Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 02:58:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Minimum power needed to mine alts now  (Read 1565 times)
cshelswell
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2015, 07:48:14 AM
 #1

Just wondering what kind of ghs you need now to have play on the alts. Back in the day I had some gear but it'd be way too slow now

1511146713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146713
Reply with quote  #2

1511146713
Report to moderator
1511146713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146713
Reply with quote  #2

1511146713
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511146713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146713
Reply with quote  #2

1511146713
Report to moderator
1511146713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146713
Reply with quote  #2

1511146713
Report to moderator
Bombadil
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
February 21, 2015, 08:10:32 AM
 #2

Depends on how much you want to invest Wink With just a gtx750ti or a second hand R9, you're good to go.
cshelswell
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2015, 09:19:09 AM
 #3

I've got an old jally 5ghz but can't see that doing much now.  Quite fancy a bit main u3 or 2 just to keep my feet in the water

Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694



View Profile
February 21, 2015, 05:11:03 PM
 #4

if we are talking about scrypt, i think you need a beast now, with a small rig you can try to mine at launch nothing else

750ti can be used to mine for fun
cshelswell
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2015, 07:56:42 PM
 #5

Think I'd probably prefer to stick to the sha256. Guess the thing to do is find some New alts with low diff but I reckon as soon as somebody puts a new machine on it I'll be quite slow Smiley

cshelswell
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2015, 05:55:19 AM
 #6

You could settle & clear for The Ideal Reserve which makes an isolated Clearinghouse competitive on a half core 64-bit VPS with 500 MB RAM and a 7400 rpm laptop drive.

It will probably take some time before better hardware is required in most locations on the planet to remain competitive.

The dominant factors right now are clear fee competitivity since they are set by the Clearinghouse operators and proximity to the transferor because the fastest to clear, settle, and propagate books is most likely to receive the fee.  A Clearinghouse is not throttled by hash difficulty or staking.

You've lost me a bit... What's the "Ideal Reserve"?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!