Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:31:11 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting up Multiple FPGA's ??  (Read 619 times)
photoa6155
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 23, 2012, 09:29:57 PM
 #1

I'm had a question on the best way to link multiple fpga boards. Lets just say 20. Equip needed? Any specific specs needed on computer that could run that many? Multiple USB Hubs any recommendations? 2 Corsair power supplies, What am I missing? Whats the best OS to run this setup, I am familiar with linux but no programming expert. Any help would be appreciated. If a senior member could repost to the hardware forum that would be great. Thanks
1481157072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157072
Reply with quote  #2

1481157072
Report to moderator
1481157072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157072
Reply with quote  #2

1481157072
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481157072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157072
Reply with quote  #2

1481157072
Report to moderator
1481157072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157072
Reply with quote  #2

1481157072
Report to moderator
1481157072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157072
Reply with quote  #2

1481157072
Report to moderator
photoa6155
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 04:52:45 AM
 #2

There must be some guru's out that could help me.
Phraust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206


Mostly Harmless...


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2012, 05:05:38 AM
 #3

For ten BFL FPGAs, i'm using a 12 port usb hub (satechi) unpowered, a corsair ax1200 with custom cables (by Cablelz: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0) on a macmini server (10.7.4).  I've tried running them on something as simple as a dockstar using archlinux, and it worked pretty well.

Honestly, it really depends on what you want to work with.  Just about anything with USB should work, I've seen people running them on routers.
photoa6155
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 05:49:23 AM
 #4

Thanks Phrast, Info is much appreciated. Yeah I saw the guy running them off just routers,  looks great, I think that it out of my scope of knowledge.  I don't want to end up bricking my router and units. How many singles can you runn off the mac mini server?
Garr255
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


What's a GPU?


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 05:56:52 AM
 #5

This costs significantly less than any mac, even cheaper than an Apple II Tongue

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006DEBXD0/

I'll be hosting a few BFL Singles off of it.

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  -- Mahatma Gandhi

Average time between signing on to bitcointalk: Two weeks. Please don't expect responses any faster than that!
Phraust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206


Mostly Harmless...


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2012, 06:43:58 AM
 #6

Dunno, I guess whatever the usb limit is (127).  I also use the mac mini as my media/storage server, since we all have macs, and there aren't any noticeable problems (uptime is great, I'm also running an external superdrive, and three or four USB drives for storage and backup across the network).  Oh, and iTunes sharing.
Michail1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 719


Www.Michail.Com


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2012, 03:05:44 PM
 #7

This costs significantly less than any mac, even cheaper than an Apple II Tongue

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006DEBXD0/

I'll be hosting a few BFL Singles off of it.

What do you mean by hosting on the TP-Link?

Still need the USB hub and computer, right?
Are you able to have the BFLs to hub.  then to TP-Link.  Computer then connected to network via IP to the BFLs?

Phraust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206


Mostly Harmless...


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2012, 07:30:24 PM
 #8

What software are you using for your mac mini to recognize the BFL's?

I'm using the FTDI drivers http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm and the latest version of cgminer.
gonella
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 07:37:55 PM
 #9

Is it easier to resell these cards?
Garr255
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


What's a GPU?


View Profile
June 24, 2012, 08:08:00 PM
 #10

Is it easier to resell these cards?

Easier than ASICs, more difficult than GPUs.

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  -- Mahatma Gandhi

Average time between signing on to bitcointalk: Two weeks. Please don't expect responses any faster than that!
photoa6155
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 01:43:35 AM
 #11

thanks to every one who responded I think i have a decent idea of set-up needed.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!