmnBqiN8rYXLHhtUWAB6q9X63Zm9D
Steam Profile: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Trini8ed
1480718292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718292
Reply with quote  #2

1480718292
Report to moderator
1480718292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718292
Reply with quote  #2

1480718292
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480718292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718292
Reply with quote  #2

1480718292
Report to moderator
1480718292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718292
Reply with quote  #2

1480718292
Report to moderator
1480718292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718292
Reply with quote  #2

1480718292
Report to moderator
Nesetalis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile
May 15, 2011, 08:17:01 AM
 #2

http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php
use that to calculate... but its a factor of probability.. not inching your way towards completing one... you could, theoretically, get one every few seconds... or never get one at all.

ZOMG Moo!
Trini8ed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375


<3 Bitcoins


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 08:20:45 AM
 #3

how much is 750 mhash in khash?

Everyone Loves Donations: 1PEVhtmnBqiN8rYXLHhtUWAB6q9X63Zm9D
Steam Profile: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Trini8ed
Nesetalis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile
May 15, 2011, 08:22:26 AM
 #4

er... 1 mhash is 1000khash :p
k= kilo
m= mega

ZOMG Moo!
Trini8ed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375


<3 Bitcoins


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 08:25:20 AM
 #5

 Grin Thanks also is solo mining or deepbit the way to go with which one is better?

Everyone Loves Donations: 1PEVhtmnBqiN8rYXLHhtUWAB6q9X63Zm9D
Steam Profile: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Trini8ed
Nesetalis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile
May 15, 2011, 08:27:12 AM
 #6

there are dozens of pools around.. i'm using BTCMine.com right now.. i was using bitcoinpool..
solo mining is a pain in the ass.. though if you get lucky (which is rare) its got the good payoff :p
but since you have some decent hardware but not in the gigahash range, id say pool it.

ZOMG Moo!
jw408
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 10:19:42 AM
 #7

difficulty going up in 4.4 days from now.

given the increase in processing power, I expect a big jump! Get them btc's while you can...
commlinx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 15, 2011, 10:48:13 AM
 #8

Well I have 2 5870's running the gui-miner I just setup the solo miner how long does it usually take for 750mhash to solve 1 block also how many bitcoins usually in a block? Have been using deepbit and don't know whether solo mining or deepbit would make me more bitcoins please answer my questions would love quick responses!
Using a pool is about reducing variance, in probability you'll get 3% more (pool charge for deepbit) in the long term mining by yourself. Using that setup though average will be 14 days odd (and longer soon) to earn a block of 50BTC, you might be very lucky and get it the first day, you might be unlucky and not get one in a year. I use a similar speed rig (single 5970) and think you're better off reducing the variance and getting a more known amount, especially given all the difficulty / exchange fluctuations. Recently I've been getting about 3-4 BTC a day using that setup, although use it for other stuff so it's not set aggressively. But getting payments every day or two means I can trade / sell etc more often.

Tukotih
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 15, 2011, 03:50:32 PM
 #9

Grin Thanks also is solo mining or deepbit the way to go with which one is better?
Mining pools would almost always be the preferred choice.
Or MMP if you have multiple machines and want to kinda create your own mining pool.

Donations always appreciated: 1GkRu9rZxk5iMRzsrcZxZ3BUHV1SWNZ9RB
IMPORTANT! Switch from deepbit: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=8653.0
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 04:02:07 AM
 #10

how hard is it to create an MMP?
jedi95
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
May 16, 2011, 04:59:05 AM
 #11

how hard is it to create an MMP?

Not very hard, you just use MultiMiner:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5210.0

MultiMiner also accepts RPC connections, but it lacks long polling so MMP is highly recommended. The only miner that supports MMP right now is Phoenix.

Phoenix Miner developer

Donations appreciated at:
1PHoenix9j9J3M6v3VQYWeXrHPPjf7y3rU
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!