Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 05:22:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New computer running Nvidia GPU's that can mine faster than our ATI rigs.  (Read 2570 times)
RchGrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:09:54 PM
 #1

From Engadget...



"Sure, IBM's ten petaflop supercomputer may sound impressive, but Cray can do you five better -- the outfit just announced the Cray XK6, an upgradable, hybrid supercomputing system capable of more than 50 petaflops of computational muscle. Powered by Cray's Gemini interconnect, AMD Opteron 6200 processors, and NVIDIA Tesla 20-Series GPUs, the XK6 system blends x86 and GPU environments with the firm's own flavor of Linux. The folks at Cray won't resort to bragging, however -- they're humbly declaring the machine to be the first "general-purpose supercomputer based on GPU technology," and not, as they put it, a stunt to place high on any Top 500 lists."

http://www.engadget.com/2011/05/25/cray-xk6-supercomputer-smashes-petaflop-record-humbly-calls-its/

So...  exactly how many Gigahashes does 50+ petaflops equate to anyway?

4C 6F 6E 67  4C 69 76 65  42 69 74 63 6F 69 6E
Qba'g lbh unir nalguvat orggre gb qb?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508260972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508260972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508260972
Reply with quote  #2

1508260972
Report to moderator
1508260972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508260972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508260972
Reply with quote  #2

1508260972
Report to moderator
1508260972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508260972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508260972
Reply with quote  #2

1508260972
Report to moderator
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:14:40 PM
 #2

So...  exactly how many Gigahashes does 50+ petaflops equate to anyway?
A bit more than the current hashrate of Bitcoin combined (~48 Petaflops according to http://bitcoinwatch.com/)

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
PRCman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:18:22 PM
 #3

From Engadget...



"Sure, IBM's ten petaflop supercomputer may sound impressive, but Cray can do you five better -- the outfit just announced the Cray XK6, an upgradable, hybrid supercomputing system capable of more than 50 petaflops of computational muscle. Powered by Cray's Gemini interconnect, AMD Opteron 6200 processors, and NVIDIA Tesla 20-Series GPUs, the XK6 system blends x86 and GPU environments with the firm's own flavor of Linux. The folks at Cray won't resort to bragging, however -- they're humbly declaring the machine to be the first "general-purpose supercomputer based on GPU technology," and not, as they put it, a stunt to place high on any Top 500 lists."

http://www.engadget.com/2011/05/25/cray-xk6-supercomputer-smashes-petaflop-record-humbly-calls-its/

So...  exactly how many Gigahashes does 50+ petaflops equate to anyway?

I am new to bitcoin, but such as I know, the flops and hashes are totally different.
flops are float computing unit while hashes are integer computing unit

16TaG8kMPMdsF1ABj2p2dbQX3WK4yG2bG3
carbonc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:21:01 PM
 #4

I'll take 2 please  Grin
Isepick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:29:19 PM
 #5

And if you don't think the US Gov't can't afford 2 of these and then fire em up and pwn the network at will...
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:29:50 PM
 #6

I am new to bitcoin, but such as I know, the flops and hashes are totally different.
flops are float computing unit while hashes are integer computing unit

Correct. And there is no correct way to make a meaningful conversion equation between FLOPS and MIPS.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
RchGrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:33:39 PM
 #7

I am new to bitcoin, but such as I know, the flops and hashes are totally different.
flops are float computing unit while hashes are integer computing unit

Correct. And there is no correct way to make a meaningful conversion equation between FLOPS and MIPS.

Will. didnt he say flops and hashes?

Doesn't flops indicate how quickly math can be done.. and a hash is a cryptographic function using math?

Or do hashes better coorelate to MIPS..


Someone should e-mail cray and ask how many SHA256 operations it can perform per second, lol.

4C 6F 6E 67  4C 69 76 65  42 69 74 63 6F 69 6E
Qba'g lbh unir nalguvat orggre gb qb?
w128
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:39:15 PM
 #8

I am new to bitcoin, but such as I know, the flops and hashes are totally different.
flops are float computing unit while hashes are integer computing unit

Correct. And there is no correct way to make a meaningful conversion equation between FLOPS and MIPS.

Will. didnt he say flops and hashes?

Doesn't flops indicate how quickly math can be done.. and a hash is a cryptographic function using math?

Or do hashes better coorelate to MIPS..

Someone should e-mail cray and ask how many SHA256 operations it can perform per second, lol.

Different kinds of math, floating point versus integer. There's no direct correlation between ability to perform one or the other.
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:42:04 PM
 #9

Science = FLOPS
Hashing = MIPS

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
RchGrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:45:01 PM
 #10

I am new to bitcoin, but such as I know, the flops and hashes are totally different.
flops are float computing unit while hashes are integer computing unit

Correct. And there is no correct way to make a meaningful conversion equation between FLOPS and MIPS.

Will. didnt he say flops and hashes?

Doesn't flops indicate how quickly math can be done.. and a hash is a cryptographic function using math?

Or do hashes better coorelate to MIPS..

Someone should e-mail cray and ask how many SHA256 operations it can perform per second, lol.

Different kinds of math, floating point versus integer. There's no direct correlation between ability to perform one or the other.

I'm curious..

Why would bitcoinwatch use TeraFLOPS as an alternate unit of measure to indicate the network hashrate of the bitcoin network if it doesn't even correlate correctly?

Network Hashrate   TeraFLOP/s   48249

Kinda silly to do such a thing... if the math doesn't even work.

4C 6F 6E 67  4C 69 76 65  42 69 74 63 6F 69 6E
Qba'g lbh unir nalguvat orggre gb qb?
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2011, 02:19:03 PM
 #11

Tesla cards are good for double point precision calculations which is good for science simulations where accuracy is paramount. Bitcoin mining relies on raw mathing power where accuracy isn't as important as speed. Yes, I just said mathing. Tongue

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!