Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:27:00 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Underclocking memory on 5830 causes crashes  (Read 1494 times)
Infinity1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 06:19:55 AM
 #1

I have the regular Sapphire 5830 and overclocked the core from 800mHz to 1000mHz while maintaining extremely stable temperatures during Bitcoin mining (67C).

My memory clock is currently at 620 mHz because anything below 600mHz seems to causes a crash. My conputer doesn't crash immediately but when I launch a program such as FurMark or GPU-Z.

The OS this occurs on is Windows XP 32bit and I'm planning to switch to LinuxCoin or Ubuntu, whichever is better on a 4GB USB.

I'm using MSI AfterBurner to overclock.

Straya Cunt!
1480724820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480724820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480724820
Reply with quote  #2

1480724820
Report to moderator
1480724820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480724820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480724820
Reply with quote  #2

1480724820
Report to moderator
1480724820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480724820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480724820
Reply with quote  #2

1480724820
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480724820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480724820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480724820
Reply with quote  #2

1480724820
Report to moderator
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 06:41:39 AM
 #2

I have the regular Sapphire 5830 and overclocked the core from 800mHz to 1000mHz while maintaining extremely stable temperatures during Bitcoin mining (67C).

My memory clock is currently at 620 mHz because anything below 600mHz seems to causes a crash. My conputer doesn't crash immediately but when I launch a program such as FurMark or GPU-Z.

The OS this occurs on is Windows XP 32bit and I'm planning to switch to LinuxCoin or Ubuntu, whichever is better on a 4GB USB.

I'm using MSI AfterBurner to overclock.

Try this. Lower the core back to normal "800" then lower the memory down to 600 and see it it crashes again while what ever you were doing to make it crash, this is purely a test. Then post back with results.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 10:44:42 AM
 #3

Are you inching the memory down? Or are you bringing it down suddenly? Are you doing it while the card is idle or under load? Some cards have very unstable speeds that you should avoid. My asus 5870 absolutely HATES anything from 212MHz and higher to an unknown amount, but its safe at 300MHz. It's the same at around 380+ and 600+ as well. Also some cards or motherboards absolutely HATE changing memory under load (hard freeze). Set your target memory while idle. You may have run into a deadzone. Just keep trying different "regions" of memory frequency. Doesnt like 150? Try 175. Doesnt like it? 200. And keep on going. You may get BSOD's or hard locks. Won't hurt your card, just reset and try again.

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 01:35:13 PM
 #4

Those 58xx cards hate any memory speeds from the 350-600 range. It's a little uncomfortable at first, but drop those suckers right down to 300, and you shouldn't have any issues.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Coinoisseur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 12, 2012, 10:33:06 PM
 #5

It's worth trying 1000/300, my Sapphire 5830s are rock solid with 300Mhz RAM settings. But the cores are at 950, and overclocking can have some seemingly odd quirks. Might need to drop the core clock a bit.
Infinity1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 10:48:35 PM
 #6

Okay, I managed to overclock to 990mHz and downclock the memory all the way down to 300mHz.
After I came back, some ATi processes crashed after 20 minutes of mining halting my mining at 70 shares.

So I'm at 990/300 although I don't really see a problem with those speeds as they seem stable to me unless the card is pulling more than 1.25V

I wonder how people handle over 1000mHz unless they overclock with the Sapphire 5830 Xtreme.

Anyone know how to play with the voltages?

Straya Cunt!
Coinoisseur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 12, 2012, 10:54:11 PM
 #7

Going beyond 950ish on a 5830 is really a roll of the dice. There is variation in core chip quality and overall board quality, just as not every CPU overclocks to the same maximum.
Infinity1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 10:55:43 PM
 #8

Going beyond 950ish on a 5830 is really a roll of the dice. There is variation in core chip quality and overall board quality, just as not every CPU overclocks to the same maximum.

Here was the error I got:

Straya Cunt!
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 12, 2012, 11:13:26 PM
 #9

Ya not every chip can go to 1000MHz. Try bumping it down by 10MHz and see if the errors continue to appear. I think I ran my Sapphire 5830 at 940,300.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
July 13, 2012, 01:30:14 AM
 #10

Bad memory clocks shouldnt allow you to do a VPU reset. They will often cause hashing errors (hash returned <1 difficulty) or hard freezes. A VPU/driver reset is usually because your core speed was too aggressive for the voltage you're at. Extremely high core speeds can cause a hard freeze too (1050MHz @ 1v as an example). Either decrease your core speed or increase your core volts (I suggest the former, unless you dont pay for electricity)

zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
July 13, 2012, 01:40:34 PM
 #11

sapphire xtremes @ 1000/195 @ 1.163v (at night) or 920/195 @ 1.063v (during the day) were stable for me over a period of about two months on 3 cards.  something to start at when changing voltage, anyway

(as i recall, they were able to do 1040/195, 1035/195, and 1010/195 as max stable)


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=16406.0

use that for Windows, it's so much easier than afterburner or w/e else =p

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 13, 2012, 01:45:13 PM
 #12

sapphire xtremes @ 1000/195 @ 1.163v (at night) or 920/195 @ 1.063v (during the day) were stable for me over a period of about two months on 3 cards.  something to start at when changing voltage, anyway

(as i recall, they were able to do 1040/195, 1035/195, and 1010/195 as max stable)


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=16406.0

use that for Windows, it's so much easier than afterburner or w/e else =p

Or CGMiner...

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
July 13, 2012, 01:46:50 PM
 #13

sapphire xtremes @ 1000/195 @ 1.163v (at night) or 920/195 @ 1.063v (during the day) were stable for me over a period of about two months on 3 cards.  something to start at when changing voltage, anyway

(as i recall, they were able to do 1040/195, 1035/195, and 1010/195 as max stable)


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=16406.0

use that for Windows, it's so much easier than afterburner or w/e else =p

Or CGMiner...
but then you couldn't use phoenix

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
July 13, 2012, 02:16:28 PM
 #14

sapphire xtremes @ 1000/195 @ 1.163v (at night) or 920/195 @ 1.063v (during the day) were stable for me over a period of about two months on 3 cards.  something to start at when changing voltage, anyway

(as i recall, they were able to do 1040/195, 1035/195, and 1010/195 as max stable)


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=16406.0

use that for Windows, it's so much easier than afterburner or w/e else =p

Or CGMiner...
but then you couldn't use phoenix

That is true, but whatever kernel Phoenix uses, CGMiner also has.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!