Bitcoin Forum
September 18, 2021, 05:08:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Poll
Question: The pool currently runs at a 0 expected fee. Would you prefer a 1 percent fee in exchange for the pool paying out for all solved blocks including those that fail to mature? Majjority rules.
No, keep it the way it is.
Yes, impose a 1% fee and pay out for all blocks including those that fail to mature.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Continuum Mining Pool: No fees; Client uptime monitoring via twitter and email  (Read 50083 times)
cengique
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:16:25 PM
 #241

Anyways, we did find another block later today, hopefully you were around for that one.

I have been contributing about 1.5 GH/s for the past two weeks, and a few days ago I switched from pps to prop as you were shutting that down. Now I got a bunch of BTC in my unpaid balance thanks to those two blocks you found! Go continuum!  Cheesy

When do we get a payout, though? Did you also change those rules?
1631941734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631941734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631941734
Reply with quote  #2

1631941734
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1631941734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631941734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631941734
Reply with quote  #2

1631941734
Report to moderator
1631941734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631941734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631941734
Reply with quote  #2

1631941734
Report to moderator
PoulGrym
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:54:15 PM
 #242

Anyways, we did find another block later today, hopefully you were around for that one.

I have been contributing about 1.5 GH/s for the past two weeks, and a few days ago I switched from pps to prop as you were shutting that down. Now I got a bunch of BTC in my unpaid balance thanks to those two blocks you found! Go continuum!  Cheesy

When do we get a payout, though? Did you also change those rules?
Sounds nice, what are you hiding under the hood, for that rig?

If you found my post helpful, use my tip jar!
BTC: 1Q4um62DJ8kBRMzQ4VQqG6W7eLoPNfx6zn
NODE: 11993447274130959091 NXT: MINT:
cengique
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 09:16:45 PM
 #243

Sounds nice, what are you hiding under the hood, for that rig?
Grin Two machines each running 2x 5850s. They are oc'd to 900 and 920 MHz (I haven't edited their bioses). I also have a 5970 that is waiting for a computer that can handle it Sad And trying to acquire a used 5870 now. I still have an AM2 motherboard that doesn't work also. If I can get all of those working, I can contribute another 1 GH/s in the coming week or so.

How many people are contributing to continuum so far? It's been nice at 10 GH/s, as somebody said above it's almost like mining solo, but a bit better Wink
PoulGrym
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 12:14:43 AM
Last edit: June 25, 2011, 04:22:49 PM by PoulGrym
 #244

RPC server is down... been like this for a few hours now.. how are we looking with the new difficulty? After next payout I'm out I think.. I guess those with big rigs are staying tho...
has any one else gotten a lower hashing average? mine says it's at ~200 while I'm mining at 350MH

If you found my post helpful, use my tip jar!
BTC: 1Q4um62DJ8kBRMzQ4VQqG6W7eLoPNfx6zn
NODE: 11993447274130959091 NXT: MINT:
PoulGrym
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 06:47:01 PM
 #245

I just got a strange question, how does this Prop/Score based pool calc your share of the block found? As I'm using http://continuumpoolrpc.appspot.com/<WalletAddress> It says Current round balance (proportional): XXXX Numbers.. These numbers seem very directly connected to the current hashing speed then the actual total sent in shares. If I'd stop to mine for a min and under that minute or two it wont register me sending any shares. Then Current round balance (proportional): = Zer0? How does that work?

This seem a little strange if you ask me.. so that's why I'm asking you guys.. RIP to the dude that reboot's his computer while a block is found.. >_<

* Frustrated miner that want to get this block done and be done with it. *

If you found my post helpful, use my tip jar!
BTC: 1Q4um62DJ8kBRMzQ4VQqG6W7eLoPNfx6zn
NODE: 11993447274130959091 NXT: MINT:
DareC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 09:29:45 PM
 #246

Continuum is using a special score-based method designed to eliminate pool hopping. Basically, share value depreciates over time.

The full method is described in this thread.
Meni Rosenfeld
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1027



View Profile WWW
June 27, 2011, 04:21:06 AM
 #247

* Frustrated miner that want to get this block done and be done with it. *
There's nothing special about "getting this block done". If mining for this pool is good for you do, if not don't. Mining is random, there's no accumulation of work.

Do keep in mind that in most other pools your average payout will be less because of pool-hopping.

1EofoZNBhWQ3kxfKnvWkhtMns4AivZArhr   |   Who am I?   |   bitcoin-otc WoT
Bitcoil - Exchange bitcoins for ILS (thread)   |   Israel Bitcoin community homepage (thread)
Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems (thread, summary)  |   PureMining - Infinite-term, deterministic mining bond
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 08:44:59 PM
 #248

Hi,

Dumps for rounds 7 and 8 are up. They are compressed in xz format which though has excellent compression, you need xz-utils to uncompress. I think under Windows, 7zip might be able to handle them though.
tschaboo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 09:43:10 PM
 #249

Dumps for rounds 7 and 8 are up.

