Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:08:15 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can a 850PSU cut it for 3 5870's?  (Read 1993 times)
pokermon919
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 11:16:47 PM
 #1

Currently running 1 5870 in my computer, plan to slap in 2 more and upgrading psu instead of building a rig until I decide if I would like to build another dedicated rig. Was wondering if people have done it and ran stable powering 3 5870's with 850 watt psu.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263695
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263695

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263695
Reply with quote  #2

1481263695
Report to moderator
1481263695
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263695

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263695
Reply with quote  #2

1481263695
Report to moderator
1481263695
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263695

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263695
Reply with quote  #2

1481263695
Report to moderator
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 11:38:12 PM
 #2

As long as it's a GOOD PSU, like a Corsair TX series, Seasonic, etc, then yeah, you should be fine.  A Rosewill 850w probably won't cut it.
pokermon919
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 11:48:29 PM
 #3

As long as it's a GOOD PSU, like a Corsair TX series, Seasonic, etc, then yeah, you should be fine.  A Rosewill 850w probably won't cut it.

Yea I was specifically thinking about a Corsair TX 850watt one.
TurboK
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
May 24, 2011, 11:55:15 PM
 #4

Any 80% rated 850w psu should be able to run 3x 5870s just fine, as long as you don't run them next to some dual q9550s on a skulltrail board.

12zJNWtM2HknS2EPLkT9QPSuSq1576aKx7

Tradehill viral bullshit code: TH-R114411
warweed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 12:06:32 AM
 #5

depends really post which your looking at ? like what the amp is per 12v rail
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 12:10:39 AM
 #6

3 5870s on a sempron system with a single hard drive and a buncha fans use less than 600Watts while mining with the memory clocks turned down. Potentially under 500Watts but I don't have equipment sophisticated enough to fully test that yet so I wouldn't recommend it. A quality 650Watt PSU is all you need. 850 could run 4 or potentially more 5870s.
pokermon919
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 12:12:18 AM
 #7

depends really post which your looking at ? like what the amp is per 12v rail

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139009

this one
pokermon919
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 12:20:46 AM
 #8

3 5870s on a sempron system with a single hard drive and a buncha fans use less than 600Watts while mining with the memory clocks turned down. Potentially under 500Watts but I don't have equipment sophisticated enough to fully test that yet so I wouldn't recommend it. A quality 650Watt PSU is all you need. 850 could run 4 or potentially more 5870s.

thank you very much
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 12:50:34 AM
 #9

Any 80% rated 850w psu should be able to run 3x 5870s just fine, as long as you don't run them next to some dual q9550s on a skulltrail board.

You do realize that efficiency has nothing to do with the quality of the PSU.

Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:26:50 AM
 #10

Yeah, I agree.  You should be fine.  I have a Corsair HX850 running 3 5850's with no problem.  Even at max load it's only drawing about 520 watts.

Of course, I've gone low power on all the other components, 35W CPU, no CD drive, low power HD, etc.
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:29:24 AM
 #11

not "any" 850W-rated PSU, but PSU that conform ATX 2.2 at least and brand made and new.
while ATX 1.x PSU probably just blow you PC. as well as some ATX 2.0.2 PSU's.
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:32:50 AM
 #12

850w with 80+ rating using singlephase will work depending on rest of hardware used, however I found it a much safer bet and stabler taking gpu overclocking into consideration to go with the much cheaper Coolermaster 550w GX series by binding 2 of them for 1100w (cost allmost 1/3 of an actualy 80+ rated 1100w psu)

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
Iceredwing
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:07:55 PM
 #13

850w with 80+ rating using singlephase will work depending on rest of hardware used, however I found it a much safer bet and stabler taking gpu overclocking into consideration to go with the much cheaper Coolermaster 550w GX series by binding 2 of them for 1100w (cost allmost 1/3 of an actualy 80+ rated 1100w psu)

Using two psu might be cheaper, but an solid 850 is more than enough for 3.

Although I'm not against the idea, only reason why I would use two psu instead of one is if I'm trying to 4x dual gpu card with a couple 850w psu's on linux personally.
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:15:11 PM
 #14

850w with 80+ rating using singlephase will work depending on rest of hardware used, however I found it a much safer bet and stabler taking gpu overclocking into consideration to go with the much cheaper Coolermaster 550w GX series by binding 2 of them for 1100w (cost allmost 1/3 of an actualy 80+ rated 1100w psu)

Using two psu might be cheaper, but an solid 850 is more than enough for 3.

Although I'm not against the idea, only reason why I would use two psu instead of one is if I'm trying to 4x dual gpu card with a couple 850w psu's on linux personally.

Only reason you shouldnt go with 2x psu is if you plan on using a small case and cant fit both in. Other than that there is really no reason, 2x psu helps alot a hell of alot more when you plan on overclocking everything from the bees knees to the queens eggs on your hardware. Smiley

When I said cheaper coolermaster psu, I didnt mean crappy coolermaster psu. There PSU's are simply not overpriced and just as solid in design.

Not to mention, you basicly confirmed it, 2x psu is cheaper and it offers you 1100w or lowest wattage guaranteed 528w per psu so thats 1056 vs 80+ rating on 850w that would be around 820w.

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
keybaud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:17:51 PM
 #15

Currently running 1 5870 in my computer, plan to slap in 2 more and upgrading psu instead of building a rig until I decide if I would like to build another dedicated rig. Was wondering if people have done it and ran stable powering 3 5870's with 850 watt psu.

I have 3 x HD5870s and a 700W PSU, although it is a 80+ gold one. The power draw at the socket is 690 watts at full load, so the rig is actually using approx 630 Watts.
pokermon919
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:25:37 PM
 #16

Thanks for all the input guys. I was thinking about using 2 psu's but I read another thread where a member raised concerns over having a common ground for both psus and not having a common ground can eventually fry something, mainly motherboard. For the person running 2 psu's, how long have you done that?
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:32:28 PM
 #17

Using a psu bonding clip, both psu's earth on the motherboard.

Just do some research about psu bonding and psu bonding clips.

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 05:31:35 AM
 #18

Currently running 1 5870 in my computer, plan to slap in 2 more and upgrading psu instead of building a rig until I decide if I would like to build another dedicated rig. Was wondering if people have done it and ran stable powering 3 5870's with 850 watt psu.

I have 3 x HD5870s and a 700W PSU, although it is a 80+ gold one. The power draw at the socket is 690 watts at full load, so the rig is actually using approx 630 Watts.
Uh, your PSU is 91% efficient at 90+% load? Nuh uh.

If you see 690 watts at the wall it is much more likely that you have 600Watts to the system or less. I still haven't had time to take my rigs down and swap my meter over to a triple 5870 system, but my 2x 5870 + 1x 5850 system is eating 555W from the wall on a 80+ gold 650, so probably like 480W delivered. Make sure to downclock your memory Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!