Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 03:22:48 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help with big bang marshal minning rigs  (Read 1479 times)
hata1234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 06:48:58 AM
 #1

Hi everybody.
I'll start my miner life.
My friend upgrade his computer and sell his motherboard for me.
It's MSI Big Bang Marshal(B3) for me.

And I buy
3 x used ATI 5970(gigabyte)
3 x used ATI 5870(gigabyte).
2 x Corsair AX1200

okay..problem is.
now I need to buy the PCI-E Extender Cable.
Which Cable do I need?
Do I need to buy the PCIe x16 Extender Cable w/Molex like this
Or I just need the PCIe x16 Extender Cable like this

And another question.
I see the description of PCIe x16 Extender Cable w/Molex Connector.
It say "For use from a primary Power Supply (PSU) only (not for use with dual power supplies)"
So I can't use the dual psu setting??
But I think It'll not enough power for my gpu.

Can anybody help me. thanks
1512962568
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512962568

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512962568
Reply with quote  #2

1512962568
Report to moderator
1512962568
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512962568

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512962568
Reply with quote  #2

1512962568
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512962568
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512962568

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512962568
Reply with quote  #2

1512962568
Report to moderator
1512962568
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512962568

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512962568
Reply with quote  #2

1512962568
Report to moderator
1512962568
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512962568

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512962568
Reply with quote  #2

1512962568
Report to moderator
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 09:40:50 AM
 #2

I can help. First step is you sell the power supplies and video cards to me. After you do that, we can go to the next step, which I'll explain after I receive them in the mail.

ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 04:57:56 PM
 #3

I've never believed in the extenders with the molex power connectors. I run 5 cards in my rig with a 1000watt gold unit on the motherboard and the first three cards, and then a 750 watt bronze on the last two cards. Never had an issue with the rig.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 05:05:38 PM
 #4

I've never believed in the extenders with the molex power connectors. I run 5 cards in my rig with a 1000watt gold unit on the motherboard and the first three cards, and then a 750 watt bronze on the last two cards. Never had an issue with the rig.

i agree with this.  i have over 100 gpus on extenders. no power needed.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
yjacket
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 202


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 05:41:52 PM
 #5

If you're doing that all on the single motherboard, you're going to have to run linux. Even with that (linux doesn't have Win7's 8 gpu core limit), 9 cores is going to be a pain in the ass. I'd recommend buying a second mobo. I never liked 7+ core setups, they tend to be unstable.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 06:52:15 PM
 #6

If you're doing that all on the single motherboard, you're going to have to run linux. Even with that (linux doesn't have Win7's 8 gpu core limit), 9 cores is going to be a pain in the ass. I'd recommend buying a second mobo. I never liked 7+ core setups, they tend to be unstable.

8cores OK if they are dual gpu cards..   i would agree, you should do two rigs.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
check_status
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


Web Dev, Db Admin, Computer Technician


View Profile
August 04, 2012, 04:34:53 AM
 #7

3 x used ATI 5970(gigabyte) = 6 cores
3 x used ATI 5870(gigabyte) = 3 cores  +
-------------------------------------------------
................................................9 cores
................Max cores per BIOS 8 cores  -
-------------------------------------------------
................................................1 cores too many for 1 mother board

5970 with 850/150 clocks draws 250watts each, x3=750watts.
5870 with 900/150 clocks draws 180watts each, x2=360watts.
........................................Motherboard draws about 160 watts.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
............................................................................... ...1270watts Too much for a 1200watt PSU

You should run 2x5970's and 3x5870's on your set up, but only if your PSU is designed to run at its rated capacity of 1200watts.
2x 750watt or 850watt single rail PSU's would be a better choice.

For Bitcoin to be a true global currency the value of BTC needs always to rise.
If BTC became the global currency & money supply = 100 Trillion then ⊅1.00 BTC = $4,761,904.76.
P2Pool Server List | How To's and Guides Mega List |  1EndfedSryGUZK9sPrdvxHntYzv2EBexGA
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
August 07, 2012, 06:17:48 AM
 #8

3 x used ATI 5970(gigabyte) = 6 cores
3 x used ATI 5870(gigabyte) = 3 cores  +
-------------------------------------------------
................................................9 cores
................Max cores per BIOS 8 cores  -
-------------------------------------------------
................................................1 cores too many for 1 mother board

5970 with 850/150 clocks draws 250watts each, x3=750watts.
5870 with 900/150 clocks draws 180watts each, x2=360watts.
........................................Motherboard draws about 160 watts.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
............................................................................... ...1270watts Too much for a 1200watt PSU

You should run 2x5970's and 3x5870's on your set up, but only if your PSU is designed to run at its rated capacity of 1200watts.
2x 750watt or 850watt single rail PSU's would be a better choice.

Your power estimate seems too high. I drew 1040W at the wall with 3 5970 and 2 5870 (all reference) with an 83% efficient PSU. This is about 863 watts. I believe it also did 2700 mhash, or 3.12 mhash/J (assuming 100% efficiency power supply)

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!