Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:41:54 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 7970 results with a kill-a-watt  (Read 3209 times)
ge0rgieee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
May 30, 2012, 04:32:44 AM
 #1

I've plugged a 7970 into a seasonic 400x without anything else plugged into the psu and here are the results straight from the wall: (all settings done with afterburner - REMEMBER these numbers are only for one card not the system)

STOCK

core volt: 1.112
core clock: 925
mem volt: 1.600
mem clock: 1375
idle: 26.5w
load: 245w

MHash/s: 550

===============================================

core volts / core clock / mem volt / mem clock / load / mhash - mhash per watt

1.112 / 925 / 1.500 / 685 / 238w / 550 - 2.31
1.112 / 925 / 1.500 / 340 / 230w / 547 - 2.37
0.975 / 925 / 1.500 / 150 / 152w / 540 - 3.55
0.950 / 925 / 1.500 / 150 / 140w / 540 - 3.85
0.925 / 925 / 1.500 / 150 / 131w / 540 - 4.12
0.925 / 925 / 1.500 / 340 / 132w / 545 - 4.12
0.925 / 925 / 1.500 / 685 / 135w / 548 - 4.05
0.918 / 925 / 1.500 / 150 / 128w / 540 - 4.21 [MOST EFFICIENT]
0.918 / 925 / 1.500 / 340 / 130w / 545 - 4.19
0.900 / 925 / 1.500 / 150 / 000w / 000 [FAILED]
0.925 / 950 / 1.500 / 150 / 133w / 555 [FAILED after 30min+]
0.937 / 950 / 1.500 / 150 / 139w / 552 - 3.97
0.937 / 950 / 1.500 / 340 / 140w / 559 - 3.99
0.937 / 975 / 1.500 / 150 / 142w / 569 - 4.00
0.937 / 975 / 1.500 / 340 / 000w / 000 [FAILED]
0.943 / 975 / 1.500 / 150 / 144w / 570 - 3.95
0.943 / 975 / 1.500 / 340 / 146w / 575 - 3.93
0.943 / 1000 / 1.500 / 150 / 000w / 000 [FAILED]
0.956 / 1000 / 1.500 / 150 / 152w / 584 [FAILED after 30min+]
0.962 / 1000 / 1.500 / 150 / 146w / 584 [FAILED after 30min+]
0.975 / 1000 / 1.500 / 150 / 155w / 584 - 3.76
0.975 / 1000 / 1.500 / 340 / 158w / 590 - 3.73




I'm going to do a few more different combinations until I find one that produces the best hashes for watt. I'm gonna add more so keep watching and if you want me to try a combo let me know.
1480905714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905714
Reply with quote  #2

1480905714
Report to moderator
1480905714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905714
Reply with quote  #2

1480905714
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480905714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905714
Reply with quote  #2

1480905714
Report to moderator
1480905714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905714
Reply with quote  #2

1480905714
Report to moderator
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 30, 2012, 04:39:01 AM
 #2

core volts / core clock / mem volt / mem clock / load / mhash

1.112 / 925 / 1.500 / 685 / 238w / 550
1.112 / 925 / 1.500 / 340 / 230w / 547
0.975 / 925 / 1.500 / 150 / 152w / 440
0.950 / 925 / 1.500 / 150 / 140w / 440
0.925 / 925 / 1.500 / 150 / 131w / 440
0.925 / 950 / 1.500 / 150 / 133w / 555

The bolded numbers look wrong. Compare it to your first line.

I know Afterburner has a bug where if you change the voltage without changing the core clocks, the card seems to go into 2D mode. Try 924 MHz.

ge0rgieee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
May 30, 2012, 04:41:12 AM
 #3

dropping the memory for some reason dropped the hash ~10 (using diablo)

EDIT: my bad, I see what you're saying... fixed it
DOH!
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 05:16:24 AM
 #4

Doesn't this ignore the power pulled from the slot? Do we just assume ATX spec is being pulled from the slot?
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2012, 05:26:49 AM
 #5

Doesn't this ignore the power pulled from the slot? Do we just assume ATX spec is being pulled from the slot?

The best test is to measure the entire system at rest and at load.  That will tell you the true usage of the card.  The card will consume power when idle, but since the computer isn't going to idle, it isn't a concern.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
ge0rgieee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
May 30, 2012, 05:28:49 AM
 #6

Doesn't this ignore the power pulled from the slot? Do we just assume ATX spec is being pulled from the slot?

The best test is to measure the entire system at rest and at load.  That will tell you the true usage of the card.  The card will consume power when idle, but since the computer isn't going to idle, it isn't a concern.

will test entire system when I get my parts for a low power MB+CPU combo and see how it affects the numbers
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2012, 05:30:21 AM
 #7

Doesn't this ignore the power pulled from the slot? Do we just assume ATX spec is being pulled from the slot?

The best test is to measure the entire system at rest and at load.  That will tell you the true usage of the card.  The card will consume power when idle, but since the computer isn't going to idle, it isn't a concern.

will test entire system when I get my parts for a low power MB+CPU combo and see how it affects the numbers

You don't have to have a lower power MB/CPU.  If you're measuring the card use, you're just concerned about the delta between load and idle, not the total usage.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
Roadhog2k5
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 06:13:14 AM
 #8

Cool, matches my numbers pretty much exactly.
joshv06
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 08:43:55 AM
 #9


AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 30, 2012, 09:33:38 AM
 #10

If you're measuring the card use, you're just concerned about the delta between load and idle, not the total usage.
The MH/watt numbers would be skewed if you're only measuring delta.

