Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:11:19 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking for someone to write a file copy script  (Read 856 times)
lolwut
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 06:04:57 PM
 #1

I'm looking for someone to write me a script (anything that will run on osx) to do the following:

Copy all files from 4 different external hard drives, one at a time.
The script does not need to retain folder structure, I want it to dump all files from all drives in to one main folder.
After copying files from the first drive to the destination path, I then want it to start copying files from the second drive (possibly using rsync) in to the same main destination folder.
If files have the same name, but contents is different, I want it to rename the files and then copy to destination.
If files have same name and identical contents, skip copying.
If files have different name and identical contents, skip copying.

When comparing files, i think it would be wise to use multiple checks/balances. Example, if file names are the same and byte size is the same, md5 it and if thats a match, skip copying one of them.
If file names are the same and the byte size is different, rename one of them and copy both to destination.

This is really hard to explain, so feel free to ask me any questions you like. Also please let me know what you would charge to do this and how soon it can be completed.
1481170279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170279
Reply with quote  #2

1481170279
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481170279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170279
Reply with quote  #2

1481170279
Report to moderator
1481170279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170279
Reply with quote  #2

1481170279
Report to moderator
officialsavage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 06:21:16 PM
 #2

You could do this easily with automator on your Mac.  It's basically drag and drop your rules for the automation.  Tons of tutorials online if it's not self explanatory for you.
officialsavage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 06:22:35 PM
 #3

if you do a little searching you may even find an automator script pre-built you can just load into your program an manipulate a bit to do exactly what you need.
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2012, 06:25:44 PM
 #4

I agree some automator love be nice then use terminal todo the md5 stuff, pretty easy

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
officialsavage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 06:34:46 PM
 #5

I agree some automator love be nice then use terminal todo the md5 stuff, pretty easy

If memory serves me correctly, there should be an MD5 checksum automator action built into automator.  This would save time of having to use terminal to verify the file checksums.  If it's not already there I know for sure you can download it online and add it to your automator.
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 20, 2012, 12:44:55 AM
 #6

For 3 BTC I can write a python script that does this for you.

I should be able to have it written for you within a day of whenever you give me the go-ahead.

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2012, 12:49:04 AM
 #7

I agree some automator love be nice then use terminal todo the md5 stuff, pretty easy

If memory serves me correctly, there should be an MD5 checksum automator action built into automator.  This would save time of having to use terminal to verify the file checksums.  If it's not already there I know for sure you can download it online and add it to your automator.

I think that is a library, cause my automator library is stock and i see no md5 but even better

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
pjwaffle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
July 22, 2012, 02:24:29 AM
 #8

Working on a bash script right now.

Please hold 2BTC payment for me.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!