Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 01:04:37 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Using bitcoin addresses for captcha.....  (Read 2231 times)
Bitcoin Oz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Wat


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 02:02:20 AM
 #1

 What if you took bitcoin address and turned them into firstbits style addresses and displayed them and users need to enter that correctly as the captcha ?

Can you display only parts of bitcoin addresses in this way programatically ?

1481375077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481375077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481375077
Reply with quote  #2

1481375077
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481375077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481375077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481375077
Reply with quote  #2

1481375077
Report to moderator
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
June 30, 2012, 02:03:59 AM
 #2

What if you took bitcoin address and turned them into firstbits style addresses and displayed them and users need to enter that correctly as the captcha ?

Can you display only parts of bitcoin addresses in this way programatically ?

What's the diference between that and just grabbing 5 or 6 random letters/numbers?

Bitcoin Oz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Wat


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 02:07:24 AM
 #3

What if you took bitcoin address and turned them into firstbits style addresses and displayed them and users need to enter that correctly as the captcha ?

Can you display only parts of bitcoin addresses in this way programatically ?

What's the diference between that and just grabbing 5 or 6 random letters/numbers?

You cant pay a normal captcha instead of solving it Smiley

Sometimes they are so difficult to solve I just want to tip them a satoshi to let me use the friggin site!

Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 02:08:43 AM
 #4

I could see this working if it required a scan of a qr code and then typing it in but i guess that wouldnt work becuase a bot could read qr codes... Idk
Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 02:09:23 AM
 #5

What if you took bitcoin address and turned them into firstbits style addresses and displayed them and users need to enter that correctly as the captcha ?

Can you display only parts of bitcoin addresses in this way programatically ?

What's the diference between that and just grabbing 5 or 6 random letters/numbers?

You cant pay a normal captcha instead of solving it Smiley

Sometimes they are so difficult to solve I just want to tip them a satoshi to let me use the friggin site!
Oh i get it : pay this tiny amount to signup and to prove your not a bot
Bitcoin Oz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Wat


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 02:11:11 AM
 #6

What if you took bitcoin address and turned them into firstbits style addresses and displayed them and users need to enter that correctly as the captcha ?

Can you display only parts of bitcoin addresses in this way programatically ?

What's the diference between that and just grabbing 5 or 6 random letters/numbers?

You cant pay a normal captcha instead of solving it Smiley

Sometimes they are so difficult to solve I just want to tip them a satoshi to let me use the friggin site!
Oh i get it : pay this tiny amount to signup and to prove your not a bot

Under this system that is entirely optional.

Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
June 30, 2012, 02:27:02 AM
 #7

What's the diference between that and just grabbing 5 or 6 random letters/numbers?

You cant pay a normal captcha instead of solving it Smiley

Sometimes they are so difficult to solve I just want to tip them a satoshi to let me use the friggin site!

Yes, you can pay a normal captcha... http://de-captcher.com is just one of the dozens of sites that have OCR and human solving available for as much as $2 for 1000 captcha solutions.

Oh i get it : pay this tiny amount to signup and to prove your not a bot

That will not prove you're not a bot as any bot can do that. Scraping the page to see which amount to send to which address and sending a json-RPC command to bitcoind isn't that difficult.

Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 03:28:16 AM
 #8

Whats if the amount is in an image format Tongue
Bitcoin Oz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Wat


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 03:29:46 AM
 #9

Whats if the amount is in an image format Tongue

That would require humans Smiley

If its an image it can also be an AD.

Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
June 30, 2012, 03:35:32 AM
 #10

Whats if the amount is in an image format Tongue

That would require humans Smiley



That would require OCR or a service like de-captcher. Currently most captchas are images and that doesn't stop spammers. At most you would only double the cost to solve it, nothing more.

You guys are free to implement it. I'll try and break it and if you want. Grin

BTW, the best captchas around are the one that is used on the Bitcoin Faucet(impossible for a bot to solve) and those SolveMedia ones, which may require 2 or 3 tries, but eventually will be solved.

