Bitcoin Forum
September 28, 2022, 04:28:00 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitnodes Incentive Program  (Read 10143 times)
Bitcoinreminder.com
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 25, 2015, 08:50:09 PM
 #61

I just registered with our server for the incentive program..

It would be great if you could provide a step list, for things you have to do to participate in the program, like:

1) Activate your node here [link]
2) Add you bitcoin address via this API call [api call example]
3) Host a url with the bitcoin address available and do this api call [api call example]

Because there were a lot of "home running" bitcoin server examples, it was more complicated to find the right way than it needs to be..

Anyway, thanks a lot for the program!
1664339280
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664339280

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664339280
Reply with quote  #2

1664339280
Report to moderator
1664339280
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664339280

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664339280
Reply with quote  #2

1664339280
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Rassah
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1035



View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 06:33:18 PM
Last edit: May 01, 2015, 06:50:14 PM by Rassah
 #62

I can't seem to get my server verified. I registered with

Quote
curl -H "Accept: application/json; indent=4" -d "bitcoin_address=1Rassahgt3XSxKVJ62oSrQJxtH3wk4MKX" -d "url=http://76.100.70.17" https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/api/v1/nodes/76.100.70.17-8333/

Does the bitcoin address have to be the one in the bitcoin node, or can it be any bitcoin address? Does the url= have to be a web service running on our node (port 80), or is it just the URL of your node (reachable with 8333)?

Thanks

Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 08:30:04 PM
 #63


Does the bitcoin address have to be the one in the bitcoin node, or can it be any bitcoin address? Does the url= have to be a web service running on our node (port 80), or is it just the URL of your miner (reachable with 8333)?

Thanks
The btc address has match the static public web page containing the same Bitcoin address.

The url for that webpage must be the same IP address as the bitcoin node.

Miners have nothing to do with this.
5cMXezpBtm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 233
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 10, 2015, 07:00:29 AM
 #64

I would like to join, but my node is running Tor-only, so I need to be able to register the Tor onion address of the hidden service (which is not strongly intended to be hidden anyway).
BTC_Superman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 10, 2015, 08:49:04 AM
 #65

great idea, it will helps people who have nodes. Though it's not user friendly enough.
jdebunt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1010


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2015, 09:26:19 AM
 #66

A most interesting idea, people like their incentives very much Smiley
5cMXezpBtm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 233
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 10, 2015, 12:30:08 PM
 #67

Is the node registry bound to the IP address, so the service can only be used by nodes with static IP address, but not by nodes with dynamic IP address from provider (home server) ?
shorena
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1424


No I dont escrow anymore.


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2015, 02:05:27 PM
 #68

Is the node registry bound to the IP address, so the service can only be used by nodes with static IP address, but not by nodes with dynamic IP address from provider (home server) ?

Correct, the address must not change in order to be eligable. Well either that or reregister every time the IP changes. The later will probably result in a horrible rating (uptime etc.) and thus keep the node from beeing considered.

Im not really here, its just your imagination.
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1055



View Profile
May 25, 2015, 07:47:43 PM
Last edit: May 25, 2015, 07:58:55 PM by 2112
 #69

Hey "disclosure" a.k.a. Addy Yeow!

Could you please add deregistration to your site? Or maybe some form of automatic decay, so that nodes inaccessible for over a month get dropped from your scanner?

I rather thoughtlessly registered several of my test nodes and I wanted to move them to a better, more permanent addresses. It was easy to press "ADD" before thinking it through. Some sort of verification similar to your incentive registration should be a good and safe deregistration.

Thanks.

Edit: Fixed spelling of the first name.

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
Jake-R
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 27, 2015, 05:09:28 PM
Last edit: May 28, 2015, 12:24:19 AM by Jake-R
 #70

This is very interesting. What happens after December 31, 2015? Will this program expire and that's it? How does one activate their node? Where do you run these commands? https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/api/#node-bitcoin-address
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1616
Merit: 1003



View Profile
May 28, 2015, 12:32:40 AM
 #71

What happens after December 31, 2015? Will this program expire and that's it?