OP should test with no graphics card idle in order to establish a baseline.

imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2012, 12:32:53 PM
 #11

If you're measuring the card use, you're just concerned about the delta between load and idle, not the total usage.
The MH/watt numbers would be skewed if you're only measuring delta.

OP should test with no graphics card idle in order to establish a baseline.

If he's got two 7970s, he can measure the system idling with 1 card and 2 cards and that will tell him his idle use.  I didn't think the point of the thread was to measure the MW/watt for the system, only the card.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 30, 2012, 02:11:37 PM
 #12

If you're measuring the card use, you're just concerned about the delta between load and idle, not the total usage.
The MH/watt numbers would be skewed if you're only measuring delta.

OP should test with no graphics card idle in order to establish a baseline.

If he's got two 7970s, he can measure the system idling with 1 card and 2 cards and that will tell him his idle use.  I didn't think the point of the thread was to measure the MW/watt for the system, only the card.

Measuring delta doesnt measure the MH/W of the card accurately either. If you measure idle power and then add to delta, that would give you the true power in order to figure out the card MH/W. The idle power of these cards aren't exactly negligible compared to the load power. Mine sucks up ~40 watts idle.

Also, related thread on the subject: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=57410.0

MXRider
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 05:25:42 PM
 #13

My numbers with three 7970 clocked to 925/150/860mV

hashing away with a speed of 1650Mhash/s

drawing 440W from the wall. That will drop somwhere around 420W when it gets cooler during the night. This is for the whole system which is not that efficient with a Phenom CPU and HDD.
Roadhog2k5
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 05:50:14 PM
 #14


Measuring delta doesnt measure the MH/W of the card accurately either. If you measure idle power and then add to delta, that would give you the true power in order to figure out the card MH/W. The idle power of these cards aren't exactly negligible compared to the load power. Mine sucks up ~40 watts idle.


You have something wrong if your card is drawing 40 watts idle. They should be <15 watts idle with the screen on and they drop to <5 watts idle with the screen off.

AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 30, 2012, 07:35:16 PM
 #15

You have something wrong if your card is drawing 40 watts idle. They should be <15 watts idle with the screen on and they drop to <5 watts idle with the screen off.

That's with ULPS on. Multi-card miners can't run with ULPS on and still overclock the cards.

Roadhog2k5
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 08:40:18 PM
 #16

You have something wrong if your card is drawing 40 watts idle. They should be <15 watts idle with the screen on and they drop to <5 watts idle with the screen off.

That's with ULPS on. Multi-card miners can't run with ULPS on and still overclock the cards.

Yes you can... Just put a load on the cards when changing the clocks.
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2012, 11:05:08 PM
 #17

You have something wrong if your card is drawing 40 watts idle. They should be <15 watts idle with the screen on and they drop to <5 watts idle with the screen off.

That's with ULPS on. Multi-card miners can't run with ULPS on and still overclock the cards.

Yes you can... Just put a load on the cards when changing the clocks.

It doesn't matter what your idle usage is.. you're mining bitcoins.. the card shouldn't be idle.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 31, 2012, 01:54:57 AM
 #18

Yes you can... Just put a load on the cards when changing the clocks.

Show me a way to do this automatically please. People who mine want as much automation as possible.

It doesn't matter what your idle usage is.. you're mining bitcoins.. the card shouldn't be idle.

It does matter if you're going to matter card consumption by delta.... as I've stated time and again.

Roadhog2k5
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 03:32:14 AM
 #19

Yes you can... Just put a load on the cards when changing the clocks.

Show me a way to do this automatically please. People who mine want as much automation as possible.

It doesn't matter what your idle usage is.. you're mining bitcoins.. the card shouldn't be idle.

It does matter if you're going to matter card consumption by delta.... as I've stated time and again.

cgminer.... Plus you said it wasn't possible anyways. Just saying it is possible.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 04:07:28 AM
 #20

Interesting numbers, but unless my math is wrong, something weird is happening here..

You claim 128 watts for 7970 @ 925MHz and 0.918v, and 139w @ 950MHz and 0.937v for the whole system. Lets assume the 11 watt power increase is from the graphics card alone, since nothing else changed.
Power consumption can be guessed by TDP * (current gpu volts / stock GPU volts)^2 * (current gpu speed / stock gpu speed), but we can use the same formula to get the relative power increase from one situation to another. So...

(new volts / old volts)^2 * (new speed / old speed) = change in power
(0.937v / 0.918v)^2 * (950/925) = 1.06998 or 6.998% increase in power.

Lets assume 11 watts was the 6.998% increase in graphics card power draw, and want to find how much power the card was actually drawing instead of the whole system. We'll try to find the power draw of the card running in the first scenario (925 core, 0.918v)

x = relative change in power, or 6.998% or 0.06998
y = absolute change in power, or 11 watts
z = power the card should be drawing.

Actual power = Absolute change / relative change
z = 11/0.06998
z = 157 watts

But what is this? In this scenario, the owner listed that card to only be drawing 128 watts for the ENTIRE SYSTEM, but by my calculations, the card should be drawing 157 watts ALONE.

What is going on here? Is my math wrong? Is the power supply somehow creating power out of nowhere? Are 7970's somehow ignoring the laws of physics?

Please, someone explain. I am baffled.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!