Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:04:20 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: My mining rig (2x) XFX HD 5830 Video  (Read 4148 times)
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 08:52:49 PM
 #1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aR2fGkdhDyY

2nd rig on its way. What do you guys think?

1481213060
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213060

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213060
Reply with quote  #2

1481213060
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:01:04 PM
 #2

I made the first post on the youtube page  Grin

Nice setup, but it has too many bells and whistles for a dedicated miner.  If you have the cash for this and plan to re-purpose the hardware when the bitcoin fad wears off, then it's perfect Wink

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:04:17 PM
 #3

Thanks. Yeah I figured, went head first in on this one without thinking. Cost me $700 but oh well. I can always use it for something else.

What case/specs are you running on your machine?

SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:32:00 PM
 #4

Nice. I have 2 (kind of, I'm using 1) rigs right now and both are running naked since 5970 is too long for any cheap casing and the heat.... oh the heat haha.

2x5970, 2x5850, 1x4850 (old card lolx). Can I know what MOBO are u using? I've been looking for a good one for mining since forever.

innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:35:55 PM
 #5

Nice. I have 2 (kind of, I'm using 1) rigs right now and both are running naked since 5970 is too long for any cheap casing and the heat.... oh the heat haha.

2x5970, 2x5850, 1x4850 (old card lolx). Can I know what MOBO are u using? I've been looking for a good one for mining since forever.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6089064&CatId=5538

MSI always builds superior products, never failed me.
I was hoping for more PCI-E slots, but I dont think I want to deal with the heat-factor.

My room is already about 100 degrees sometimes when I wakeup in the mornings (close my door so people dont bitch about the noise, and leave my balconly door open for a breeze).
Pros/cons, eh!

SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:37:06 PM
 #6

Nvm. I wasn't paying attention when you mention the MOBO haha. Checking it out now Smiley Anyway I think the extra Fan isn't neccessary is it? Where I'm at it's 25 C~33 C all year round I just turn my GPU fan to 100%. Or is that bad? I've never really done any Overclocking until now any advice would be good Smiley
My GPUs are running at 70 C average. The 5970 goes 90 C once on Windows (CPU@100% problem) so I switch to Linux and it's doing around 70~75 C. Too high?

SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:41:01 PM
 #7

I should've gotten that MOBO instead, I went ahead and got http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6089169&CatId=5540 when my old PC died (it had 1 PCIe), it was close to the last difficulty jump and I didn't wanna lose any mining time. Sad

Ah well. Does this board have an on-board switch? Cuz the ASUS doesn't and it's been a bitch to turn it on naked. haha

innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:44:16 PM
 #8

Nvm. I wasn't paying attention when you mention the MOBO haha. Checking it out now Smiley Anyway I think the extra Fan isn't neccessary is it? Where I'm at it's 25 C~33 C all year round I just turn my GPU fan to 100%. Or is that bad? I've never really done any Overclocking until now any advice would be good Smiley
My GPUs are running at 70 C average. The 5970 goes 90 C once on Windows (CPU@100% problem) so I switch to Linux and it's doing around 70~75 C. Too high?

I think the GPU's are meant to handle up to 80, but whem you overlock your video cards, you NEED to make sure you have proper cooling.
It already voided my warranty on the cards. Without the fan, I run about 70-75 Celcius. (Its hot where I live). With the fan, Im at 65 on one card and 57 on the other.

If I up the GPU fans to 100%, makes too much noise, I hate annoying noises (Specially this fan on my GPU, ZZZZZZZZ) can't sleep lolz..

Some folks like to run 100% fan and keep about 50 celcius, but its just preference.
If you want longer-life for your video card, dont overclock, let it go steady.
If you want to make the most bang for your buck, overlclock slighty, but becareful, I hit 1000Mhz overclocked and blew a circuit fuse at my house. (too many electronics plugged into 1 outlet split into 12 (duh!? stupid me)

MSI afterburner helps, gets tricky but each video card has its own performance pros and cons. You just need to mess with the settings and see what works out best for you.

innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 09:46:36 PM
 #9

I should've gotten that MOBO instead, I went ahead and got http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6089169&CatId=5540 when my old PC died (it had 1 PCIe), it was close to the last difficulty jump and I didn't wanna lose any mining time. Sad