He's paying out the rewards with his own funds. What would you reasonably expect?

BTW, one of my nodes got about 0.039 BTC. It was a pleasant surprise. At least I can say that I got my scrap BTC without taking part in a signature campaign.
disclosure
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 30, 2015, 01:14:06 PM
 #72

Hey "disclosure" a.k.a. Addy Yeow!

Could you please add deregistration to your site? Or maybe some form of automatic decay, so that nodes inaccessible for over a month get dropped from your scanner?

I rather thoughtlessly registered several of my test nodes and I wanted to move them to a better, more permanent addresses. It was easy to press "ADD" before thinking it through. Some sort of verification similar to your incentive registration should be a good and safe deregistration.

Thanks.

Edit: Fixed spelling of the first name.

Done. Node will now be removed automatically from the site if it is down for more than a week.
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1055



View Profile
May 30, 2015, 03:06:39 PM
 #73

Done. Node will now be removed automatically from the site if it is down for more than a week.
Thank you very much, my friend.

It is a great relief to my eyes when the search of your site no longer shows the record of my stupidity when I was testing my IPv6 network overlay. Hopefully it also lowered the load on your scanner.

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
d4n13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 101


“Create Your Decentralized Life”


View Profile
June 25, 2015, 04:41:53 AM
 #74

I think their API fails when you try to add an onion node.

Bummer... It would be nice to know how many nodes there are on each of the for networks

IPV4=?
IPV6=?
ONION=?

Anyone know the bitnodes API dev to submit a feature request?

CohibAA
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
October 06, 2015, 08:20:07 PM
 #75

It looks like the incentive program will live on indefinitely now:

The 21 Full Nodes Index

21 Inc Pledges Support to Bitcoin's Vanishing Nodes

 Cool

Jake-R
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 06, 2015, 08:36:23 PM
 #76

I wish I could figure out how to register the node I am running on my spare Windows desktop. I have port 8333 forwarding to the Qt wallet and it shows as being reachable on Bitnodes' site.
CohibAA
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
October 06, 2015, 08:41:53 PM
 #77

I wish I could figure out how to register the node I am running on my spare Windows desktop. I have port 8333 forwarding to the Qt wallet and it shows as being reachable on Bitnodes' site.

It's certainly not user-friendly to get your node verified.  I have no idea how you would do it on Windows, but maybe you can use a linux device from the same IP?

Jake-R
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 06, 2015, 08:45:37 PM
 #78

I wish I could figure out how to register the node I am running on my spare Windows desktop. I have port 8333 forwarding to the Qt wallet and it shows as being reachable on Bitnodes' site.

It's certainly not user-friendly to get your node verified.  I have no idea how you would do it on Windows, but maybe you can use a linux device from the same IP?

Thanks for the link, I wish you could just register automatically from their webpage when you "Check Node".
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 06, 2015, 09:37:21 PM
 #79

I wish I could figure out how to register the node I am running on my spare Windows desktop. I have port 8333 forwarding to the Qt wallet and it shows as being reachable on Bitnodes' site.

It's certainly not user-friendly to get your node verified.  I have no idea how you would do it on Windows, but maybe you can use a linux device from the same IP?

Thanks for the link, I wish you could just register automatically from their webpage when you "Check Node".

That's not secure enough, you need to be able to do an api call from the ip address that the node is run from.  I was in your shoes months ago, but two pages back you'll see that instructions were provided to me that are easy to follow for folk like me that don't use Linux (yet) or program or anything.  I successfully registered my node on a windows machine and haven't had issues since.  I don't leave my webserver (see link for how to set one up on your machine) running all the time for security reasons, but I redo the api call weekly to keep the btc address registered with my node.  Install Cygwin and curl support to enter the command line stuff.

You have a static ip address, right?  If not then you cannot register your node.
shorena
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1424


No I dont escrow anymore.


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2015, 08:44:18 AM
 #80

I dont think I will reach a PIX over 8.0 now that I have to run the node in pruned mode... I redid the verification anyway.

https://bitnodes.21.co/nodes/leaderboard/?q=213.165.91.169

Im not really here, its just your imagination.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!