Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:29:53 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5870 and 5850, mixed cards, CGminer identifies a card without OCL support  (Read 2562 times)
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 02:53:13 AM
 #1

I've been mining for ages..  but all the new drivers and catalyst packages are messing me up..

So Im just throwing this out there..

I got cgminer running ok with 5870, when I put the 5850 in with it..

cgminer says its identified another card that is not opencl compatible.. and will start mining no problem on the 5870, but ignores the 5850..

I installed the 5xxx 11.12 drivers twice...

What am I missing?


Its been a while since I troubleshooted all these problems, been out of the loop for a while..

Any tips, or someone that can fix this will be rewarded..

thanks


oh ya.. Im in a win32 xp setup..  not ideal.. but...


For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
1481142593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142593
Reply with quote  #2

1481142593
Report to moderator
1481142593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142593
Reply with quote  #2

1481142593
Report to moderator
1481142593
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142593

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142593
Reply with quote  #2

1481142593
Report to moderator
Bitcoin mining is now a specialized and very risky industry, just like gold mining. Amateur miners are unlikely to make much money, and may even lose money. Bitcoin is much more than just mining, though!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 03:02:33 AM
 #2

Which SDK? Stock bioses on the gpus?

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 03:04:24 AM
 #3

hmmmmm..  forget which sdk I put in...  shit..

how do I find out..

and yes, stock bios on the gpus as far as I know..


I know im missing something stupid..   

I've done this plenty of times.. 

I grabbed older install packages, the new ones dont do shit for some reason..   


For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 03:06:04 AM
 #4

2.1 sdk I installed

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 05:50:07 AM
 #5

So you started with a 5870, what happens if you put the 5850 in by itself?

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 09:33:34 AM
 #6

Check what 'cgminer -n' reports.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 03:49:36 PM
 #7

Check what 'cgminer -n' reports.

Started from scratch with tinyxp sp3

Worse than it was... lol

now cgminer quits after entering pool and login details..  goes back to command prompt..  its not reporting anything wrong..  or flashing on screen too quick to see..

SDK 2.3 and catalyst 11.12

blah!!!


Since when is all this shit so hard ? I've done many many of these..  why is it so hard lately ?  wtf is AMD doing ?

cgminer -n reports 1 gpu.. 


For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 03:59:50 PM
 #8

SDK 2.3 and catalyst 11.12

You shouldn't be on SDK 2.3.  5xxx cards need 2.1.  If you run the 5850 by itself, does cgminer see it?

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 04:09:48 PM
 #9

SDK 2.3 and catalyst 11.12

You shouldn't be on SDK 2.3.  5xxx cards need 2.1.  If you run the 5850 by itself, does cgminer see it?

Im giving up in a way, installing win 7 64..   

This is ridiculous.. 

Will post on results..   Thanks Smiley

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 04:34:48 PM
 #10

SDK 2.3 and catalyst 11.12

You shouldn't be on SDK 2.3.  5xxx cards need 2.1.  If you run the 5850 by itself, does cgminer see it?

Im giving up in a way, installing win 7 64..   

This is ridiculous.. 

Will post on results..   Thanks Smiley

You're probably better off going that way anyway. I run on Win 7x64 and it works out well.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 04:45:32 PM
 #11

SDK 2.3 and catalyst 11.12

You shouldn't be on SDK 2.3.  5xxx cards need 2.1.  If you run the 5850 by itself, does cgminer see it?

Im giving up in a way, installing win 7 64..   

This is ridiculous.. 

Will post on results..   Thanks Smiley

You're probably better off going that way anyway. I run on Win 7x64 and it works out well.

Ya, I have most of my setups on win7, and they just work.. 

Anything special I should remember for win 7 64 ?


Obviously im just grabbing the most recent files for win 7 64.   

Hopefully I dont run into problems..


So.. 

Lastest drivers win 7 64

Latest SDK ??  for win 7 64

Cgminer..  - latest..


What else ? 

I feel stupid, cant remember having so many issues last year when I set up all my miners..

Smiley

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 06:11:51 PM
 #12

SDK 2.3 and catalyst 11.12

You shouldn't be on SDK 2.3.  5xxx cards need 2.1.  If you run the 5850 by itself, does cgminer see it?

Im giving up in a way, installing win 7 64..   

This is ridiculous.. 

Will post on results..   Thanks Smiley

You're probably better off going that way anyway. I run on Win 7x64 and it works out well.

Ya, I have most of my setups on win7, and they just work.. 

Anything special I should remember for win 7 64 ?


Obviously im just grabbing the most recent files for win 7 64.   

Hopefully I dont run into problems..


So.. 

Lastest drivers win 7 64

Latest SDK ??  for win 7 64

Cgminer..  - latest..


What else ? 

I feel stupid, cant remember having so many issues last year when I set up all my miners..

Smiley

I'm running Win7x64, with 12.4 (latest), SDK 2.5, and CGMiner 2.4.1. Do NOT use SDK 2.6 or 2.7 for 58xx cards. Make sure to use either 2.1 or 2.5.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 06:33:17 PM
 #13

SDK 2.3 and catalyst 11.12

You shouldn't be on SDK 2.3.  5xxx cards need 2.1.  If you run the 5850 by itself, does cgminer see it?

