Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2017, 05:36:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Dummy Plugs/ Multiple GPUs  (Read 28515 times)
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 10:00:46 AM
 #41

how did you measure the 1%?

I guess I should have just stated the overall hash rate increase,

350 -> 356

300 -> 304

obviously the increase is because the gpu no longer has to render the desktop
I did a measurement on the influence of the dummy plugs on hashrate. Result: No significant influence (-0.7% with plugs removed).

Measurement: 3 5850 cards. Two miners on each card summed up. Two measurements before removal of plugs, two measurements after. Phoenix with flag -a 128 for measurement averaging. Waiting time between measurements ~2 min.

I am quite reliefed that with this result I do not have to look for a way to make the cards work without dummy plugs on win xp.


blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
1492925813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1492925813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1492925813
Reply with quote  #2

1492925813
Report to moderator
1492925813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1492925813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1492925813
Reply with quote  #2

1492925813
Report to moderator
1492925813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1492925813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1492925813
Reply with quote  #2

1492925813
Report to moderator
Visit and contribute to reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1492925813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1492925813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1492925813
Reply with quote  #2

1492925813
Report to moderator
1492925813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1492925813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1492925813
Reply with quote  #2

1492925813
Report to moderator
1492925813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1492925813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1492925813
Reply with quote  #2

1492925813
Report to moderator
Endeavour79
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 12:53:33 PM
 #42

--delete please--

NSW, Australia - Rigs, Mining, Pools - Local help needed? Send me a message!
Jazkal
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 319



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 04:09:50 AM
 #43

I'm running WinXP x64 and 2x 6970's

I have tried dummy plugs, but can't get the second card to go active.

This is what I tried:
http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html

Even tried this:
http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=11

No luck on either, any ideas on what else I can try?

EDIT:
Figured it out, you have to extend your desktop on the other card.
hinouchie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 07:38:36 PM
 #44

Here's what I did

I have 2 7970 and a onboard video card.

At first I was using one of my 7970 HDMI to mine/browse on my computer, but I did notice it effect my harsh rate a bit (jumpy at 620kh/s - 580kh/s ish when I load stuff). So I was thinking maybe I should use my onboard video card to display instead, but when I switch the hdmi cable to my onboard, system wasn't detecting the 2 7970.

So I found a way to mine with my 2 7970 without effecting my harshrate and continue to browse on the internet with stable harshrate and without using a dummy plugs either.

1 HDMI from onboard to monitor, 1 DVI to vga from 1 7970 to the same monitor.

Set onboard screen as main, and 7970 as extend. Done (You can't just use 1 montior or it won't detect the 7970.)

Harshrate is stable at 620kh/s even when I load 5 tabs on chrome.


I am not sure if my 7970 will harsh even higher if it didn't have to render the extended screen. Might switch the DVI cable to my other 7970 to find that out.

Update: (It does not effect the harshrate unless you have something on that screen.)


Tip~ Litecoin LPBJrLAg8Lg7NJSeiZeNvN2e8Lbkx9hgYm
Oldie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51



View Profile
April 29, 2013, 09:24:02 PM
 #45

You didn't notice this was a 2 year old thread, right?

Smiley
hinouchie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 09:25:02 PM
 #46

Well if I did I wouldn't post now right? Tongue

Tip~ Litecoin LPBJrLAg8Lg7NJSeiZeNvN2e8Lbkx9hgYm
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!