Bitcoin Forum
September 19, 2017, 05:19:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: New Miner... possible functionality  (Read 17597 times)
johncarl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 04:43:49 PM
 #1

Ive been working on a miner and I have some questions around what people would like to see.

Would multiple cards working in tandem be attractive?  As in, multiple cards working on the same work request.  I am not sure if this would prove to be a faster way to mine, but it is an alternative to running separate miners on separate work requests per gpu.  In addition to this, I have the option of running 1 miner to handle multiple gpus in parallel.

I'm also looking to get some beta testers involved in my miner.  I'm not quite ready for a beta yet, but please ping me if you're interested.

Are there any features that are lacking in the current offering of mining software?

If you're feeling generous: 14paaTRH5FXUYTp9QNG3i1Rq5K8zck8Bns
1505841571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1505841571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1505841571
Reply with quote  #2

1505841571
Report to moderator
"You Asked For Change, We Gave You Coins" -- casascius
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1505841571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1505841571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1505841571
Reply with quote  #2

1505841571
Report to moderator
1505841571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1505841571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1505841571
Reply with quote  #2

1505841571
Report to moderator
1505841571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1505841571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1505841571
Reply with quote  #2

1505841571
Report to moderator
Zagitta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 01:02:11 AM
 #2

I think a GUI would go a long way with a lot of windows people Smiley

I don't think making all cards work in tandem is a very good idea because it probably only would result in more trouble than it's worth, much like crossfire/sli did in the beginning when both cards were working on the same frame... It's quite a different senario yes but i still doubt it would be faster :3
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 01:08:42 AM
 #3

What are you writing in? What platform are you targeting?
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 01:35:46 AM
 #4

Realistically, the only thing that really matters is speed. Personally, I'd love to see a good fast miner written in C/C++ but that's just because I could hack on it. Python makes my brain cramp.
johncarl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 08:57:28 PM
 #5

I think a GUI would go a long way with a lot of windows people Smiley

I don't think making all cards work in tandem is a very good idea because it probably only would result in more trouble than it's worth, much like crossfire/sli did in the beginning when both cards were working on the same frame... It's quite a different senario yes but i still doubt it would be faster :3

Agreed, a GUI would be nice.. I wonder if I could throw one on.  I know that there is a python based miner with a GUI out there.. haven't tried it though.

I wonder if I could handle the data differently than a crossfire/sli would... certainly at a higher level and simply divide the work chunks (what a gpu mines at a time) between the cards.  Potentially the overhead would be much less than fully integrating the cards together.  Unfortunately I don't have multiple GPUs, so im a little handycap writing this sort of code.  I think I may try it, as an option, but I think the default will simply give each card their own work.

What are you writing in? What platform are you targeting?

I'm writing a Java based miner.  Target platforms are Linux and Windows... Ive heard Mac/OSX doesn't support opencl very well, but I guess it's a target as well.  I use basically the same opencl kernel that poclbm, phoenix and Diablo use.

Realistically, the only thing that really matters is speed. Personally, I'd love to see a good fast miner written in C/C++ but that's just because I could hack on it. Python makes my brain cramp.

Python makes my brain hurt too ;-)

Glad to see some responses to my post.. thought no one was interested ;-)  I'm planning on posting my code on github.. you guys interested in beta testing?

If you're feeling generous: 14paaTRH5FXUYTp9QNG3i1Rq5K8zck8Bns
KnuttyD
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 08:59:52 PM
 #6

I think a GUI would go a long way with a lot of windows people Smiley

I don't think making all cards work in tandem is a very good idea because it probably only would result in more trouble than it's worth, much like crossfire/sli did in the beginning when both cards were working on the same frame... It's quite a different senario yes but i still doubt it would be faster :3

Agreed, a GUI would be nice.. I wonder if I could throw one on.  I know that there is a python based miner with a GUI out there.. haven't tried it though.

I wonder if I could handle the data differently than a crossfire/sli would... certainly at a higher level and simply divide the work chunks (what a gpu mines at a time) between the cards.  Potentially the overhead would be much less than fully integrating the cards together.  Unfortunately I don't have multiple GPUs, so im a little handycap writing this sort of code.  I think I may try it, as an option, but I think the default will simply give each card their own work.

What are you writing in? What platform are you targeting?

I'm writing a Java based miner.  Target platforms are Linux and Windows... Ive heard Mac/OSX doesn't support opencl very well, but I guess it's a target as well.  I use basically the same opencl kernel that poclbm, phoenix and Diablo use.

Realistically, the only thing that really matters is speed. Personally, I'd love to see a good fast miner written in C/C++ but that's just because I could hack on it. Python makes my brain cramp.

Python makes my brain hurt too ;-)

Glad to see some responses to my post.. thought no one was interested ;-)  I'm planning on posting my code on github.. you guys interested in beta testing?

I would love to see a C/C++ miner published!
If you need a beta tester, I can be one.

