Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 03:29:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Power Flickers  (Read 964 times)
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1041



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 08:23:46 PM
 #1

This year so far I have had 2 less than 1 second power flickers that shut off all my miners.

I do not want to install battery backups on each machine but I will if I have to.

I can also just install 1 battery backup on my main machine with Teamviewer on it and remote into all the other machines and restart cgminer, etc.

Here is what I really want.

Some sort of capacitor based battery backup that can handle 25 amps at 240V for 2 seconds. So 6KW for 2 seconds.

I just want to eliminate the power flicker problem.

Does something like this exist? 

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
1508772584
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772584

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772584
Reply with quote  #2

1508772584
Report to moderator
1508772584
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772584

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772584
Reply with quote  #2

1508772584
Report to moderator
1508772584
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772584

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772584
Reply with quote  #2

1508772584
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508772584
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508772584

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508772584
Reply with quote  #2

1508772584
Report to moderator
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


1ngldh


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 08:30:07 PM
 #2

Set the BIOS to always start on power fail, and then make sure your init scripts are up to snuff.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1041



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 08:42:27 PM
 #3

That is the easiest way to do it I guess.

They automatically restart.  I have to reset the IP addesses though everytime because they forget them.

I write them to /etc/network/interfaces but I am booting from USB drives and it loses that info when it restarts.

So I can just make a script that writes /etc/network/interfaces

then does

/etc/init.d/networking restart
export DISPLAY=:0
./cgminer -c cgminer.conf

I just thought it would be easier if I could stick a capacitor inline with my power to my miners and have it take up the slack up the power browns out for 1 sec.

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


1ngldh


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 08:50:23 PM
 #4

Capacitors as purely storage devices only work well with DC. You can't store AC current in a battery or a capacitor, you can only hope to correct some kinds of brownout conditions.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
smracer
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1041



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 09:01:41 PM
 #5

What if I take a single phase 240V AC motor and attach it to a balanced 100 lb iron disc?

Once it is up to speed it shouldn't be pulling much power to stay running since there is no load.

If there is a 1 second brownout the power from the motor will flow into my subpanel and keep the power on.

Just like a kinetic battery backup but homemade.

Would this work?

Am I correct in assuming the load would be small on the already spinning disc?

1smracer15yDLhJG27fd7GV3tegcNjtg2
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


1ngldh


View Profile
June 11, 2012, 09:11:38 PM
 #6

What if I take a single phase 240V AC motor and attach it to a balanced 100 lb iron disc?

Once it is up to speed it shouldn't be pulling much power to stay running since there is no load.

If there is a 1 second brownout the power from the motor will flow into my subpanel and keep the power on.

Just like a kinetic battery backup but homemade.

Would this work?

Am I correct in assuming the load would be small on the already spinning disc?
I don't know how great that would work for single or split phase. That technique is already in use for 3-phase systems, it was what was done before efficient UPSs based on batteries came along. Some datacenters could run for up to 15 seconds with a continuous 2MW load on such a device when it was sized correctly.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!