johncarl (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
|
|
May 28, 2011, 04:43:49 PM |
|
Ive been working on a miner and I have some questions around what people would like to see.
Would multiple cards working in tandem be attractive? As in, multiple cards working on the same work request. I am not sure if this would prove to be a faster way to mine, but it is an alternative to running separate miners on separate work requests per gpu. In addition to this, I have the option of running 1 miner to handle multiple gpus in parallel.
I'm also looking to get some beta testers involved in my miner. I'm not quite ready for a beta yet, but please ping me if you're interested.
Are there any features that are lacking in the current offering of mining software?
|
|
|
|
Zagitta
Full Member
Offline
Activity: 302
Merit: 100
Presale is live!
|
|
May 29, 2011, 01:02:11 AM |
|
I think a GUI would go a long way with a lot of windows people I don't think making all cards work in tandem is a very good idea because it probably only would result in more trouble than it's worth, much like crossfire/sli did in the beginning when both cards were working on the same frame... It's quite a different senario yes but i still doubt it would be faster :3
|
|
|
|
trentzb
|
|
May 29, 2011, 01:08:42 AM |
|
What are you writing in? What platform are you targeting?
|
|
|
|
martok
|
|
May 29, 2011, 01:35:46 AM |
|
Realistically, the only thing that really matters is speed. Personally, I'd love to see a good fast miner written in C/C++ but that's just because I could hack on it. Python makes my brain cramp.
|
|
|
|
johncarl (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
|
|
May 29, 2011, 08:57:28 PM |
|
I think a GUI would go a long way with a lot of windows people I don't think making all cards work in tandem is a very good idea because it probably only would result in more trouble than it's worth, much like crossfire/sli did in the beginning when both cards were working on the same frame... It's quite a different senario yes but i still doubt it would be faster :3 Agreed, a GUI would be nice.. I wonder if I could throw one on. I know that there is a python based miner with a GUI out there.. haven't tried it though. I wonder if I could handle the data differently than a crossfire/sli would... certainly at a higher level and simply divide the work chunks (what a gpu mines at a time) between the cards. Potentially the overhead would be much less than fully integrating the cards together. Unfortunately I don't have multiple GPUs, so im a little handycap writing this sort of code. I think I may try it, as an option, but I think the default will simply give each card their own work. What are you writing in? What platform are you targeting?
I'm writing a Java based miner. Target platforms are Linux and Windows... Ive heard Mac/OSX doesn't support opencl very well, but I guess it's a target as well. I use basically the same opencl kernel that poclbm, phoenix and Diablo use. Realistically, the only thing that really matters is speed. Personally, I'd love to see a good fast miner written in C/C++ but that's just because I could hack on it. Python makes my brain cramp.
Python makes my brain hurt too ;-) Glad to see some responses to my post.. thought no one was interested ;-) I'm planning on posting my code on github.. you guys interested in beta testing?
|
|
|
|
KnuttyD
Member
Offline
Activity: 109
Merit: 11
|
|
May 29, 2011, 08:59:52 PM |
|
I think a GUI would go a long way with a lot of windows people I don't think making all cards work in tandem is a very good idea because it probably only would result in more trouble than it's worth, much like crossfire/sli did in the beginning when both cards were working on the same frame... It's quite a different senario yes but i still doubt it would be faster :3 Agreed, a GUI would be nice.. I wonder if I could throw one on. I know that there is a python based miner with a GUI out there.. haven't tried it though. I wonder if I could handle the data differently than a crossfire/sli would... certainly at a higher level and simply divide the work chunks (what a gpu mines at a time) between the cards. Potentially the overhead would be much less than fully integrating the cards together. Unfortunately I don't have multiple GPUs, so im a little handycap writing this sort of code. I think I may try it, as an option, but I think the default will simply give each card their own work. What are you writing in? What platform are you targeting?
I'm writing a Java based miner. Target platforms are Linux and Windows... Ive heard Mac/OSX doesn't support opencl very well, but I guess it's a target as well. I use basically the same opencl kernel that poclbm, phoenix and Diablo use. Realistically, the only thing that really matters is speed. Personally, I'd love to see a good fast miner written in C/C++ but that's just because I could hack on it. Python makes my brain cramp.
