Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 04:43:26 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive SpondooliesTech SP35 Setup [HD]  (Read 15952 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 25, 2015, 11:01:53 AM
 #21

ok, i have a VERY serious question here... i have 22 SP35s and i would like to know how much heat would they all give off so i can figure out what kind of cooling i would need. also, anyone know of any good towers? i would like to set like 3 or 4 of these per tower at minimum. also would 1GBPS fiber lines work for this amount of miners? if so, know of any good hubs? i want to be able to set these up soon and have 20k left to spend on everything to get these running... im making a price shopping list Smiley

~115KW for 22 SP35s, so need either a good dump to ambient or decent evaporative. Racks / tables don't matter, get whatever is cheap but isn't going to fall apart. I'm sure you could find some good Steel and MDF racks for like $50 and spray treat the wood.

Internet requirements for mining are minimal, both bandwidth and speed requirements.

1537548206
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537548206

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537548206
Reply with quote  #2

1537548206
Report to moderator
Einax Airdrops and Bounties made easy! List your ERC-20 token
FREE
ETH markets launching soon!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
b1naryn1ghtmar3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 11:35:14 AM
 #22

ok but i need some specifics, i can get the racks pretty easy, that isnt a problem but the PDU and wiring and all of that i would need some help with. like i said, if you are willing to point me in the right direction i would be willing to kick you some coin. currently i have a small mining op (20 TH/s) that doesnt require much and for me up upgrade like this, i want to do it right as to not have too much of an issue

the room that all of this will be in, is a 3000 square foot room. i currently have 1 36" Evaporative Cooler Direct Drive 3 Speed, would you think this would be enough? if not, i can get 1 or 2 more. i am currently looking for good PDUs but cannot find any. help please?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 12:48:08 PM
 #23

ok but i need some specifics, i can get the racks pretty easy, that isnt a problem but the PDU and wiring and all of that i would need some help with. like i said, if you are willing to point me in the right direction i would be willing to kick you some coin. currently i have a small mining op (20 TH/s) that doesnt require much and for me up upgrade like this, i want to do it right as to not have too much of an issue

the room that all of this will be in, is a 3000 square foot room. i currently have 1 36" Evaporative Cooler Direct Drive 3 Speed, would you think this would be enough? if not, i can get 1 or 2 more. i am currently looking for good PDUs but cannot find any. help please?

I don't think you realize how much electricity were talking about.    You really should get an electrician. 

No one 36 inch unit will not be enough.   How did you get these 22 units?    I think you underestimate how much heat they put out and how much electricity you need.
b1naryn1ghtmar3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 04:17:28 PM
 #24

thats what im asking for... i need help! i have hid a small mining op for a while now and i KNOW how much heat that thing puts off... its ridiculous. so im asking for some help and some pointers to set this up.
TuffToad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 06:03:02 PM
 #25

b1naryn1ghtmar3, Welcome to the Forum.

When we were first planning our farm we did a lot of research on power distribution and Heat / Cooling and our happy to share our findings with you.

Power Distribution:
22 units @ 3,600watts = approx 79,200 (+/- 10% to 12% leakage) watts just for SP-35's (H-$7.92, D-$190.08, W-$1,330.56, M-$5,702.40, A-$69,379.20 US @ .10 ($/kWh)
(Cooling not including in this calculation)

The "Heavy Power" standard for the United States is 3-phase voltages of 208, 220, 230, 440, 460 480
79 Kw Line to Line voltage for 220 with power factor of 1 is approx. 207.321 Amps
79 Kw Line to Line voltage for 480 with power factor of 1 is approx. 95.0222 Amps
 (Note: Calculation assistance http://www.rapidtables.com/calc/electric/KW_to_Amp_Calculator.htm)


PDU RESEARCH: We narrowed it down to 3 companies Raritan.com, Tripplite.com and APC.com (now a Schneider Electric Company).  We went with Raritan PX family of intelligent iPDUs for the individual outlet switching, monitoring and high amperage per unit. They are a little expensive but we have found that they more than paid for themselves with the expanded flexibility.

HUBS: as for your question on Hubs; I would not use a "HUB" it is a broadcast device all communication to all ports.  A "Switch" allows communication to be directed on a port-by-port basis.  The Sp-35's use 10/100mbs Ethernet so make sure so make sure your switch can handle 10/100/1000.  We went with http://www.BROCADE.com switches and routers (note: we had them already and they are very expensive but I would buy them again if we were starting this project from scratch). 

