Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 05:55:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bit Coin HD5870 Help!  (Read 1995 times)
KillerGasy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 08:38:00 PM
 #1

Hey Guys,

I am just getting into BitCoin mining and wanted some help with my set up!

I decided to join mining due to the fact that I have a cheap electricity rate and I already have 8 Webservers on 24/7 so I would add some cards to that!

I have 8 HD5870's at the moment,

Could some one give me some advice on how to get the best MHash Rate because atm I am not getting anywhere near the value on the comparison sheets!

I am part of the Eclipise pool after testing with a couple, I was part of Deepbit but I didn't seem to me making my projected income.

Also if anyway is feeling kind: 1Hsf21CDw5e3kBYDUFz5PoMBRQ75cbEcQZ

Anyway thanks!
1481046943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481046943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481046943
Reply with quote  #2

1481046943
Report to moderator
1481046943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481046943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481046943
Reply with quote  #2

1481046943
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481046943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481046943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481046943
Reply with quote  #2

1481046943
Report to moderator
1481046943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481046943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481046943
Reply with quote  #2

1481046943
Report to moderator
1481046943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481046943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481046943
Reply with quote  #2

1481046943
Report to moderator
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 08:53:43 PM
 #2

Try testing your speed here:
https://bitminter.com/test

Requires only java webstart. If that looks normal, you can mine on that pool with that same miner.
If speeds are still too low, we need more info.

KillerGasy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 09:02:27 PM
 #3

Try testing your speed here:
https://bitminter.com/test

Requires only java webstart. If that looks normal, you can mine on that pool with that same miner.
If speeds are still too low, we need more info.

Thanks for that, I just read some other forums posts about the command line prompts you can use with GUI Miner for dedicated mining, and it seems to have done the trick. Just need to mess about with the Clock speeds to get a reasonable temperate!
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 09:06:16 PM
 #4

Hey Guys,

I am just getting into BitCoin mining and wanted some help with my set up!

I decided to join mining due to the fact that I have a cheap electricity rate and I already have 8 Webservers on 24/7 so I would add some cards to that!

I have 8 HD5870's at the moment,

Could some one give me some advice on how to get the best MHash Rate because atm I am not getting anywhere near the value on the comparison sheets!

I am part of the Eclipise pool after testing with a couple, I was part of Deepbit but I didn't seem to me making my projected income.

Also if anyway is feeling kind: 1Hsf21CDw5e3kBYDUFz5PoMBRQ75cbEcQZ

Anyway thanks!


Drop your voltage and mem clocks as low as you can while keeping the card stable.  This will drop the temps and power consumption significantly.  With CG miner, my 5870 is pulling 456 m/hash at 990 core and 170 mem with voltage at 1.13 at a cool 60C (much cooler in the winter).

Edit:  I want to say I'm using Catalyst 11.6 drivers, Stream SDK 2.4.

KillerGasy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 09:13:27 PM
 #5

Hey Guys,

I am just getting into BitCoin mining and wanted some help with my set up!

I decided to join mining due to the fact that I have a cheap electricity rate and I already have 8 Webservers on 24/7 so I would add some cards to that!

I have 8 HD5870's at the moment,

Could some one give me some advice on how to get the best MHash Rate because atm I am not getting anywhere near the value on the comparison sheets!

I am part of the Eclipise pool after testing with a couple, I was part of Deepbit but I didn't seem to me making my projected income.

Also if anyway is feeling kind: 1Hsf21CDw5e3kBYDUFz5PoMBRQ75cbEcQZ

Anyway thanks!


Drop your voltage and mem clocks as low as you can while keeping the card stable.  This will drop the temps and power consumption significantly.  With CG miner, my 5870 is pulling 456 m/hash at 990 core and 170 mem with voltage at 1.13 at a cool 60C (much cooler in the winter).

Edit:  I want to say I'm using Catalyst 11.6 drivers, Stream SDK 2.4.

Wow, 456 O.o

Could you explain what Steam SDK 2.4 is ?

I am trying to do it with MSI Afterburner but it is not letting me drop my memory clock anywhere near that low!
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 09:16:49 PM
 #6

Hey Guys,

I am just getting into BitCoin mining and wanted some help with my set up!

I decided to join mining due to the fact that I have a cheap electricity rate and I already have 8 Webservers on 24/7 so I would add some cards to that!

I have 8 HD5870's at the moment,

Could some one give me some advice on how to get the best MHash Rate because atm I am not getting anywhere near the value on the comparison sheets!

I am part of the Eclipise pool after testing with a couple, I was part of Deepbit but I didn't seem to me making my projected income.

Also if anyway is feeling kind: 1Hsf21CDw5e3kBYDUFz5PoMBRQ75cbEcQZ

Anyway thanks!


Drop your voltage and mem clocks as low as you can while keeping the card stable.  This will drop the temps and power consumption significantly.  With CG miner, my 5870 is pulling 456 m/hash at 990 core and 170 mem with voltage at 1.13 at a cool 60C (much cooler in the winter).

Edit:  I want to say I'm using Catalyst 11.6 drivers, Stream SDK 2.4.

Wow, 456 O.o

Could you explain what Steam SDK 2.4 is ?

I am trying to do it with MSI Afterburner but it is not letting me drop my memory clock anywhere near that low!

