Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:48:52 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can someone recommend a 16 port switch?  (Read 1169 times)
superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 03:41:00 AM
 #1

I currently have a gs108 netgear switch, it needs resetting a couple times a week I have no idea why. So I'm looking for a replacement. ideally with 16 ports so I have room to grow. Is there any advantages to a managed switch? At least as far as bitcoin mining is concerned? Just want something stable (even in 100f heat), any recommendations that are cheap/common.
1480801732
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480801732

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480801732
Reply with quote  #2

1480801732
Report to moderator
1480801732
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480801732

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480801732
Reply with quote  #2

1480801732
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 05:30:01 AM
 #2

Linksys or Cisco. I've got a few linksys hubs here, they do just fine.
1l1l11ll1l
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 711


TheMerchantShop.com


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2012, 05:30:08 AM
 #3

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Netgear-FS524-24-Port-Fast-Ethernet-External-Network-Switch-Unit-10-100Mbps-1RU-/130704946418?pt=COMP_EN_Hubs&hash=item1e6e9f34f2

High Volume and/or High Risk Credit Card Processing. TheMerchantShop.com
naz86
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 11:27:35 AM
 #4

tplink is the cheapest...... and quality is really good.... no management because non is needed

TOP TRADER:
pazor
rampone

Multipremiumaccount mit Bitcoin bezahlen:

https://secure.premiumize.me/inv/3977664725/

http://www.pyramining.com/referral/7qrnh4s6g            2012-07-10 14:37:47 UTC    still active
http://www.pyramining.com/referral/cp9bqzs6e    2012-06-06 14:09:08 UTC    still active
http://www.pyramining.com/referral/senh7t3b9            2012-06-06 14:09:08 UTC    still active
http://www.pyramining.com/referral/8pbfmhync    2012-06-06 14:09:08 UTC    still active
Cobra
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 289



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 01:34:43 PM
 #5

I have a Netgear GSM7224 Layer 2 managed 24 port 1GB switch for sale. You can see it here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7216.1260 Post #1264

This is probably overkill just for mining. I found myself never using any of the features this has. I went with a more efficient unmanaged switch to replace this. Keep in mind it is a rackmount model so the sound of the fan can get annoying after a while if you are trying to work nearby. It has the rackmount ears on it as well.

I have not had any problems with this, willing to sell for $100 worth of BTC plus shipping.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
June 29, 2012, 06:58:39 AM
 #6

If it's only for mining I highly suggest searching around for 100mb used one.

100mb are being replaced by 1gb at every opportunity, The 10mb - 100mb move was even more brutal,,, and that was a while back.
Hardware surplus trash them all the time, try finding them in such places in your area.

10$ for a used 24port ?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!