Ah well. Does this board have an on-board switch? Cuz the ASUS doesn't and it's been a bitch to turn it on naked. haha

To be honest with you, I dont think it does, however im not sure lol. Im not home right now to check Smiley

SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 10:06:01 PM
 #10

I bought a gigabyte GD70 for my dedicated rig. I'm still looking for PCIe extenders in my area though. Do let me know if that MSI has on board switches Smiley I might need to get one pretty soon since my friend is getting in to Bitcoin too

BitCointransfers
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
May 30, 2011, 10:25:22 PM
 #11

No need for another case,, stick all 4 cards in there....850W PS more than enough..
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:04:21 AM
 #12

No need for another case,, stick all 4 cards in there....850W PS more than enough..

Only if your mobo has enough slots and are far apart, or else how would you stick 4 cards if their next do eachother?

Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:05:12 AM
 #13

No need for another case,, stick all 4 cards in there....850W PS more than enough..

Only if your mobo has enough slots and are far apart, or else how would you stick 4 cards if their next do eachother?

PCI-E riser connectors

17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:11:06 AM
 #14

No need for another case,, stick all 4 cards in there....850W PS more than enough..

Only if your mobo has enough slots and are far apart, or else how would you stick 4 cards if their next do eachother?

PCI-E riser connectors

Oh nice, I've never messed with that before. How does that work?

Lets say you have 4 PCI express slots next to eachother, you plug 4 of these bad boys in and you can handle 4 video cards and essentially have them off the case?

Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:19:42 AM
 #15

Yep, that's pretty much it.
http://www.9mart.com/products/2-Lots-PCI%252dE-PCI%252dExpress-16x-Riser-Card-Extender-Cable-1U-2U.html

There's a great deal.
2 x16 riser cables for $9
Can't beat that.

17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:21:56 AM
 #16

Yep, that's pretty much it.
http://www.9mart.com/products/2-Lots-PCI%252dE-PCI%252dExpress-16x-Riser-Card-Extender-Cable-1U-2U.html

There's a great deal.
2 x16 riser cables for $9
Can't beat that.

That looks short though, what if I want the card 1 ft away from eachother (to keep heat levels @ a min)?

Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:25:43 AM
 #17

Yep, that's pretty much it.
http://www.9mart.com/products/2-Lots-PCI%252dE-PCI%252dExpress-16x-Riser-Card-Extender-Cable-1U-2U.html

There's a great deal.
2 x16 riser cables for $9
Can't beat that.

That looks short though, what if I want the card 1 ft away from eachother (to keep heat levels @ a min)?

There isn't any reason you can't chain them together.
Secondly, there's other external PCI-E cables online if you look around, some companies will even make them a custom length for you.

17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:26:57 AM
 #18

Yep, that's pretty much it.
http://www.9mart.com/products/2-Lots-PCI%252dE-PCI%252dExpress-16x-Riser-Card-Extender-Cable-1U-2U.html

There's a great deal.
2 x16 riser cables for $9
Can't beat that.

That looks short though, what if I want the card 1 ft away from eachother (to keep heat levels @ a min)?

There isn't any reason you can't chain them together.
Secondly, there's other external PCI-E cables online if you look around, some companies will even make them a custom length for you.

Thanks Smiley

SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:50:00 AM
 #19

No need for another case,, stick all 4 cards in there....850W PS more than enough..

850W is enough for 4x5850? How about 5? Since GD70 has 5 slots I'm assuming with an extender cable I'd be able to run 5... But I thought they take around 200 W ea. on standard OC?

innervisi0nn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Tutorials, guidelines, optimizations for all!


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 12:52:27 AM
 #20

No need for another case,, stick all 4 cards in there....850W PS more than enough..

850W is enough for 4x5850? How about 5? Since GD70 has 5 slots I'm assuming with an extender cable I'd be able to run 5... But I thought they take around 200 W ea. on standard OC?

I dont think 800w is sufficient. If your PSU is lets say 400w and your using 200w, your good, if your using 300w, your already pushsing it. PSU dont have great support, once you go close, your chance of burning out is way greater than anything. Keep a solid 200w difference, so go for 1000-1200w at this point.

I run 1000w for 2x5830's which leaves me with a HUGE gap, i could have done this with a 700w as well.

Most important thing, leave room for your PSU to breathe, dont just stack up Watts here and there.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!