Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:18:02 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: EasyMiner - new version with Auto speed tuning  (Read 19102 times)
BFL
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
June 28, 2012, 03:32:03 AM
 #1

EasyMiner version 1.2 Beta is now up on the site's driver download page.

http://www.butterflylabs.com/drivers/


It's best new feature is Auto-Tune which finds the optimal firmware speed for each individual unit.  If you don't already know, every BitForce Single has it's individual variance in performance capability relative to heat.  This is the natural result of our using full wafer chips.  The nominal performance is 832 mh/s at 72F, but will range + - 10% from there.  Some can even run much faster.  The temperature of the air it's operating in makes a BIG difference.  

Using EasyMiner to make sure your units are getting the best performance in any given temperature situation should help you get the most out of your units without hours of manual observation testing individual firmwares.

You'll need the latest version of EasyMiner and the Auto Tune firmware package which is also on the site's driver download page.

To use Auto Tune, right click on the unit(s) you'd like tuned and choose 'Auto Tune' from the menu.  It'll ask you to point it to the auto tune package file we've provided.  EasyMiner will take care of the rest.

Regards,
BFL

PS.  Try auto-tuning your units at different room temperatures and you'll see a difference in performance.

Butterfly Labs  -  www.butterflylabs.com  -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
1480832282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832282
Reply with quote  #2

1480832282
Report to moderator
1480832282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832282
Reply with quote  #2

1480832282
Report to moderator
1480832282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832282
Reply with quote  #2

1480832282
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480832282
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832282

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832282
Reply with quote  #2

1480832282
Report to moderator
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 03:33:43 AM
 #2

I'm downloading the auto-tune package now, but the easyminer link still appears to be dead.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
BFL
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
June 28, 2012, 03:35:39 AM
 #3

I'm downloading the auto-tune package now, but the easyminer link still appears to be dead.

Checking....     OK, fixed.

Butterfly Labs  -  www.butterflylabs.com  -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
kibblesnbits
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 557


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 03:39:32 AM
 #4

I'm downloading the auto-tune package now, but the easyminer link still appears to be dead.

Me 2

ASICMINERTUBE
   
  The Best $/Gh Bitcoin Miner So Far
   ►►►   DISCOVER NOW !!!   ◄◄◄
kibblesnbits
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 557


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 04:21:49 AM
 #5

I'm downloading the auto-tune package now, but the easyminer link still appears to be dead.

Checking....     OK, fixed.

Confirmed working.  Some are taking longer to process than others, but so far so good. The one that finished auto tuned at 896Mh.  Does the auto tune automatically install the firmware or must I o it manually?  Thanks!

ASICMINERTUBE
   
  The Best $/Gh Bitcoin Miner So Far
   ►►►   DISCOVER NOW !!!   ◄◄◄
BFL
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
June 28, 2012, 04:28:18 AM
 #6

I'm downloading the auto-tune package now, but the easyminer link still appears to be dead.

Checking....     OK, fixed.

Confirmed working.  Some are taking longer to process than others, but so far so good. The one that finished auto tuned at 896Mh.  Does the auto tune automatically install the firmware or must I o it manually?  Thanks!

EasyMiner takes care of all the details for you.  After tuning, it's ready to unplug and go.  Nothing more is required.

Butterfly Labs  -  www.butterflylabs.com  -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
Phraust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206


Mostly Harmless...


View Profile WWW
June 28, 2012, 04:31:51 AM
 #7

Trying it out now as well. Thanks.
BFL
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
June 28, 2012, 04:35:03 AM
 #8

Note to mini rig owners...  EasyMiner auto-tune works on the cards in the rigs as well.  They aren't as heat sensitive, but we don't ship them fully optimized and you may find increased performance with tuning.


Butterfly Labs  -  www.butterflylabs.com  -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 04:55:05 AM
 #9

Is this simply a modified bitstream that is able to be told the clock frequency, or does it test the device and then load the appropriate bitstream?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
BFL
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
June 28, 2012, 04:55:46 AM
 #10

Is this simply a modified bitstream that is able to be told the clock frequency, or does it test the device and then load the appropriate bitstream?

It tests and loads.

