Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2019, 04:47:03 AM *
News: Help collect the most notable posts made over the last 10 years.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum sends amount specified in Fee field instead of Amount field  (Read 579 times)
realrover
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 23, 2015, 01:07:38 AM
 #1

Just got this problem today. Before that everything was fine.

If I specify 1 BTC in Amount and leave Fee filed as suggested (or change) and then send, everything looks like normal, but the amount sent to receiver is the one specified in the Fee field! Confirmation popup correctly asks about sending 1 BTC. Both Windows-based and Linux-based versions 2.4.4 behave the same. Any help?
Thanks.
1573966023
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573966023

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573966023
Reply with quote  #2

1573966023
Report to moderator
1573966023
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573966023

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573966023
Reply with quote  #2

1573966023
Report to moderator
1573966023
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573966023

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573966023
Reply with quote  #2

1573966023
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
ausbit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1019



View Profile
September 23, 2015, 01:21:14 AM
 #2

Can you post a before and after screen shot? Was the 1btc sent a fee?
realrover
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 23, 2015, 02:24:38 AM
 #3

Can you post a before and after screen shot? Was the 1btc sent a fee?
No, 1 BTC was intended to be sent to receiver but a fee was actually sent (0.000129 BTC). Here are the screenshots:

Step 1:



Step 2:



Step 3:



Result!



Isn't it amazing?
ausbit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1019



View Profile
September 23, 2015, 02:37:43 AM
 #4

That does look strange, I'm not very familiar with Electrum so unfortunately can't help you much.
If you search this forum you should be able to find a member associated with the Eletrum team, PM them and show them this, you may be able to claim a bug bounty if there is a problem.
Good luck and keep us updated. 
shorena
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1345


No I dont escrow anymore.


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2015, 07:25:20 AM
 #5

Simple.  You just send bitcoins to one of your own addresses, and got charged only for the transaction fees.
-snip-

That is my interpretation as well. Most wallets detect their own addresses and handle it very similar.
ausbit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1019



View Profile
September 23, 2015, 09:34:10 AM
 #6

Simple.  You just send bitcoins to one of your own addresses, and got charged only for the transaction fees.
-snip-

That is my interpretation as well. Most wallets detect their own addresses and handle it very similar.
I thought of this too but if it went to address in the same wallet wouldn't it show the 1btc as pending also?
Its hard to know only having these screen shots to view.

OP, how much did your ballance change?
shorena
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1345


No I dont escrow anymore.


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2015, 09:58:34 AM
 #7

Simple.  You just send bitcoins to one of your own addresses, and got charged only for the transaction fees.
-snip-

That is my interpretation as well. Most wallets detect their own addresses and handle it very similar.
I thought of this too but if it went to address in the same wallet wouldn't it show the 1btc as pending also?

No because it will end up in your wallet anyway, if it confirms or not does not matter the coins are still in your pocket.

Its hard to know only having these screen shots to view.

OP, how much did your ballance change?

From the screenshots (see balance on the bottom of the windows) 0.000 129 00 which matches the paid fee.
ausbit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1019



View Profile
September 23, 2015, 10:46:17 AM
 #8

Thanks for explaning that for me.
Seeing the 0.000129 as unconfirmed confused me a bit.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!