As far as the SDK goes, just type in "ATI stream SDK 2.4" in Google and you should be able to find a download link.  For some reason I think later versions decrease the hashing power.

How low is MSI Afterburner letting you set the mem clocks??  One sec, let me try to find an old thread that tells you how to adjust your mem clocks lower.  I think you might need to make a couple simple changes to modify one of the config files.  I'll be back...


KillerGasy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 09:21:43 PM
 #7

Thanks, atm 600hz!
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 09:29:53 PM
 #8

Thanks, atm 600hz!

Ok, so, it seems I actually had to do this for my 3X6970 rig instead of my 5870.  My 5870 had no issues dropping to 170 mem using CG miner.  However, my 6970s aren't reference cards and initially it wouldn't let me drop my mem clocks more than -125 below my core clocks.  Using the following method, I was able to get my mem clocks down to 685.  Maybe this will let you drop your mem clocks below that for your 5870.

Make sure you have the latest MSI Afterburner Beta, then search for the msiafterburner.cfg file.  

I right clicked the .cfg file, went to properties --> open with notepad --> adjusted "unofficialoverclockingmode =   2"  (was previously zero) -->  save (I have 'hide file extensions' unchecked)  and then opened MSI Afterburner.

So, essentially you're changing "unofficialoverclockingmode = 0"  to "unofficialoverclockingmode = 2"  and then saving it.  Then, reopen MSI Afterburner and see if you can drop your mem clocks any lower.

If you can't, I'd still recommend using CGminer to make sure.  With GUIminer, my 5870 was running at about 400 m/hash even with massive overclocking.  CGminer gives me a better hashrate than GUIminer all else being equal.  There's no way I'd be running at 456 m/hash with GUIminer.

Edit:  Actually, I'd probably try CG miner first before the MSI Afterburner trick.  You can change your clocks, fan speeds, and voltages all through CGminer and it gives a better hashrate than GUIminer for the 5870 anyway.

KillerGasy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 31, 2012, 09:52:22 PM
 #9

Thanks, atm 600hz!

Ok, so, it seems I actually had to do this for my 3X6970 rig instead of my 5870.  My 5870 had no issues dropping to 170 mem using CG miner.  However, my 6970s aren't reference cards and initially it wouldn't let me drop my mem clocks more than -125 below my core clocks.  Using the following method, I was able to get my mem clocks down to 685.  Maybe this will let you drop your mem clocks below that for your 5870.

Make sure you have the latest MSI Afterburner Beta, then search for the msiafterburner.cfg file.  

I right clicked the .cfg file, went to properties --> open with notepad --> adjusted "unofficialoverclockingmode =   2"  (was previously zero) -->  save (I have 'hide file extensions' unchecked)  and then opened MSI Afterburner.

So, essentially you're changing "unofficialoverclockingmode = 0"  to "unofficialoverclockingmode = 2"  and then saving it.  Then, reopen MSI Afterburner and see if you can drop your mem clocks any lower.

If you can't, I'd still recommend using CGminer to make sure.  With GUIminer, my 5870 was running at about 400 m/hash even with massive overclocking.  CGminer gives me a better hashrate than GUIminer all else being equal.  There's no way I'd be running at 456 m/hash with GUIminer.

Edit:  Actually, I'd probably try CG miner first before the MSI Afterburner trick.  You can change your clocks, fan speeds, and voltages all through CGminer and it gives a better hashrate than GUIminer for the 5870 anyway.

I'm currently at home at the moment, when I go in tomorrow I'll try it and I'll tell you how it goes! Thanks!
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 12:42:12 AM
 #10

Thanks, atm 600hz!

Ok, so, it seems I actually had to do this for my 3X6970 rig instead of my 5870.  My 5870 had no issues dropping to 170 mem using CG miner.  However, my 6970s aren't reference cards and initially it wouldn't let me drop my mem clocks more than -125 below my core clocks.  Using the following method, I was able to get my mem clocks down to 685.  Maybe this will let you drop your mem clocks below that for your 5870.

Make sure you have the latest MSI Afterburner Beta, then search for the msiafterburner.cfg file.  

I right clicked the .cfg file, went to properties --> open with notepad --> adjusted "unofficialoverclockingmode =   2"  (was previously zero) -->  save (I have 'hide file extensions' unchecked)  and then opened MSI Afterburner.

So, essentially you're changing "unofficialoverclockingmode = 0"  to "unofficialoverclockingmode = 2"  and then saving it.  Then, reopen MSI Afterburner and see if you can drop your mem clocks any lower.

If you can't, I'd still recommend using CGminer to make sure.  With GUIminer, my 5870 was running at about 400 m/hash even with massive overclocking.  CGminer gives me a better hashrate than GUIminer all else being equal.  There's no way I'd be running at 456 m/hash with GUIminer.

Edit:  Actually, I'd probably try CG miner first before the MSI Afterburner trick.  You can change your clocks, fan speeds, and voltages all through CGminer and it gives a better hashrate than GUIminer for the 5870 anyway.

I'm currently at home at the moment, when I go in tomorrow I'll try it and I'll tell you how it goes! Thanks!

No problem.  Good luck!

grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 01:04:20 AM
 #11

Thanks, atm 600hz!
don't you mean mhz?

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
KillerGasy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 10:56:05 AM
 #12

Thanks, atm 600hz!
don't you mean mhz?

Yep xD
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!