Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:10:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why does CG miner get less hash rate with my BFL single?  (Read 1767 times)
Maidak
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


bitcoinminerz.com


View Profile WWW
June 22, 2012, 10:57:11 PM
 #1

I uploaded the Firmware – 864 mh/s ran a diag on it had no throttling on a light diag and it was running at a steady 864mh/s using easyminer. I went ahead loaded up cgminer and it fluxes between 700-819mh/s does anyone know why its doing this or a possible solution?

Buy & Sell Bitcoin | Escrow | BitcoinminerZ.com | MMOclub.com Contact by SMS/Call(717)454-4274 or email maidak@mmoclub.com for fast service!
1481170206
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170206

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170206
Reply with quote  #2

1481170206
Report to moderator
1481170206
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170206

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170206
Reply with quote  #2

1481170206
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481170206
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170206

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170206
Reply with quote  #2

1481170206
Report to moderator
1481170206
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170206

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170206
Reply with quote  #2

1481170206
Report to moderator
1481170206
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170206

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170206
Reply with quote  #2

1481170206
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2012, 01:37:22 PM
 #2

Maybe easyminer is not actually measuring the hash rate? Is it not deviating from 864 mh/s at all?

When I added BFL support to my miner I even made it drop hash rate on block changes according to how many hashes are wasted. The way BFL devices work you waste some hashes on every block change when you cancel the old work. That's because the device has already done some work but there is no way to get the results (if any) when you cancel. At that point the work result is stale anyway, you'd want to get the results as they are found so you can make use of them.

So what to display? The work being done? Or the work that is actually useful, the effective hash rate? I decided to go with the latter. Not sure what cgminer is doing.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 04:15:14 PM
 #3

cgminer uses some kind of averaging mechanism that isn't very smooth, so it fluctuates a bit.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2012, 07:34:08 PM
 #4

cgminer shows the effective hashrate. It'll be less than the claimed hashrate as it includes the time taken to submit and retrieve results from the device, which will be a few ms. During that time the single is idle. Nothing anyone can do about that.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2012, 10:30:00 AM
 #5

cgminer shows the effective hashrate. It'll be less than the claimed hashrate as it includes the time taken to submit and retrieve results from the device, which will be a few ms. During that time the single is idle. Nothing anyone can do about that.
cgminer gets work long before it runs out of work. That should not impact the hashrate. If there's an issue with TRUE hashrate being low, it's a bug in the BFL device implementation in cgminer. Alas I don't have an FPGA of any sort, including a BFL single, so the code is almost 100% dependent on luke-jr so ping him.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
June 27, 2012, 09:19:49 PM
 #6

I uploaded the Firmware – 864 mh/s ran a diag on it had no throttling on a light diag and it was running at a steady 864mh/s using easyminer. I went ahead loaded up cgminer and it fluxes between 700-819mh/s does anyone know why its doing this or a possible solution?
Most likely your environment can't handle that speed. Try cooling it to about 70 F ambient

Maidak
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


bitcoinminerz.com


View Profile WWW
June 27, 2012, 09:55:41 PM
 #7

The room temp is about 70-75F(depends how hot outside it is I only have window AC) where I mine and I also have a box fan right above this bfl single , I don't get any throttling with the regular 832 firmware which I just switched to until it cools down outside. If you have/know of any other cheap cooling suggestions please let me know. I guess my box fan thats inches away from it does minimal help. Sad

EDIT: moved to the 832 firmware and this thing is running as hot as 54.9c but not throttling on the 864 firmware it wont go past 54c without throttling?

Buy & Sell Bitcoin | Escrow | BitcoinminerZ.com | MMOclub.com Contact by SMS/Call(717)454-4274 or email maidak@mmoclub.com for fast service!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!