Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 02:29:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Stratum mining protocol - ASIC ready  (Read 143517 times)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 23, 2014, 01:04:45 AM
 #641

I do find only old threads, that are not related to stratum mining, like this one: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=63273.0

All these calculations yield wrong result.

The closest one I came to was when using following formula: H = num_shares * pool_diff * 2^16 / time_in_sec

This is in case pool_diff = 32
Bad guess.

A 1 diff share has an expectation of occurring, on average, once every 2^32 hashes.

So it's 2^32 not 2^16 Tongue

So if you submit S shares at difficulty D over T period of seconds, your calculated hash rate would be:

S * D * 2^32 / T

Which I have called in other threads: Your "Paid GH/s" (if you also divide by 10^9)

Edit: FYI
S * D = DiffA

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
1511274560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511274560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511274560
Reply with quote  #2

1511274560
Report to moderator
1511274560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511274560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511274560
Reply with quote  #2

1511274560
Report to moderator
1511274560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511274560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511274560
Reply with quote  #2

1511274560
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511274560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511274560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511274560
Reply with quote  #2

1511274560
Report to moderator
1511274560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511274560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511274560
Reply with quote  #2

1511274560
Report to moderator
1511274560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511274560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511274560
Reply with quote  #2

1511274560
Report to moderator
djeZo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
February 23, 2014, 10:10:30 AM
 #642

I thought this would be the solution too, but I get extremely high value, 500.000.000, when in fact doing only <200kH/s. So this formula can't be correct (at least not for scrypt mining)

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2014, 10:14:07 AM
 #643

I thought this would be the solution too, but I get extremely high value, 500.000.000, when in fact doing only <200kH/s. So this formula can't be correct (at least not for scrypt mining)
Scrypt is nonsense and uses 65536 * the actual difficulty as a defacto standard because it started at too low a difficulty to begin with.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
djeZo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
February 23, 2014, 10:37:52 AM
 #644

I thought this would be the solution too, but I get extremely high value, 500.000.000, when in fact doing only <200kH/s. So this formula can't be correct (at least not for scrypt mining)
Scrypt is nonsense and uses 65536 * the actual difficulty as a defacto standard because it started at too low a difficulty to begin with.

So, my "guessed" formula is then correct?

Sannin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
February 24, 2014, 10:00:27 AM
 #645

Hi,

can somebody explain me what is the session in stratum?

Quote
{"error": null, "id": 1, "result": [["mining.notify", "ae6812eb4cd7735a302a8a9dd95cf71f"], "00000001", 4]}

Can I ignore this parameter? What is it? Can I set this parameter?

Thanks for reply

Analyzing stratum myself and it looks like this one isn't being used anywhere. Maybe reserved for later usage?

I analyzed cgminer code and I think that 'sessionid' is used only to reconnect. Am I right?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2014, 10:02:30 AM
 #646

Hi,

can somebody explain me what is the session in stratum?

Quote
{"error": null, "id": 1, "result": [["mining.notify", "ae6812eb4cd7735a302a8a9dd95cf71f"], "00000001", 4]}

Can I ignore this parameter? What is it? Can I set this parameter?

Thanks for reply

Analyzing stratum myself and it looks like this one isn't being used anywhere. Maybe reserved for later usage?

I analyzed cgminer code and I think that 'sessionid' is used only to reconnect. Am I right?
Correct. Whether the pool uses it or not is implementation dependent, but it is required to support reconnect.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Sannin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
February 24, 2014, 10:06:29 AM
 #647

Thanks Wink
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2014, 10:08:03 AM
 #648

Unfortunately very few pools currently support reconnect. We can't force them to implement a feature that only benefits miners Undecided

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
djeZo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
February 24, 2014, 11:50:11 AM
 #649

ckolivas, since you made cgminer, I am sure you will know to answer this question about stratum protocol; is it possible to turn stratum client into a pool, so that incoming stratum work is further divided into work for other clients. I am building a proxy that sits between pool and multiple instances of cgminer, so that the pool "thinks" it is in fact only one miner running. I know there is existing implementation that does stratum->getwork, but why should I go that heavy load path. I need to develop something light and fast, doing it in C and every cycle is important.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2014, 12:23:12 PM
 #650