Ok, now I understand my balance. That were actually two rounds!  Grin Grin Grin

One question about the score in the dump: Is the value shown proportional to the payout? I guess not ...
What do I have to do to plot value per share over time? Is the score actually a logarithm?
DareC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 09:51:47 PM
 #250

Do payments go out at a specific time?
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 10:25:26 PM
 #251

Do payments go out at a specific time?
Payments will go out once the block gets 120 confirmations. You can download
http://www.continuumpool.com/history/rounds.txt
to see the txids of the blocks to know how many confirmations they have. So once that happens, a cron script should pick it up within 15 minutes.
Meni Rosenfeld
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1027



View Profile WWW
June 28, 2011, 04:21:40 AM
 #252

Is the score actually a logarithm?
Yes, the "score" value displayed is actually the logarithm of the true score, which is proportional to the payout.

1EofoZNBhWQ3kxfKnvWkhtMns4AivZArhr   |   Who am I?   |   bitcoin-otc WoT
Bitcoil - Exchange bitcoins for ILS (thread)   |   Israel Bitcoin community homepage (thread)
Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems (thread, summary)  |   PureMining - Infinite-term, deterministic mining bond
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1755
Merit: 1005


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 04:34:15 AM
 #253

FYI: http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/continuumpool.com
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 06:26:12 AM
 #254

Hi,

http://continuumpool.com does not exist and will always be down. www.continuumpool.com which is a web interface to rpc.continuumpool.com runs on my machine at home so does experience bits of downtime. It does not affect the pool nor the RPC service, just the web version. Someone has created another web interface to rpc.continuumpool though which can be found higher in this thread. It is more user-friendly than my cobbled together interface anyway.
DareC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 09:20:16 PM
 #255

Looks like we've been lucky for the last few days.
nick5429
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 14


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 11:03:36 PM
 #256

I've been doing some testing of Continuum to consider using it as a backup pool over the last day or so.

When I try to check my balance, it just returns an empty string.  Not zero, just a totally blank page:
http://www.continuumpool.com/balance.php?worker=1HEPamMMbwnd6XjXHsfqQ8smrNi77vyqPb

I get the same thing for balance (a blank line) when doing a JSON call from a local script:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl
use JSON::RPC::Client;
my $client = new JSON::RPC::Client;
my $uri = 'http://rpc.continuumpool.com:8330/rpc';
$client->prepare($uri, ['hashrate','roundstart','monitoradd','dropmonitor', 'balance','balancecurrent']);
$worker = '1HEPamMMbwnd6XjXHsfqQ8smrNi77vyqPb';
print $client->hashrate($worker);
print "\n";
print $client->balance($worker);
print "\n";
print $client->balancecurrent($worker);
print "\n";
print "Done\n";

'hashrate' and 'balancecurrent' both return meaningful values.

Is there a way to check my 'pending' (ie, non-confirmed) balance?
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 01:59:56 AM
 #257

I've been doing some testing of Continuum to consider using it as a backup pool over the last day or so.

When I try to check my balance, it just returns an empty string.  Not zero, just a totally blank page:
http://www.continuumpool.com/balance.php?worker=1HEPamMMbwnd6XjXHsfqQ8smrNi77vyqPb
Use the balancecurrent function for the balance from the current block.
nick5429
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 14


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 02:24:16 PM
 #258

I've been doing some testing of Continuum to consider using it as a backup pool over the last day or so.

When I try to check my balance, it just returns an empty string.  Not zero, just a totally blank page:
http://www.continuumpool.com/balance.php?worker=1HEPamMMbwnd6XjXHsfqQ8smrNi77vyqPb
Use the balancecurrent function for the balance from the current block.

Sure, but that is just a wild guess based on current hashrate, isn't it?

I'd like to see my estimated balance for finished rounds that are not yet confirmed, to provide some bit of assurance that I'm actually producing useful results with Continuum.  Especially since my confirmed balance is still showing up completely empty.  Is this expected behavior??
PoulGrym
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 10:42:32 PM
 #259

http://continuumpoolrpc.appspot.com/1HEPamMMbwnd6XjXHsfqQ8smrNi77vyqPb

Continuumpool stats for worker: 1HEPamMMbwnd6XjXHsfqQ8smrNi77vyqPb
Looks like an invalid worker address...

So you better re-check it..

If you found my post helpful, use my tip jar!
BTC: 1Q4um62DJ8kBRMzQ4VQqG6W7eLoPNfx6zn
NODE: 11993447274130959091 NXT: MINT:
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 02:39:24 AM
 #260


Sure, but that is just a wild guess based on current hashrate, isn't it?

I'd like to see my estimated balance for finished rounds that are not yet confirmed, to provide some bit of assurance that I'm actually producing useful results with Continuum.  Especially since my confirmed balance is still showing up completely empty.  Is this expected behavior??

It's possible we haven't found a block since you joined. If you joined recently that is. The balance function will show your balance from blocks the pool has solved. Since we pay out at 0.1 BTC, a confirmed balance wouldn't really say much.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!