Bitcoin Forum
August 18, 2017, 08:00:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help with Bitcoin through a proxy server that requires authentication  (Read 4656 times)
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:18:13 PM
 #1

Hello all, I am trying to get my Bitcoin client to work at the office.  OF course the port BitCoin uses is blocked, but I have a proxy on my co-located server that uses authentication I would like to connect Bitcoin through.

I tried starting bitcoin with the following run command:

"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe" -proxy=proxyuser:proxypass@proxyaddy.net:23

but it returns the error "invalid proxy-ip" and doesnt launch.  Is it possible to run bitcoin or bitcoind through this proxy?
1503086447
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503086447

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503086447
Reply with quote  #2

1503086447
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503086447
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503086447

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503086447
Reply with quote  #2

1503086447
Report to moderator
1503086447
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503086447

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503086447
Reply with quote  #2

1503086447
Report to moderator
xlcus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:26:31 PM
 #2

Can't help with the proxy bit I'm afraid, but have you thought about using ssh and tunnelling bitcoin through that as an alternative solution?

CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:44:22 PM
 #3

I havent thought of that but it is a good idea.  Im not sure how I would go about doing from this windows machine though Sad
Binford 6100
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


PGP OTC WOT: EB7FCE3D


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 08:50:16 PM
 #4

if you have an ssh account somewhere, you can use putty as ssh windows client and setup the tunneling there.

You can't build a reputation on what you are going to do.
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:23:29 PM
 #5

"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe" -proxy=proxyuser:proxypass@proxyip:23

try that maybe?

KICKICO██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
|██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!