Bitcoin Oz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Wat


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 03:59:36 AM
 #11

Whats if the amount is in an image format Tongue

That would require humans Smiley



That would require OCR or a service like de-captcher. Currently most captchas are images and that doesn't stop spammers. At most you would only double the cost to solve it, nothing more.

You guys are free to implement it. I'll try and break it and if you want. Grin

BTW, the best captchas around are the one that is used on the Bitcoin Faucet(impossible for a bot to solve) and those SolveMedia ones, which may require 2 or 3 tries, but eventually will be solved.

What if you show a full address but highlight the letters and numbers randomly ? It would be an actual working address and the amount to bypass it would be in a pic too.

Bitcoin Oz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Wat


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 04:00:47 AM
 #12

I actually have a site in mind for this based on the blockchain that works like 4chan.

Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
June 30, 2012, 04:04:14 AM
 #13

Whats if the amount is in an image format Tongue

That would require humans Smiley



That would require OCR or a service like de-captcher. Currently most captchas are images and that doesn't stop spammers. At most you would only double the cost to solve it, nothing more.

You guys are free to implement it. I'll try and break it and if you want. Grin

BTW, the best captchas around are the one that is used on the Bitcoin Faucet(impossible for a bot to solve) and those SolveMedia ones, which may require 2 or 3 tries, but eventually will be solved.

What if you show a full address but highlight the letters and numbers randomly ? It would be an actual working address and the amount to bypass it would be in a pic too.

If you use html to higlight the letters and numbers it can and will be detected by more advanced bots.
If you use a picture to show the full address, nobody will have the guts to write it and send the coin lol

gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 04:37:06 AM
 #14

but what if you used your own set of html tags like
Code:
<firstbits>17ocNsU</firstbits>RFKC<bitcoinsarefun>sGarEiqEgzMx</bitcoinsarefun>xS9WnWAmP6P
and you can randomly set where they show up and can confuse bots at least

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Bitcoin Oz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


Wat


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 04:42:26 AM
 #15

but what if you used your own set of html tags like
Code:
<firstbits>17ocNsU</firstbits>RFKC<bitcoinsarefun>sGarEiqEgzMx</bitcoinsarefun>xS9WnWAmP6P
and you can randomly set where they show up and can confuse bots at least

 Shocked

Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
June 30, 2012, 05:05:41 AM
 #16

but what if you used your own set of html tags like
Code:
<firstbits>17ocNsU</firstbits>RFKC<bitcoinsarefun>sGarEiqEgzMx</bitcoinsarefun>xS9WnWAmP6P
and you can randomly set where they show up and can confuse bots at least

Oh, that would be bypassed in less than 1 minute. Yes, 1 minute would be what I would need to program a bot to scrape your personalized tags lol regex included. Even if you randomized them, would all be a matter of training and time.

You would be surprised with the bots Russians sell nowadays Grin
ZennoPoster is unstopable Wink Well, that captcha in the faucet would stop it, but that's one of the few.
Any captcha involving text, be it on the page source or on an image is pretty much dead on arrival.
You may not believe it, but I've seen captcha systems that involve composing the image from several smaller images: No problem, it screenshots the page and crops the screenshot and sends the part with the captcha to the captcha solving service.
The only ones that are trully working are the ones that involving recognizing an object(non-text) between 3 or 4 pictures or, like I said, the one used on the faucet.

gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2012, 05:13:41 AM
 #17

Naw I am not surprised Russian hackers can pretty much do anything, where they get the time and energy to do it I will never know. In Russia captcha solves you.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
June 30, 2012, 05:17:17 AM
 #18

In Russia captcha solves you.

Now that was funny ROFL

Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 06:27:40 AM
 #19

What about combining the image idea along with the highlighted areas?

Or if you absolutly had to use text you could colorize the bitcoin address with 10 different colors and then in an image tell the user what color selected. No bot could solve that! Okay the bot could guess but it would only be correct once out of every ten tries(more times if your lucky)
Gareth Nelson
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 722


View Profile
June 30, 2012, 07:09:45 AM
 #20

Hashcash returns
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!