Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2018, 06:13:40 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Load Balancing on an Antminer S3?  (Read 2391 times)
thedreamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1002

Go Big or Go Home.....


View Profile
March 04, 2015, 01:33:41 PM
 #1

What exactly is that?

I understand the other 2, but not this one.

Thanks

Go Big or Go Home.
1537899220
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537899220

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537899220
Reply with quote  #2

1537899220
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537899220
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537899220

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537899220
Reply with quote  #2

1537899220
Report to moderator
1537899220
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537899220

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537899220
Reply with quote  #2

1537899220
Report to moderator
1537899220
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537899220

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537899220
Reply with quote  #2

1537899220
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 04, 2015, 01:55:51 PM
 #2

I believe load balancing means, if you configure multiple pools it'll spend approximately equal amounts of time hashing on each pool.

aurel57
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 04, 2015, 02:41:46 PM
 #3

I think I would steer clear of this option as I believe you will loss hash.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2015, 03:59:00 PM
 #4

I believe load balancing means, if you configure multiple pools it'll spend approximately equal amounts of time hashing on each pool.

That's correct, there also some more exotic variants where you can set quotas between pools. Unless you have a really specific need to part mine an altcoin, stick with one pool and you'll have less problems.

thedreamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1002

Go Big or Go Home.....


View Profile
March 04, 2015, 06:10:55 PM
 #5

I believe load balancing means, if you configure multiple pools it'll spend approximately equal amounts of time hashing on each pool.

Wouldn't 'Balanced' be that?


Go Big or Go Home.
imagina
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2015, 09:55:25 PM
 #6

I believe load balancing means, if you configure multiple pools it'll spend approximately equal amounts of time hashing on each pool.

Wouldn't 'Balanced' be that?



Correct!

In balanced mode the miner divides the hash power between all the pools configured on the miners configuration page.

Load Balance mode, requires that you set quotas in each pool. ( does not work out of the box on the antminer s3! )
thedreamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1002

Go Big or Go Home.....


View Profile
March 04, 2015, 10:20:21 PM
 #7

I believe load balancing means, if you configure multiple pools it'll spend approximately equal amounts of time hashing on each pool.

Wouldn't 'Balanced' be that?



Correct!

In balanced mode the miner divides the hash power between all the pools configured on the miners configuration page.

Load Balance mode, requires that you set quotas in each pool. ( does not work out of the box on the antminer s3! )

Ahh... Thank You..

I wish there was a way to automatically have it jump to another pool if one is stuck in a long rutt .. (Like slush was over 24hours again. Ugh.

Thanks

Go Big or Go Home.
frennan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 22, 2016, 10:24:21 PM
 #8

I think I would steer clear of this option as I believe you will loss hash.


Does anyone know if this is verified at all? I cant seem to be able to pinpoint this.

Thanks in advance!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!