Butterfly Labs  -  www.butterflylabs.com  -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
BTC-engineer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 338



View Profile
June 28, 2012, 08:29:44 AM
 #11

@BFL: This new, nice feature is making the process to find the unit-specific, proper clockrate more easy, thanks for it even if I don't need it.
It shows the same results, you would get by testing the different images manually.
However, in the end it shows me that my units are able to run the fastest available image without any problems, what I know from my own test already.

So when will faster images be released? BFL-Engineer announced them over one Month ago. I guess there is no need for them anymore in the ASIC era...
Also the 792 Image is corrupt and is still not fixed.

As you already stated the environment temperature is very relevant to the max clockrate you can use.
My units are in a room without A/C and are seeing over the year environment temperatures from ~17°C-33°C.
So to measure the proper clockrate only once, doesn't make so much sense. If you don't want to care about your units anymore you have to test it with the max. environment temperate and loose a lot of the possible hashing power over the year.
It would be much better if the mining software (e.g. cgminer) has the Auto speed tuning feature included for BFL singles.
Which means it will always load the most perfect image into the device and keep checking it.
Or even better, if the unit (firmware) is adapting itself to the new environment (like e.g. ztex).
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 08:55:06 AM
 #12

The ztex doesn't require loading a new firmware - the firmware allows you to tell it what speed to run at on the fly.
i.e. the actual code in cgminer adjusts the MHz up or down as required during mining on the ztex.

I'm not sure why that is a difficult option, but I guess that is just the ztex guys know what they are doing and how to do it ...

Yes getting one answer of how fast to run will not last for weeks or months - you'd have to regularly stop it and run speed tests to determine the optimal speed ... though I'd even suggest the obvious that between midday and midnight there would be a difference

I run my BFL on the standard 832 bitstream for a few reasons:
1) I don't have windows anywhere near that mining rig (and BFL wont tell us how to program it or provide linux softwre)
2) The temperature drop at the moment is below 10C at night since it is now winter here and during the day it varies quite a bit - but certainly always below necessary temperatures. I'm sure that it could run faster at night but I'm seriously not gonna setup windows on my main mining rig or have to reboot it regularly just to change the bitstream for day and night time - that would be immensely annoying

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Morblias
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576


View Profile
June 28, 2012, 02:09:15 PM
 #13

Hehe, I saw that post you deleted BFL. I laughed!

Tips / Donations accepted: 1Morb18DsDHNEv6TeQXBdba872ZSpiK9fY
BFL
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
June 28, 2012, 02:11:18 PM
 #14

Hehe, I saw that post you deleted BFL. I laughed!

Yeah...   Smiley

Butterfly Labs  -  www.butterflylabs.com  -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
byte1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile
June 28, 2012, 03:50:05 PM
 #15

Note to mini rig owners...  EasyMiner auto-tune works on the cards in the rigs as well.  They aren't as heat sensitive, but we don't ship them fully optimized and you may find increased performance with tuning.




Looks cool. :-)
BFL
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
July 04, 2012, 01:41:22 AM
 #16

How long does the auto-tune take? Do we just stop it if we're happy with the performance/throttle situation or does it need to run for an extended period of time?

You need to let it run to completion.  Auto tune will announce when it's done it's work and list the end speed for each individual unit.  Please note that time to test will vary from unit to unit.

Butterfly Labs  -  www.butterflylabs.com  -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
July 04, 2012, 01:45:37 AM
 #17

For mine, it settled on the maximum speed, but later started throttling. However dropping it down one notch manually fixed that, but it probably would have been fine if my room wasn't so dang hot. It's been cooking lately because the A/C isn't keeping up too well.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
July 04, 2012, 12:22:12 PM
 #18

Has anyone got above 896? I'm still at 38c but it always chooses 896..
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 04, 2012, 05:40:18 PM
 #19

Has anyone got above 896? I'm still at 38c but it always chooses 896..

896 is the fastest firmware released to date.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
July 05, 2012, 01:39:00 AM
 #20

Has anyone got above 896? I'm still at 38c but it always chooses 896..

896 is the fastest firmware released to date.

It goes over 900 during testing.
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!