Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 01:58:09 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  

Warning: Moderators do not remove likely scams. You must use your own brain: caveat emptor. Watch out for Ponzi schemes. Do not invest more than you can afford to lose.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can someone explain 2 factor auth to me?  (Read 1433 times)
redbeans2012
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

MMM Extra - The right step towards the goal!


View Profile WWW
June 28, 2012, 09:15:18 PM
 #1

I'm trying to get some coins off the glbse and apparently I clicked 2 factor auth when I signed up.

I downloaded the app, what next.  Sorry I'm kind of a beginner

1481291889
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291889

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291889
Reply with quote  #2

1481291889
Report to moderator
1481291889
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291889

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291889
Reply with quote  #2

1481291889
Report to moderator
1481291889
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291889

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291889
Reply with quote  #2

1481291889
Report to moderator
Bitcoin mining is now a specialized and very risky industry, just like gold mining. Amateur miners are unlikely to make much money, and may even lose money. Bitcoin is much more than just mining, though!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
pieppiep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402



View Profile
June 28, 2012, 09:19:29 PM
 #2

There is (was?) some kind of error in glbse when I first tried 2 factor auth.
If you first enable the 2 factor auth and then download and do the stuff with the google account, you don't get a barcode to scan to setup the app.
You have to mail support@glbse.com about it, they can reset it for you.
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 28, 2012, 09:45:06 PM
 #3

Is your problem logging in or withdrawing?

As far as two factor auth, when you set it up in GLBSE, then from your mobile you scan a QR code that contains a secret.  The Google Authenticator app will use that secret in the future.

At a later point in time, you will be asked for an auth code.  That auth code changes periodically, like once a minute.  Google Authenticator is an app that creates these codes, based on that secret that you scanned earlier.

redbeans2012
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

MMM Extra - The right step towards the goal!


View Profile WWW
June 28, 2012, 09:55:41 PM
 #4

Is your problem logging in or withdrawing?

As far as two factor auth, when you set it up in GLBSE, then from your mobile you scan a QR code that contains a secret.  The Google Authenticator app will use that secret in the future.

At a later point in time, you will be asked for an auth code.  That auth code changes periodically, like once a minute.  Google Authenticator is an app that creates these codes, based on that secret that you scanned earlier.


This is the first time I have ever tried to withdraw. 

It tells me I have 2 factor thing set up, but I didn't do anything like that when I set up my account. 

When I go to (enable/disable) everything is unchecked..   Don't remember dealing with any Codes or anything. 

I dont know.

Sad

Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 29, 2012, 12:01:29 AM
 #5

Is your problem logging in or withdrawing?

As far as two factor auth, when you set it up in GLBSE, then from your mobile you scan a QR code that contains a secret.  The Google Authenticator app will use that secret in the future.

At a later point in time, you will be asked for an auth code.  That auth code changes periodically, like once a minute.  Google Authenticator is an app that creates these codes, based on that secret that you scanned earlier.


This is the first time I have ever tried to withdraw. 

It tells me I have 2 factor thing set up, but I didn't do anything like that when I set up my account.

Please try to be a little more specific. 

Are you trying to withdraw and then get the error message:  "Your authentication code is incorrect, please try again"?

redbeans2012
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

MMM Extra - The right step towards the goal!


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2012, 12:02:22 AM
 #6

Is your problem logging in or withdrawing?

As far as two factor auth, when you set it up in GLBSE, then from your mobile you scan a QR code that contains a secret.  The Google Authenticator app will use that secret in the future.

At a later point in time, you will be asked for an auth code.  That auth code changes periodically, like once a minute.  Google Authenticator is an app that creates these codes, based on that secret that you scanned earlier.


This is the first time I have ever tried to withdraw. 

It tells me I have 2 factor thing set up, but I didn't do anything like that when I set up my account.

Please try to be a little more specific. 

Are you trying to withdraw and then get the error message:  "Your authentication code is incorrect, please try again"?


Yes

Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 29, 2012, 12:06:33 AM
 #7

Are you trying to withdraw and then get the error message:  "Your authentication code is incorrect, please try again"?


Yes

Ok, hmm ... and you don't remember setting it up.  So ..., that probably means you signed up back when GLBSE had a bug and was automatically marking accounts with multifactor.  I think e-mail to GBLSE ( support@glbse.com ) is the only way to get multifactor removed (without already having scanned your QR code into Google Authenticator).

redbeans2012
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

MMM Extra - The right step towards the goal!


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2012, 12:45:54 AM
 #8

Are you trying to withdraw and then get the error message:  "Your authentication code is incorrect, please try again"?


Yes

Ok, hmm ... and you don't remember setting it up.  So ..., that probably means you signed up back when GLBSE had a bug and was automatically marking accounts with multifactor.  I think e-mail to GBLSE ( support@glbse.com ) is the only way to get multifactor removed (without already having scanned your QR code into Google Authenticator).


Ah that would probably explain it.  Thanks man.. Sent an email to nefario about it today.

Azrael_PT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Par Pari Refertur


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2012, 09:24:45 PM
 #9

I have the same problem.
Sent an e-mail on the 26/4 and didn't get any answer so far. Sad

EDIT: My problem is solved. Got response from support. Smiley

Donations: 16WPtSGFtj7wH2TxQi5tZfdxtAG84zPVwD
CEX.IO
redbeans2012
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

MMM Extra - The right step towards the goal!


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2012, 11:18:59 PM
 #10

I have the same problem.
Sent an e-mail on the 26/4 and didn't get any answer so far. Sad

I still haven't gotten a response.  Kinda bummed cause I wanted to sell some BTC's to make rent.

redbeans2012
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854

MMM Extra - The right step towards the goal!


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 08:51:10 PM
 #11

I have the same problem.
Sent an e-mail on the 26/4 and didn't get any answer so far. Sad

EDIT: My problem is solved. Got response from support. Smiley

Cool, yeah I had to send a deposit from my wallet to prove that I owned the account.  Hopefully this clears things up.  Support been a little slow though so I don't know when it will be resolved. Smiley

I know for a fact that I didn't do this 2 factor thing when I signed up, must just be a bug.

bb113
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 09:00:48 PM
 #12

Here's a thread in which rjk taught me about it:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=87584.msg984667#msg984667
Bitcoin Oz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Wat


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2012, 11:47:53 AM
 #13

I had 2 factor on my main account and tried setting it up on a new one but it over rode the old account instead of enabling me to use two on the same phone. I have an android.

Anyone else get this issue ?

Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
July 16, 2012, 05:33:11 PM
 #14

I had 2 factor on my main account and tried setting it up on a new one but it over rode the old account instead of enabling me to use two on the same phone. I have an android.

Anyone else get this issue ?

Google authenticator allows you to "manually add account", which will allow you to add the second one.  (Well, now that you've overwritten the first one, that is the one you'll need to add back in, manually,)

RandomQ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
July 16, 2012, 06:24:12 PM
 #15

I had 2 factor on my main account and tried setting it up on a new one but it over rode the old account instead of enabling me to use two on the same phone. I have an android.

Anyone else get this issue ?

this sounds like a bug on the android verison

When I setup my second GLBSE account with 2 factor it just added another "GLBSE" account, and mtgox puts the account and a # in the description

I have 10 google otp accounts on IOS

Bitcoin To Cash LLC Receive cash in the mail for Bitcoin!
[CryptoStocks] GREEN - GreenBTC - Mining Company on CryptoStocks
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!