Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:10:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: block chain info  (Read 874 times)
CoinDiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 04:14:20 PM
 #1

So I have a computer in office A that has  fast downloading but I cant setup a miner there ,

office B will have the miner BUT it has crappy download speed.

now as I understand it ,  the miner dosent need great internet speed and so it should be fine.


but I also understand that when mining I have to download the whole of the blockchain which is over 1GB
(I think! )

my question is can I use the computer in office B to get the block chain (say onto a usb thumb drive )
and then copy it to the miner in office A

Do I even have to worry about this if Im mining in a pool?

and ideas ,suggestions, thoughts

---           There's always 1406F40 hacks to let the light in           ---          ---            1LnfUeVBMFfXH1B8pUHjgj2CCdphtA5Ef9                    ---
1481199001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199001
Reply with quote  #2

1481199001
Report to moderator
1481199001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199001
Reply with quote  #2

1481199001
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481199001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199001
Reply with quote  #2

1481199001
Report to moderator
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 04:23:48 PM
 #2

pure miners do not need the blockchain

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2012, 04:24:50 PM
 #3

You do not need to worry if you are mining in a pool,
short answer Smiley


solo and p2pool miners do

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
CoinDiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 04:55:23 PM
 #4

Ok so pool mining is for me then!

If I wanted to go solo do I need a much bigger mining rig?

---           There's always 1406F40 hacks to let the light in           ---          ---            1LnfUeVBMFfXH1B8pUHjgj2CCdphtA5Ef9                    ---
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 06:27:03 PM
 #5

Ok so pool mining is for me then!

If I wanted to go solo do I need a much bigger mining rig?

I don't know where the threshold where it might make sense to be solo mining, it is most likely over 50 GHash/s nowadays.

So ya, ... a much bigger rig.  Smiley

P2Pool miners also have the requirement of a local blockchain.   Anyone can participate in P2Pool, though there too variance gives the advantage to those with a fair amount of hashing capacity.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!