If I helped you in some way, and you feel obligated to do so, you can tip me some coin!
1KVadqbELY3KuJhkm9rDtcwxZknhRsfPHY
timmmay
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 30, 2011, 12:35:54 PM
 #7

I'm keen to beta test.   I have some multi GPU rigs setup which I can test out for you.  If it means finder a more efficient way to mine then all the better for us all Smiley

dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 12:47:23 PM
 #8

And a -threads option to specify how many threads we want the GPU to use. It's for fine-tuning the hash output.
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 30, 2011, 10:31:04 PM
 #9

Be sure, that you put anough attention to network code. Miner shouldnt loss data sended to pool.
Miner shouldnt overload pooll with requests, if it did not get answer immediatly.

▛ [ CENTRA ] Multi-Blockchain Worldwide Debit Card & Insured Wallet
▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▞▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚▬▬▬▚
▙     FacebookSlackTwitterGithubMediumANN Thread     ▟
fasti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 10:37:33 PM
 #10

Combining all GPU's to work like 1 big GPU would give advantage for quick rounds for sure, if there is no performance hit for combining them.

1QCcAR3e3wdxr7CcJ8ND1NmWuvLttCJScH
johncarl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:15:42 AM
 #11

Quick update:

Just about ready for this beta with some good results on my end.  I will probably be contacting people that responded in the coming days to set up some trials.

Here are the features I have included so far:

gpu and cpu mining
multiple gpu support
long poll
multiple theads per gpu
various timeout parameters: getwork timeout, error timeout
tandem mining.

There is also no perceived performance difference when mining in tandem vs mining in parallel... at least with my 1 gpu and multiple cpu miners

Ive also put some work into unit / integration testing and archetecting the application, which I think has some merit.

All that being said, I would say my mining speed is comparable with all the other top miners.

Also, I have not focused on some of the more gpu / kernel specific compilation parameters (LOOPS, BFI_INT, etc), but im sure those will be easy to add.

Again, if you're interested in beta testing, contact me.

If you're feeling generous: 14paaTRH5FXUYTp9QNG3i1Rq5K8zck8Bns
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 03:17:12 AM
 #12

You may also include this.
https://deepbit.net/failover.php

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
johncarl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:20:14 AM
 #13

You may also include this.
https://deepbit.net/failover.php

That should be pretty easy to add... I'll get on that immediately.  Is this a new feature for deepbit and do the other pools implement this protocol?

If you're feeling generous: 14paaTRH5FXUYTp9QNG3i1Rq5K8zck8Bns
licutis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:18:25 PM
 #14

Have you looked into adding MMP support? http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=5210.0

I am also interested in getting in on the beta for this. Have many boxes for the testing.
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 01:35:50 PM
 #15

You may also include this.
https://deepbit.net/failover.php
That should be pretty easy to add... I'll get on that immediately.  Is this a new feature for deepbit and do the other pools implement this protocol?
Currently it's a new feature, but other pools may follow too just like it happened with Long Polling.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
johncarl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 02:53:12 PM
 #16

Maybe a possibility to specify a fallback pool, in case the primary pool goes down.

Thats not a bad idea too and may go hand in hand with Tycho's suggestion.  I'll see about adding that too.

If you're feeling generous: 14paaTRH5FXUYTp9QNG3i1Rq5K8zck8Bns
Zagitta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:13:30 PM
 #17

You can sign me up for beta  Grin got a 4850X2 (dual gpu card) im willing to throw at it Smiley

Also i have another suggestion: Add different logging capabilities like logging the mhash/s every x second, temperatur and fan speed logging would be nice too but it might be a hassle if you want to support Nvidia and AMD...

If you follow up on the GUI request it might be nice to add graphs for the logs that opens in a new windo aswell but the primary idea was to log them to a txt file so they could be read by a seperate program if need be
johncarl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:39:59 PM
 #18

You can sign me up for beta  Grin got a 4850X2 (dual gpu card) im willing to throw at it Smiley

Also i have another suggestion: Add different logging capabilities like logging the mhash/s every x second, temperatur and fan speed logging would be nice too but it might be a hassle if you want to support Nvidia and AMD...

If you follow up on the GUI request it might be nice to add graphs for the logs that opens in a new windo aswell but the primary idea was to log them to a txt file so they could be read by a seperate program if need be

Im pretty sure temperature and fan output would be very hard to make portable across gpu / os.  I think we're going to have to use a separate monitor for those.

Thanks for the input, ill add you to the beta.

If you're feeling generous: 14paaTRH5FXUYTp9QNG3i1Rq5K8zck8Bns
johncarl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:24:25 PM
 #19

Just read this post:

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=11723.0

I will be providing my code along with the beta, in case anyone would like to inspect for shenanigans :-).  This is one reason I gravitate towards open source.

If you're feeling generous: 14paaTRH5FXUYTp9QNG3i1Rq5K8zck8Bns
Zagitta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 10:29:22 PM
 #20

Just read this post:

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=11723.0

I will be providing my code along with the beta, in case anyone would like to inspect for shenanigans :-).  This is one reason I gravitate towards open source.

Thumbs up for your effort in proving your innocense! And for not having me waste my time on decompiling more shit Tongue
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!