ckolivas, since you made cgminer, I am sure you will know to answer this question about stratum protocol; is it possible to turn stratum client into a pool, so that incoming stratum work is further divided into work for other clients. I am building a proxy that sits between pool and multiple instances of cgminer, so that the pool "thinks" it is in fact only one miner running. I know there is existing implementation that does stratum->getwork, but why should I go that heavy load path. I need to develop something light and fast, doing it in C and every cycle is important.
Possible yes.  Someone has to implement it though, and I have no interest in turning cgminer into pool or proxy software at this stage with so much else to do.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
djeZo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
February 24, 2014, 12:45:06 PM
 #651

ckolivas, since you made cgminer, I am sure you will know to answer this question about stratum protocol; is it possible to turn stratum client into a pool, so that incoming stratum work is further divided into work for other clients. I am building a proxy that sits between pool and multiple instances of cgminer, so that the pool "thinks" it is in fact only one miner running. I know there is existing implementation that does stratum->getwork, but why should I go that heavy load path. I need to develop something light and fast, doing it in C and every cycle is important.
Possible yes.  Someone has to implement it though, and I have no interest in turning cgminer into pool or proxy software at this stage with so much else to do.

I will do it, I just need to know theory behind it. Formulas or pseudocode, whatever that can help me to understand what has to be done for it to work.

gh2k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 04:54:10 PM
 #652

Unfortunately very few pools currently support reconnect. We can't force them to implement a feature that only benefits miners Undecided

Where is the documentation on 'reconnect'? This sounds like it would be useful to me, but I can't find it on slush's page.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 08:39:01 PM
 #653

Unfortunately very few pools currently support reconnect. We can't force them to implement a feature that only benefits miners Undecided

Where is the documentation on 'reconnect'? This sounds like it would be useful to me, but I can't find it on slush's page.

My post here is as close to the official documentation as it gets:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=108533.msg1557099#msg1557099

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gh2k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 09:54:24 PM
 #654

Unfortunately very few pools currently support reconnect. We can't force them to implement a feature that only benefits miners Undecided

Where is the documentation on 'reconnect'? This sounds like it would be useful to me, but I can't find it on slush's page.

My post here is as close to the official documentation as it gets:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=108533.msg1557099#msg1557099

That's excellent. Thanks. Unfortunately, I was hoping to find a way to tell the miner to reconnect (other than just tearing down the connection) so that I could nefariously switch the extranonce for a different one. I misread the post.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 10:22:46 PM
 #655

Unfortunately very few pools currently support reconnect. We can't force them to implement a feature that only benefits miners Undecided

Where is the documentation on 'reconnect'? This sounds like it would be useful to me, but I can't find it on slush's page.

My post here is as close to the official documentation as it gets:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=108533.msg1557099#msg1557099

That's excellent. Thanks. Unfortunately, I was hoping to find a way to tell the miner to reconnect (other than just tearing down the connection) so that I could nefariously switch the extranonce for a different one. I misread the post.
Ah no, what you want then is client.reconnect . If you give the client a reconnect and just send it the same stratum url it will reconnect to the same url with a new connection.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gh2k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 10:58:18 PM
 #656

Ah no, what you want then is client.reconnect . If you give the client a reconnect and just send it the same stratum url it will reconnect to the same url with a new connection.

Thanks, that's the one I want!

It would be nice if this were documented somewhere. Maybe I'll have a crack at reading your source and making a wiki page about it, once I'm done with my current project.
djeZo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 12:10:50 AM
 #657

ckolivas, are you aware of cgminer bug (in ver 3.7.2) that causes cgminer to crash - it is related to stratum networking. When there are network issues, it can happen.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2014, 12:22:55 AM
 #658

ckolivas, are you aware of cgminer bug (in ver 3.7.2) that causes cgminer to crash - it is related to stratum networking. When there are network issues, it can happen.
I have no interest in bug reports for old versions.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
djeZo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 12:24:41 AM
 #659

ckolivas, are you aware of cgminer bug (in ver 3.7.2) that causes cgminer to crash - it is related to stratum networking. When there are network issues, it can happen.
I have no interest in bug reports for old versions.

I know, I am just asking if it was reported and fixed in later versions.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2014, 12:25:44 AM
 #660

ckolivas, are you aware of cgminer bug (in ver 3.7.2) that causes cgminer to crash - it is related to stratum networking. When there are network issues, it can happen.
I have no interest in bug reports for old versions.

I know, I am just asking if it was reported and fixed in later versions.
Check the changelogs, I recall a few stratum patches.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!