COOLING: We have found setting COLD/HOT isle worked best for us.  Cold Isle is referencing "Conditioned Air" in the front of SP-35 (estimate approx. 93dB) and Hot Isle is the exhaust heat out of the back of the unit (estimate approx 82 dB).  We Opted for Air & Evap. Cooling in Louisville, Ky. (Mid-West of the US).  Another option working into the Fall/Winter is to Evacuate the Hot Side back into the office (People Conditioned Air) or just Out-Side to the environment).  We opted for "Containment or Container" based Cold/Hot instead of Data Center philosophy of cool the hot air and blow it up (Loop or Circle or Air).

INTERNET BANDWIDTH: We have a 100/100mb Fiber Internet Connection and the "Server Farm" is only a small fraction of the UP/Down Load connection, most internet traffic is "East/West" (Server to Server), "North" is Internet or Crypto Authentication and "South" is to the secure servers.  With 22 Sp-35's a Low bandwidth connection ranging of 10/1, 15/2, 35/5 or 50/5 connect will be more than plenty.  I never scrimp on "Bandwidth up or down", I can always use more.  [/li][/list]

NOTE: There are a number of Tools out in the Free or Open Source pool that will help you SSH, Monitor, Control or Adjust the Sp-35's in your stable.

NOTE 2: Our next generation is/will be Containerized @ 1.2Mw - 1.4Mw each and placed approx 80'-100' underground for cooling.  Heat evacuation is one of our biggest issues/concerns.
 

You might want to move this discussion to SP-TECH Forum where you will have a greater pool of experts to supply information to help you succeed in your new venture. Spondoolies-Tech official forum (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=521520.0)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=521520.0

We are happy to help you any way we can and we hope this help You.

 Thank you for your time in advance,

  /s/ TuffToad

Disclosure: We have no financial interest in any company or product that has been discussed in this post
b1naryn1ghtmar3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 28, 2015, 02:05:01 PM
 #26

    b1naryn1ghtmar3, Welcome to the Forum.

    When we were first planning our farm we did a lot of research on power distribution and Heat / Cooling and our happy to share our findings with you.

    Power Distribution:
    22 units @ 3,600watts = approx 79,200 (+/- 10% to 12% leakage) watts just for SP-35's (H-$7.92, D-$190.08, W-$1,330.56, M-$5,702.40, A-$69,379.20 US @ .10 ($/kWh)
    (Cooling not including in this calculation)

    The "Heavy Power" standard for the United States is 3-phase voltages of 208, 220, 230, 440, 460 480
    79 Kw Line to Line voltage for 220 with power factor of 1 is approx. 207.321 Amps
    79 Kw Line to Line voltage for 480 with power factor of 1 is approx. 95.0222 Amps
     (Note: Calculation assistance http://www.rapidtables.com/calc/electric/KW_to_Amp_Calculator.htm)


    PDU RESEARCH: We narrowed it down to 3 companies Raritan.com, Tripplite.com and APC.com (now a Schneider Electric Company).  We went with Raritan PX family of intelligent iPDUs for the individual outlet switching, monitoring and high amperage per unit. They are a little expensive but we have found that they more than paid for themselves with the expanded flexibility.

    HUBS: as for your question on Hubs; I would not use a "HUB" it is a broadcast device all communication to all ports.  A "Switch" allows communication to be directed on a port-by-port basis.  The Sp-35's use 10/100mbs Ethernet so make sure so make sure your switch can handle 10/100/1000.  We went with http://www.BROCADE.com switches and routers (note: we had them already and they are very expensive but I would buy them again if we were starting this project from scratch). 

    COOLING: We have found setting COLD/HOT isle worked best for us.  Cold Isle is referencing "Conditioned Air" in the front of SP-35 (estimate approx. 93dB) and Hot Isle is the exhaust heat out of the back of the unit (estimate approx 82 dB).  We Opted for Air & Evap. Cooling in Louisville, Ky. (Mid-West of the US).  Another option working into the Fall/Winter is to Evacuate the Hot Side back into the office (People Conditioned Air) or just Out-Side to the environment).  We opted for "Containment or Container" based Cold/Hot instead of Data Center philosophy of cool the hot air and blow it up (Loop or Circle or Air).

