Bitcoin Forum
June 29, 2017, 04:17:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help with Bitcoin through a proxy server that requires authentication  (Read 4634 times)
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:18:13 PM
 #1

Hello all, I am trying to get my Bitcoin client to work at the office.  OF course the port BitCoin uses is blocked, but I have a proxy on my co-located server that uses authentication I would like to connect Bitcoin through.

I tried starting bitcoin with the following run command:

"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe" -proxy=proxyuser:proxypass@proxyaddy.net:23

but it returns the error "invalid proxy-ip" and doesnt launch.  Is it possible to run bitcoin or bitcoind through this proxy?
1498709869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498709869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498709869
Reply with quote  #2

1498709869
Report to moderator
1498709869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498709869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498709869
Reply with quote  #2

1498709869
Report to moderator
Join the Crowdfunding Revolution ►► FundYourselfNow.com ◄◄ Crowdsale with
attractive rewards
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
xlcus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:26:31 PM
 #2

Can't help with the proxy bit I'm afraid, but have you thought about using ssh and tunnelling bitcoin through that as an alternative solution?

CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:44:22 PM
 #3

I havent thought of that but it is a good idea.  Im not sure how I would go about doing from this windows machine though Sad
Binford 6100
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


PGP OTC WOT: EB7FCE3D


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 08:50:16 PM
 #4

if you have an ssh account somewhere, you can use putty as ssh windows client and setup the tunneling there.

You can't build a reputation on what you are going to do.
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:23:29 PM
 #5

"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe" -proxy=proxyuser:proxypass@proxyip:23

try that maybe?

              ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
          ▄▄███▀▀▀     ▀▀▀███▄▄
       ▄███▀▀ ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄ ▀▀███▄
     ▄██▀ ▄▄███████▀▀▀███████▄▄ ▀██▄
    ██▀ ▄█████▀▀         ▀▀████▀  ▀██
   ██▀ ████▀                 ▀  ▄  ▀██
  ██▀ ███▀         ▐█▌         ▀██▄ ▀██
 ██▀ ███      ▄▄   ▐█▌   ▄▄      ██▄ ▀██
 ██ ███▀      ▀██▄▄███▄▄██▀       ██  ██
██▌ ███▄▄▄▄▄    ▀██▀ ▀██▀         ▐█▌ ▐██
██▌ ███▀▀▀▀▀    ▄██▄ ▄██▄         ▐█▌ ▐██
 ██ ███▄      ▄██▀▀███▀▀██▄       ██  ██
 ██▄ ███      ▀▀   ▐█▌   ▀▀      ██▀ ▄██
  ██▄ ███▄         ▐█▌         ▄██▀ ▄██
   ██▄ ████▄                 ▄  ▀  ▄██
    ██▄ ▀█████▄▄         ▄▄████▄  ▄██
     ▀██▄ ▀▀███████▄▄▄███████▀▀ ▄██▀
       ▀███▄▄ ▀▀▀███████▀▀▀ ▄▄███▀
          ▀▀███▄▄▄     ▄▄▄███▀▀
              ▀▀▀███████▀▀▀






OROCRYPT
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███

███

███


         ███
        █████
       ███████
      █████████
     ███████████
    █████████████
   ███████████████
  █████████████████
 ███████████████████
 ▀▀███████████████▀▀
█▄▄  ▀▀███████▀▀  ▄▄█
▀████▄▄  ▀▀▀  ▄▄████▀
  ▀██████▄▄▄██████▀
    ▀███████████▀
      ▀███████▀
        ▀███▀
          ▀
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███

███

███
Complies with all Panamanian regulations
Inspected by Société Générale de Surveillance SA
Vaults in Switzerland, Liechtenstein and Cayman Islands
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

███

███

███
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!