Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:08:30 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does ASIC USB Thingy Work with Macs?  (Read 2091 times)
bitcoinfrenzy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2012, 05:56:04 PM
 #1

Was thinking of ordering it but not sure if it works with Macs.  Anyone know?  Thanks in advance.

It is a common myth that Bitcoin is ruled by a majority of miners. This is not true. Bitcoin miners "vote" on the ordering of transactions, but that's all they do. They can't vote to change the network rules.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Nachtwind
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
June 29, 2012, 06:23:26 PM
 #2

That USB ASIC thingy will work on Linux, Windows, Mac and even Amiga OS.. i have heard rumors that there will be a connector for the Nintendo 3DSi... Just ask the BFL team.. a company that can build such a device can program the software for virtually every OS arround...



Truth to be told: Just wait IF it will ever be built and sold.. and if it can live up to the expectations. 1600MH/W is extremely optimistic... but i suppose the software - or compatible software will run sooner or later on mac as well..
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 02, 2012, 03:51:23 PM
 #3

if you can afford a mac and a $1000 asic, you can surely afford a $200 netbook running windows/linux.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
swissmate
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 02, 2012, 03:54:21 PM
 #4

if you can afford a mac and a $1000 asic, you can surely afford a $200 netbook running windows/linux.
THIS +1

Bitcoin adress:1HtrosDCEM3zMJ1RbsK9g4vpe3DTotBhVh


Need any translation?
billington.mark
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 05:05:11 PM
 #5

Install Linux on your mac, simples.

BTC - 1MarkBCmVn3yp1SB9RZZ7VfqJzkpV8Hmdo
BitMessage - BM-GtZkeAbmKGs77FEoigm9TmsQBSfvMB3N
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 11:19:19 PM
 #6

if you can afford a mac and a $1000 asic, you can surely afford a $200 netbook running windows/linux.

The lowest cost asic is priced at $150.
Bitcoin Oz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Wat


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 11:25:26 PM
 #7

I hope you can mine on an xbox Cheesy

swissmate
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 03, 2012, 06:17:36 PM
 #8

I hope you can mine on an xbox Cheesy

No, but you can transform the old xbox into a pc.
You just need a new HDD.

Bitcoin adress:1HtrosDCEM3zMJ1RbsK9g4vpe3DTotBhVh


Need any translation?
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
July 10, 2012, 10:48:38 AM
 #9

Was thinking of ordering it but not sure if it works with Macs.  Anyone know?  Thanks in advance.

OP that was one of my initial questions about the BFL Jalapeno (maybe?) but I could simply run win 7 via VMware fusion on my mac and simply 'mount' the ASIC in VMware fusion while retain the use of my mac.You can mount physical hardware into VMware fusion as well which can be a real time saver.Just make sure you have enough RAM for running 2 OSes simultaneously (4GB or more RAM should cover it).

Just another option for a mac user.

[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
Luceo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Per aspera ad astra!


View Profile
July 10, 2012, 11:11:14 AM
 #10

Was thinking of ordering it but not sure if it works with Macs.  Anyone know?  Thanks in advance.

I can see no reason why it wouldn't. Most of the miners are open-source so you could compile on Mac.

casascius
Mike Caldwell
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344


The Casascius 1oz 10BTC Silver Round (w/ Gold B)


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2012, 05:13:15 AM
 #11

Parallels Desktop (virtualization solution for Mac) allows plugging of USB devices into VM's.  Any time you insert a USB device, if you haven't saved a selection in advance, a popup asks you what VM you want to get the device (be it the host Mac or any of the VM's).  As long as the OS running in the VM can drive the device, it will work without needing a Mac driver.

Linux runs really well under Parallels on a Mac, including full GPU support, screen resizing, shared clipboard between Linux/Mac and other Windows VM's etc.

Companies claiming they got hacked and lost your coins sounds like fraud so perfect it could be called fashionable.  I never believe them.  If I ever experience the misfortune of a real intrusion, I declare I have been honest about the way I have managed the keys in Casascius Coins.  I maintain no ability to recover or reproduce the keys, not even under limitless duress or total intrusion.  Remember that trusting strangers with your coins without any recourse is, as a matter of principle, not a best practice.  Don't keep coins online. Use paper wallets instead.
Ferroh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141



View Profile WWW
July 12, 2012, 11:46:26 AM
 #12

if you can afford a mac and a $1000 asic, you can surely afford a $200 netbook running windows/linux.
THIS +1

Yeah it costs $150, not $1000.
Phraust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206


Mostly Harmless...


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2012, 12:37:03 PM
 #13

I think it'll depend on the interface.  If it's similar to the Singles, they'll use a serial usb connection, so you'll only need to install the drivers (for singles, they are here).

Also mentioned was Parallels, which I use to run windows 7 for the easyminer software that Butterfly Labs provides.  Works pretty well, though more than three at a time makes for issues (the firmware uploads can end up corrupted, so I have found it's less stress to do one at a time).

I've had success compiling cgminer and bfgminer (and even pooler's cpuminer for litecoin), as well as using the bitminter client, on OSX 10.7.4.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 05:19:22 PM
 #14

if you can afford a mac and a $1000 asic, you can surely afford a $200 netbook running windows/linux.
THIS +1

Yeah it costs $150, not $1000.
i meant currently available ones, not planned ones by BFL.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2012, 10:02:42 PM
 #15

There are no currently available ASICs.

BFL are the only ones to have an ASIC product identified, priced and pre-orderable.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!