Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2018, 12:05:50 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: block chain info  (Read 968 times)
CoinDiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 04:14:20 PM
 #1

So I have a computer in office A that has  fast downloading but I cant setup a miner there ,

office B will have the miner BUT it has crappy download speed.

now as I understand it ,  the miner dosent need great internet speed and so it should be fine.


but I also understand that when mining I have to download the whole of the blockchain which is over 1GB
(I think! )

my question is can I use the computer in office B to get the block chain (say onto a usb thumb drive )
and then copy it to the miner in office A

Do I even have to worry about this if Im mining in a pool?

and ideas ,suggestions, thoughts
1537920350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537920350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537920350
Reply with quote  #2

1537920350
Report to moderator
1537920350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537920350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537920350
Reply with quote  #2

1537920350
Report to moderator
1537920350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537920350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537920350
Reply with quote  #2

1537920350
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537920350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537920350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537920350
Reply with quote  #2

1537920350
Report to moderator
1537920350
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537920350

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537920350
Reply with quote  #2

1537920350
Report to moderator
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792
Merit: 1000


Bite me


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 04:23:48 PM
 #2

pure miners do not need the blockchain

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2012, 04:24:50 PM
 #3

You do not need to worry if you are mining in a pool,
short answer Smiley


solo and p2pool miners do

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
CoinDiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 04:55:23 PM
 #4

Ok so pool mining is for me then!

If I wanted to go solo do I need a much bigger mining rig?
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 06:27:03 PM
 #5

Ok so pool mining is for me then!

If I wanted to go solo do I need a much bigger mining rig?

I don't know where the threshold where it might make sense to be solo mining, it is most likely over 50 GHash/s nowadays.

So ya, ... a much bigger rig.  Smiley

P2Pool miners also have the requirement of a local blockchain.   Anyone can participate in P2Pool, though there too variance gives the advantage to those with a fair amount of hashing capacity.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!