Python makes my brain hurt too ;-) Glad to see some responses to my post.. thought no one was interested ;-) I'm planning on posting my code on github.. you guys interested in beta testing? I would love to see a C/C++ miner published! If you need a beta tester, I can be one.
|
If I helped you in some way, and you feel obligated to do so, you can tip me some coin! 1KVadqbELY3KuJhkm9rDtcwxZknhRsfPHY
|
|
|
timmmay
Member
Offline
Activity: 84
Merit: 10
|
|
May 30, 2011, 12:35:54 PM |
|
I'm keen to beta test. I have some multi GPU rigs setup which I can test out for you. If it means finder a more efficient way to mine then all the better for us all
|
|
|
|
dikidera
|
|
May 30, 2011, 12:47:23 PM |
|
And a -threads option to specify how many threads we want the GPU to use. It's for fine-tuning the hash output.
|
|
|
|
Dobrodav
|
|
May 30, 2011, 10:31:04 PM |
|
Be sure, that you put anough attention to network code. Miner shouldnt loss data sended to pool. Miner shouldnt overload pooll with requests, if it did not get answer immediatly.
|
|
|
|
fasti
Member
Offline
Activity: 92
Merit: 10
|
|
May 30, 2011, 10:37:33 PM |
|
Combining all GPU's to work like 1 big GPU would give advantage for quick rounds for sure, if there is no performance hit for combining them.
|
1QCcAR3e3wdxr7CcJ8ND1NmWuvLttCJScH
|
|
|
johncarl (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
|
|
June 03, 2011, 03:15:42 AM |
|
Quick update:
Just about ready for this beta with some good results on my end. I will probably be contacting people that responded in the coming days to set up some trials.
Here are the features I have included so far:
gpu and cpu mining multiple gpu support long poll multiple theads per gpu various timeout parameters: getwork timeout, error timeout tandem mining.
There is also no perceived performance difference when mining in tandem vs mining in parallel... at least with my 1 gpu and multiple cpu miners
Ive also put some work into unit / integration testing and archetecting the application, which I think has some merit.
All that being said, I would say my mining speed is comparable with all the other top miners.
Also, I have not focused on some of the more gpu / kernel specific compilation parameters (LOOPS, BFI_INT, etc), but im sure those will be easy to add.
Again, if you're interested in beta testing, contact me.
|
|
|
|
[Tycho]
|
|
June 03, 2011, 03:17:12 AM |
|
|
Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks ! ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures ( NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
|
|
|
johncarl (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
|
|
June 03, 2011, 03:20:14 AM Last edit: June 03, 2011, 03:34:28 AM by johncarl |
|
That should be pretty easy to add... I'll get on that immediately. Is this a new feature for deepbit and do the other pools implement this protocol?
|
|
|
|
licutis
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 38
Merit: 0
|
|
June 03, 2011, 01:18:25 PM |
|
Have you looked into adding MMP support? http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=5210.0
I am also interested in getting in on the beta for this. Have many boxes for the testing.
|
|
|
|
[Tycho]
|
|
June 03, 2011, 01:35:50 PM |
|
That should be pretty easy to add... I'll get on that immediately. Is this a new feature for deepbit and do the other pools implement this protocol? Currently it's a new feature, but other pools may follow too just like it happened with Long Polling.
|
Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks ! ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures ( NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
|
|
|
johncarl (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
|
|
June 03, 2011, 02:53:12 PM |
|
Maybe a possibility to specify a fallback pool, in case the primary pool goes down.
Thats not a bad idea too and may go hand in hand with Tycho's suggestion. I'll see about adding that too.
|
|
|
|
Zagitta
Full Member
Offline
Activity: 302
Merit: 100
Presale is live!
|
|
June 03, 2011, 03:13:30 PM |
|
You can sign me up for beta got a 4850X2 (dual gpu card) im willing to throw at it Also i have another suggestion: Add different logging capabilities like logging the mhash/s every x second, temperatur and fan speed logging would be nice too but it might be a hassle if you want to support Nvidia and AMD... If you follow up on the GUI request it might be nice to add graphs for the logs that opens in a new windo aswell but the primary idea was to log them to a txt file so they could be read by a seperate program if need be
|
|
|
|
johncarl (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
|
|
June 03, 2011, 03:39:59 PM |
|
You can sign me up for beta got a 4850X2 (dual gpu card) im willing to throw at it Also i have another suggestion: Add different logging capabilities like logging the mhash/s every x second, temperatur and fan speed logging would be nice too but it might be a hassle if you want to support Nvidia and AMD... If you follow up on the GUI request it might be nice to add graphs for the logs that opens in a new windo aswell but the primary idea was to log them to a txt file so they could be read by a seperate program if need be Im pretty sure temperature and fan output would be very hard to make portable across gpu / os. I think we're going to have to use a separate monitor for those. Thanks for the input, ill add you to the beta.
|
|
|
|
johncarl (OP)
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
|
|
June 04, 2011, 10:24:25 PM |
|
Just read this post: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=11723.0I will be providing my code along with the beta, in case anyone would like to inspect for shenanigans :-). This is one reason I gravitate towards open source.
|
|
|
|
Zagitta
Full Member
Offline
Activity: 302
Merit: 100
Presale is live!
|
|
June 04, 2011, 10:29:22 PM |
|
Thumbs up for your effort in proving your innocense! And for not having me waste my time on decompiling more shit
|
|
|
|
|