Bitcoin Forum
September 19, 2021, 04:44:38 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help with Bitcoin through a proxy server that requires authentication  (Read 4856 times)
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:18:13 PM
 #1

Hello all, I am trying to get my Bitcoin client to work at the office.  OF course the port BitCoin uses is blocked, but I have a proxy on my co-located server that uses authentication I would like to connect Bitcoin through.

I tried starting bitcoin with the following run command:

"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe" -proxy=proxyuser:proxypass@proxyaddy.net:23

but it returns the error "invalid proxy-ip" and doesnt launch.  Is it possible to run bitcoin or bitcoind through this proxy?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1632069878
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632069878

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632069878
Reply with quote  #2

1632069878
Report to moderator
1632069878
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632069878

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632069878
Reply with quote  #2

1632069878
Report to moderator
xlcus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1009


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:26:31 PM
 #2

Can't help with the proxy bit I'm afraid, but have you thought about using ssh and tunnelling bitcoin through that as an alternative solution?
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:44:22 PM
 #3

I havent thought of that but it is a good idea.  Im not sure how I would go about doing from this windows machine though Sad
Binford 6100
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500


PGP OTC WOT: EB7FCE3D


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 08:50:16 PM
 #4

if you have an ssh account somewhere, you can use putty as ssh windows client and setup the tunneling there.

You can't build a reputation on what you are going to do.
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 09:23:29 PM
 #5

"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe" -proxy=proxyuser:proxypass@proxyip:23

try that maybe?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!