Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2017, 10:22:57 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Upgrading from MSI 890FXA-GD70  (Read 4554 times)
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 663


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 08:13:57 PM
 #21

If you are just using it for mining then there's no point in throwing a Bulldozer in that board. Regardless it should work and I've got 5 cards running in a pair of these boards. Been working error free for about 2 months.

█ DISTRICTS █ 3D Blockchain Platform ICO | Bounty
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1484778177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484778177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484778177
Reply with quote  #2

1484778177
Report to moderator
1484778177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484778177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484778177
Reply with quote  #2

1484778177
Report to moderator
AndrewBUD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


I will Squirt you with this sprinkler :)


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 09:20:03 PM
 #22

I use the Athlon x2 250 cpu for the rigs.. They work great... @ home 1090T for now.. until I see some decent spec's on the new Bulldozer style architecture...
Ausversucht
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
June 29, 2012, 02:00:54 AM
 #23

I would recommend the GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 for your purposes, it has the same layout for pci-e except one of the 16x slots is replaced with a 1x slot, obviously shouldn't be a problem if you are running 6 cards since you are definitely using some extenders already.  It is $30 cheaper than the UD5 and I like the pci-e layout better.  It also has support for the FX processors.
flatronw
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 07:32:43 AM
 #24

I would recommend the GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 for your purposes, it has the same layout for pci-e except one of the 16x slots is replaced with a 1x slot, obviously shouldn't be a problem if you are running 6 cards since you are definitely using some extenders already.  It is $30 cheaper than the UD5 and I like the pci-e layout better.  It also has support for the FX processors.


Are you actually personally currently running 6 cards on a GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3  ??
senseless
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 390



View Profile
August 24, 2012, 12:54:07 AM
 #25

I use the Athlon x2 250 cpu for the rigs.. They work great... @ home 1090T for now.. until I see some decent spec's on the new Bulldozer style architecture...

How are you doing that? I'm using an x2 250 and it maxes 100% cpu with only 3 cards. With 4 cards the rates go down considerably from what they should be. That cpu can barely support 3 cards, and definitely not 4. I'm upgrading to an FX-8120.

AndrewBUD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


I will Squirt you with this sprinkler :)


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 01:00:22 AM
 #26

Why is your CPU being used at all ?



using cgminer there is very little, to no cpu usage.....
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 24, 2012, 02:04:05 AM
 #27

I use the Athlon x2 250 cpu for the rigs.. They work great... @ home 1090T for now.. until I see some decent spec's on the new Bulldozer style architecture...

How are you doing that? I'm using an x2 250 and it maxes 100% cpu with only 3 cards. With 4 cards the rates go down considerably from what they should be. That cpu can barely support 3 cards, and definitely not 4. I'm upgrading to an FX-8120.



What driver/SDK? Unless you're over I:9, CGMiner usus almost no CPU?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 02:12:44 AM
 #28

besides mining bitcoin using amd cheapo cpu on gd70 board.. i am done investing money in amd
compat motherboards. intel all the way.

and i was a long time amd cpu user. bought my first intel this year when i ran amd for what seems like the
last decade.
senseless
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 390



View Profile
August 24, 2012, 02:17:58 AM
 #29

I found the issue, was a bug in my miner. Moved to an older version, problem went away. Doh.

All of the latest miners use 100% cpu, seems like some sort of bug in the engine or mining code. If I swap to slightly older versions the usage drops to < 2%. Any idea what might be going on there? I'm running the latest drivers as of today.

For aggression/intensity, I"m using 14 under BFGMiner, and 12 aggression on phoenix.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 24, 2012, 04:16:59 AM
 #30

I found the issue, was a bug in my miner. Moved to an older version, problem went away. Doh.

All of the latest miners use 100% cpu, seems like some sort of bug in the engine or mining code. If I swap to slightly older versions the usage drops to < 2%. Any idea what might be going on there? I'm running the latest drivers as of today.

For aggression/intensity, I"m using 14 under BFGMiner, and 12 aggression on phoenix.


I think the newer drivers introduced the 100% cpu bug, but only at high aggression/intensity. For me (driver 12.Cool, I:9 is good, but I:10 or higher isn't.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
August 24, 2012, 04:25:41 AM
 #31

set affinity for all miner processes to 1 cpu core.
then save other core(s) to run the OS and feed the gpus
AndrewBUD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


I will Squirt you with this sprinkler :)


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 08:38:55 PM
 #32

intensity depends on if the GPU is being used.... I have a few cards in my @home rig and the Desktop card uses I:6 and the others use I:9...
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!