Im giving up in a way, installing win 7 64..   

This is ridiculous.. 

Will post on results..   Thanks Smiley

You're probably better off going that way anyway. I run on Win 7x64 and it works out well.

Ya, I have most of my setups on win7, and they just work.. 

Anything special I should remember for win 7 64 ?


Obviously im just grabbing the most recent files for win 7 64.   

Hopefully I dont run into problems..


So.. 

Lastest drivers win 7 64

Latest SDK ??  for win 7 64

Cgminer..  - latest..


What else ? 

I feel stupid, cant remember having so many issues last year when I set up all my miners..

Smiley

I'm running Win7x64, with 12.4 (latest), SDK 2.5, and CGMiner 2.4.1. Do NOT use SDK 2.6 or 2.7 for 58xx cards. Make sure to use either 2.1 or 2.5.


Thanks, Im going to try that exact setup, unless I cant find cgminer 2.4.1, just going to grab the latest cgminer Smiley

Wish me luck, this is the 7th install of windows.. lol

The last win7 install I put onto a 10 gig drive, no room for ati catalyst afterwards.. lmao..

Oooops, now I got a 40 gig on it... Tongue


For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 09:24:55 PM
 #14

Ok...

So strange findings

Windows 7 64 bit.


Got 12.4 catalyst package..

2.5 sdk

and latest cgminer 1.5.3

It crashes immediatly after entering the 3 details, server, logon, password..


trying cgminer 1.4.0 seems to work..  but one card is doing 200 hashs, and the other 99..

so the 5870 is doing 200, and the 5850 doing 100..

But they are both identified..  Smiley


So Im getting close.. 

Any suggestions to try?

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 03, 2012, 09:26:08 PM
 #15

Ok...

So strange findings

Windows 7 64 bit.


Got 12.4 catalyst package..

2.5 sdk

and latest cgminer 1.5.3

It crashes immediatly after entering the 3 details, server, logon, password..


trying cgminer 1.4.0 seems to work..  but one card is doing 200 hashs, and the other 99..

so the 5870 is doing 200, and the 5850 doing 100..

But they are both identified..  Smiley


So Im getting close.. 

Any suggestions to try?

Newest version is 2.4.2... 0_o

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 09:49:04 PM
 #16

Ok...

So strange findings

Windows 7 64 bit.


Got 12.4 catalyst package..

2.5 sdk

and latest cgminer 1.5.3

It crashes immediatly after entering the 3 details, server, logon, password..


trying cgminer 1.4.0 seems to work..  but one card is doing 200 hashs, and the other 99..

so the 5870 is doing 200, and the 5850 doing 100..

But they are both identified..  Smiley


So Im getting close.. 

Any suggestions to try?

Newest version is 2.4.2... 0_o


Whooops!

hahaha... thanks...stupid internet!



That helped, but the hash rate is still very low..

the 5870 doing 300 hash

5850 doing 150 hash..


Hmmmmmmm


For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 03, 2012, 10:46:31 PM
 #17

Figured it out, my clocks are all down extremely low due to Catalyst and its horrible programs.


Smiley 

Also figured out the limit of a 650 power supply.. Smiley

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 04, 2012, 01:00:54 AM
 #18

Figured it out, my clocks are all down extremely low due to Catalyst and its horrible programs.


Smiley 

Also figured out the limit of a 650 power supply.. Smiley


Ya your best bet is to use CGMiner, and play with the overclock/undervolt settings of each card. What are you getting for speeds now?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 04, 2012, 03:12:37 AM
 #19

Figured it out, my clocks are all down extremely low due to Catalyst and its horrible programs.


Smiley 

Also figured out the limit of a 650 power supply.. Smiley


Ya your best bet is to use CGMiner, and play with the overclock/undervolt settings of each card. What are you getting for speeds now?


Well, it was overdue..

This prompted me to rebuild my rigs..

got them all balanced, as in cards per power supply..


Disabled catalyst and all its shit.. 

And about to ditch trixx too...



Been fooling with cgminer in all its glory, engines and fan speeds..

Getting 415 out of 5870

340 out of 5850.. 

And a bunch of 5830s around 275 ashs each..


So modest over clocking..   nothing too serious..


Smiley

BUT !

I have my rig rebuilt in such a way I can push the heat outside the window I have it next to..    That was my main goal for rebuilding..


For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2012, 03:29:48 AM
 #20

Just to throw my experience with these cards in case it helps.

My reference 5870's I run at (925-150-1.07) @ 425 m/h @ 180-200watts...different cards, different personality

Reference 5850 (850-150-1.05) @ 350ish MH @ 154 watts

I am running Cgminer 2.4.2 in Xubuntu 12.4 with 11.11 catalyst drivers.

Setting up and running Xubuntu 12.4 is really much easier than earlier versions, I dare say even easier to setup then Windows (It is a little goofy, but not hard).

Using SSH logins with byobu, is like sitting at the keyboard remotely, both from a monitoring and control point of view. Sessions stay active  after you log out of SSH session so you do not need to be constantly logged on.

Anyway, i just wanted to add that i never had any trouble with card ID with this setup, even when swapping cards out to do some fine tuning.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!