    INTERNET BANDWIDTH: We have a 100/100mb Fiber Internet Connection and the "Server Farm" is only a small fraction of the UP/Down Load connection, most internet traffic is "East/West" (Server to Server), "North" is Internet or Crypto Authentication and "South" is to the secure servers.  With 22 Sp-35's a Low bandwidth connection ranging of 10/1, 15/2, 35/5 or 50/5 connect will be more than plenty.  I never scrimp on "Bandwidth up or down", I can always use more.  [/li][/list]

    NOTE: There are a number of Tools out in the Free or Open Source pool that will help you SSH, Monitor, Control or Adjust the Sp-35's in your stable.

    NOTE 2: Our next generation is/will be Containerized @ 1.2Mw - 1.4Mw each and placed approx 80'-100' underground for cooling.  Heat evacuation is one of our biggest issues/concerns.
     

    You might want to move this discussion to SP-TECH Forum where you will have a greater pool of experts to supply information to help you succeed in your new venture. Spondoolies-Tech official forum (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=521520.0)
    https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=521520.0

    We are happy to help you any way we can and we hope this help You.

     Thank you for your time in advance,

      /s/ TuffToad

    Disclosure: We have no financial interest in any company or product that has been discussed in this post

    thank you SO much. this is DEFINITELY some good pointers. i will be looking into this. my electric rates are 4¢ kWh during the summer and 3¢ kWh during the winter. so my profits will be a little better than your estimate Wink we also have a roof for our rates. no more than 3000.00 a month Cheesy
    TuffToad
    Newbie
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 29
    Merit: 0


    View Profile
    August 28, 2015, 03:12:37 PM
     #27

    We wish you all the best in your new venture and will help with any data or experience that we have.

      /s/ TuffToad
    memo2688
    Newbie
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 2
    Merit: 0


    View Profile
    August 12, 2016, 12:18:46 PM
     #28

    Good day I need your help, my spondoolies sp35 has a psu damaged, I need to know how to configure it to work with one psu, as is showing me the stats asic and constantly reset:

    12/08 11: 24: 17: Hash rate too low !!!!

    The other solution I need is to replace the damaged psu with a one generic, in my country (Venezuela) I have access to buy a model psu HP DPS-1200FB server power supply, I need to know if it is compatible with my yukon sp35 or if you can somehow adapt.

    could you tell me if there is another psu compatible with my yukon sp35?

    thanks and sorry for the trouble.
    dogie
    Legendary
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 1526
    Merit: 1050


    dogiecoin.com


    View Profile WWW
    August 12, 2016, 02:28:47 PM
     #29

    Good day I need your help, my spondoolies sp35 has a psu damaged, I need to know how to configure it to work with one psu
    I'm not sure if it will actually let you run a half SP35.

    The other solution I need is to replace the damaged psu with a one generic, in my country (Venezuela) I have access to buy a model psu HP DPS-1200FB server power supply, I need to know if it is compatible with my yukon sp35 or if you can somehow adapt. could you tell me if there is another psu compatible with my yukon sp35?

    Comparability will be based off the gold finger pin interface; you'll have to find one with the same otherwise there's no way around it. The original PSU should be readily available at a cost for new, and possible used for cheaper.

    JC06140
    Newbie
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 1
    Merit: 0


    View Profile
    November 22, 2016, 04:32:31 PM
     #30

    Hi all,
    i have a SP35 and i need the sd recovery image file to reset it, the official site is down does someone know where to download it ?
    thanks !
    JC
    dogie
    Legendary
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 1526
    Merit: 1050


    dogiecoin.com


    View Profile WWW
    November 24, 2016, 01:31:57 AM
     #31

    Hi all,
    i have a SP35 and i need the sd recovery image file to reset it, the official site is down does someone know where to download it ?
    thanks !
    JC

    I don't know if I've ever seen an SP35 one or if it uses the generic SP3X. Someone else might know.


    tpg
    Newbie
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 7
    Merit: 0


    View Profile
    November 25, 2016, 07:54:02 PM
     #32

    how do you get wifi working on these ... I found links saying the Edimax EW-7711USn and EW-7718Un work .  So I bought the 7711 model and cannot get it to work ... plugged it in ... waited 2 minutes ... rebooted ... waited a few minutes ... shut down ... powered on ... nothing on the Wifi link shows up.

    thoughts?
    Pages: « 1 [2]  All
      Print  
     
    Jump to:  

    Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
    Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!