Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:03:33 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7970's Crashing  (Read 2606 times)
Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
May 30, 2012, 07:19:51 PM
 #1

So I recently picked up two of these babies http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131471

On paper they seem like the greatest thing since sliced bread however I have had so many issues with them.

The overclock on it is so high that when doing BTC mining it'll cause a reboot after a minute.

What programs are used for handling the overclocking (or in this case underclocking) and what are recommended settings for Core/Mem/Voltage?  I was using Trixx but I'm not sure if that works with these new cards.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481389413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389413
Reply with quote  #2

1481389413
Report to moderator
1481389413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389413
Reply with quote  #2

1481389413
Report to moderator
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 07:34:06 PM
 #2

So I recently picked up two of these babies http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131471

On paper they seem like the greatest thing since sliced bread however I have had so many issues with them.

The overclock on it is so high that when doing BTC mining it'll cause a reboot after a minute.

What programs are used for handling the overclocking (or in this case underclocking) and what are recommended settings for Core/Mem/Voltage?  I was using Trixx but I'm not sure if that works with these new cards.

Use Afterburner for OC/UC/UV

For OC: 1175/685/1.174
For underclocking/undervolting: 925/50/0.931


AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 30, 2012, 07:37:33 PM
 #3

Don't forget to disable ULPS. Also 12.3 seems to be the best set of drivers for multi-card mining right now.

Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


ASIC Miner Hosting: www.bitcoinasichosting.com


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2012, 10:15:04 PM
 #4

Don't forget to disable ULPS. Also 12.3 seems to be the best set of drivers for multi-card mining right now.

UPLS?

Dal

[Winter Fire Sale] Hosting: $60.00 per KW) [6-month contracts] - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 11:25:49 PM
 #5

Reboot? It shouldn't do that. It should cause a driver crash and recover, or worst case, freeze. Reboot seems to point to a power supply problem.

AzN1337c0d3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 31, 2012, 02:00:50 AM
 #6

Don't forget to disable ULPS. Also 12.3 seems to be the best set of drivers for multi-card mining right now.

UPLS?

Dal

Google "Disable ULPS"

GernMiester
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 285


View Profile
May 31, 2012, 02:05:43 AM
 #7

Before trying anything make sure your power supply is powerful enough to run the cards. Stress the PSU to much and the PC reboots when there simply isn't the wattage available for the load.
If you haven't, get them 100% stable with no overclocking because....... A reboot sounds like a PSU issue.


Does this issue occur with only 1 card mining and the 2nd removed from the system?
Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
May 31, 2012, 02:05:59 AM
 #8

Reboot? It shouldn't do that. It should cause a driver crash and recover, or worst case, freeze. Reboot seems to point to a power supply problem.
Sorry by reboot I chose the wrong word for that.  I meant it would go to a black screen and lock up.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 03:36:17 AM
 #9

Reboot? It shouldn't do that. It should cause a driver crash and recover, or worst case, freeze. Reboot seems to point to a power supply problem.
Sorry by reboot I chose the wrong word for that.  I meant it would go to a black screen and lock up.

Black screen.. I also encounter this problem on specific cards, or at least I'm assuming this as I only have VNC access to some. It usually only happens to me if a card is unstable at a certain frequency, either due to lack of power or excess of heat in combination with high clocks, and has difficulty recovering. Out of 13 cards, 2 of them have some difficulty recovering. One of them causes the screen to freeze and entire rig is unresponsive, but is capable of high clocks at low volts (Diamond 5830 @ 885 core and 0.95v). The other goes to a black screen instead and PC is unresponsive (Sapphire 5830 extreme @ 705 core and 0.95v).

To rule out some sort of power problem, can you see if you can run furmark on all gpus, possible by extending desktop and dragging furmark window the new "monitors"? Use vga dummy plugs if you have to. I found that I get a consistently larger power draw with furmark than with bitcoin mining, and it should rule out mining-specific problems.

Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
June 01, 2012, 02:08:31 AM
 #10

I know the PSU is always emphasized when looking at issues.  I honestly believe that the cards just need a little more voltage to keep their clocks stable for mining (as opposed to gaming).  They come default 1100 Core so you can imagine the strain it is under mining.

I currently have a OCZ 1000W so unless I'm using the wrong rail for one of the cards it should be more than enough.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
June 06, 2012, 12:54:59 AM
 #11

Just thought I'd update this I'm back to having an issue.

These cards are fine for gaming, no problems at all (stock clocks at 1100Core 1450Mem) however when I mine even when underclocked for the sake of not going deaf (900Core/600ish Mem) I can mine for a few minutes then suddenly I go to a black screen and have to hard reset the PC.

I am starting to think maybe it is the power supply but I'd prefer to get a more expert opinion on this before I go out and drop like $200 for a 1200 Watt vs my 1000Watt already.

I have an OCZ ZX1000W

I'm retarded I solved my own issue. I found a review with the proper power reading that sits at 550 each.  So I do need to upgrade....Now this PC sits on a regular 120V for a house in North America.  If I get like a 1200W+ PSU will I burn the house down?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
June 06, 2012, 02:23:34 AM
 #12

I'm retarded I solved my own issue. I found a review with the proper power reading that sits at 550 each.  So I do need to upgrade....Now this PC sits on a regular 120V for a house in North America.  If I get like a 1200W+ PSU will I burn the house down?

I hope you're not referring to this because they have a 7750 consuming more power than a 7850.  *face palm*

The card is going to consume ~200W at stock settings.  Much less when you lower the core/memory and voltage.

Try testing each card individually with 3DMark11 and/or Heaven D11 Benchmark.  I highly doubt that the PSU is the problem unless it was faulty from the start.
Intention
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
June 06, 2012, 02:40:03 AM
 #13

I'm retarded I solved my own issue. I found a review with the proper power reading that sits at 550 each.  So I do need to upgrade....Now this PC sits on a regular 120V for a house in North America.  If I get like a 1200W+ PSU will I burn the house down?

I hope you're not referring to this because they have a 7750 consuming more power than a 7850.  *face palm*

The card is going to consume ~200W at stock settings.  Much less when you lower the core/memory and voltage.

Try testing each card individually with 3DMark11 and/or Heaven D11 Benchmark.  I highly doubt that the PSU is the problem unless it was faulty from the start.
Yeah that's what I was looking at I honestly thought it is odd that a 1000W can't power just two cards.  It isn't faulty since I was running 2x 6950's up until a few days ago when I swapped them out to try these.  I really want to use them but they keep causing my PC to drop to a black screen.  I'll try running with only 1 card tonight if it survives then I believe the PSU isn't keeping up.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!