Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2018, 08:29:04 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: rumors of 3.5Th antminer S7 "lite"  (Read 8496 times)
carlosmnk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2015, 07:00:14 AM
 #161

i think they are rising the default frequency because is winter and because they are acceleratin the roi for this products; but maybe they changed the headsinks design for this batch...

Played with: USB RedFury - BlackArrows Prospero X1/X3 - Butterfly Monarch- Spondoolies SP20E - Avalon 6 - Antminer U3/S3/S3+/C1/S5/S7 Batches 3-7-8 - Sfards SF100 - Innosilicon A2 Terminator - Alcheminer 96/256 - KNC Titan - Etherum Rigs
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537604944
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537604944

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537604944
Reply with quote  #2

1537604944
Report to moderator
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2015, 07:18:42 AM
 #162

I have this feeling that we will never get to the bottom of the S7 variants. I have seen mention of at least 3 board revisions, but because it's a closed unit with the Boards covered in mini heatsinks we may not get any good pictures to see if the changes are cosmetic or just a BM1385 selection?

Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2015, 11:07:38 AM
 #163

Look like RichBC's guess did not come to be.


Tough game this guessing.  Smiley Then again who would have guessed that we would have 4 different Default Frequencies / TH/s and 2 different chip count S7 in such a short period of time?

Still they are running out of permutations, unless we start seeing different Default Frequency 135 Chip versions.  Smiley


Rich

Wow got a guess right.  Smiley Batch 8 is a 135 Chip Variant.

Quote
S7 Specifications:

1. Hash Rate: 4.73 TH/s ±5%

2. Power Consumption: 1293W + 10% (at the wall, with APW3, 93% efficiency, 25C ambient temp)

3. Power Efficiency: 0.25 J/GH + 10% (at the wall, with APW3, 93% efficiency, 25°C ambient temp)

4. Rated Voltage: 11.60 ~13.00V

5. Chip quantity per unit: 135x BM1385

6. Dimensions: 301mm(L)*123mm(W)*155mm(H)

7. Cooling: 2x 12038 fan

8. Operating Temperature: 0 °C to 40 °C

9. Network Connection: Ethernet

10. Default Frequency: 700M


Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
carlosmnk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2015, 12:59:58 PM
 #164

700M !!!!!!!!!!!! Shocked

Played with: USB RedFury - BlackArrows Prospero X1/X3 - Butterfly Monarch- Spondoolies SP20E - Avalon 6 - Antminer U3/S3/S3+/C1/S5/S7 Batches 3-7-8 - Sfards SF100 - Innosilicon A2 Terminator - Alcheminer 96/256 - KNC Titan - Etherum Rigs
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1011


View Profile
November 18, 2015, 05:35:16 PM
 #165

It would sure be interesting to know if the 135-chip miner is actually a de-populated 162-chip miner with "dummy jumpers" in place of the missing chips. I hope that somebody that gets a Batch #6 or Batch #8 opens it up enough to count.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 18, 2015, 05:51:18 PM
 #166

It would sure be interesting to know if the 135-chip miner is actually a de-populated 162-chip miner with "dummy jumpers" in place of the missing chips. I hope that somebody that gets a Batch #6 or Batch #8 opens it up enough to count.

The problem with this is now if you did that it will void your bitmain warranty... which kinda sucks.  You basically have to have permission from them to do anything at this point.

I agree it would be interesting to see some of the chip counts.  They keep jumping up and down it's hard to keep track.  I think the S7 will be remembered as the miner that never really kept one speed.  It is very odd for them to keep changing it each batch it seems at this point.  I do admit I like they went up and not down on last batch put up on hashing speed.
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 23, 2015, 08:30:03 PM
 #167

So following the publication of the picture of the Batch 8 Hash Board on the Bitnain Product page this is my current thinking.



As we knew they have removed 3 triples, 9 ASIC's, from the chain. However rather than that being it, which never completely added up because the resultant increase in the Core Voltage from 0.6V to 0.8V took the chips way off the data Sheet and would have ruined the efficiency. So they have removed the chips from the bottom of the chain and my best guess is that the have added a Buck converter to the board, in the vacated space.

We can see the large inductor & capacitors and I am assuming that the Buck Converter chip is on the other side, which they are choosing to keep from us at the moment.  Smiley So assuming that is correct I am further assuming that the 45 chips are still arranged as a 15 Chip triple node string. The buck converter presumably reduces the 12V to around 10V, giving us a hybrid design. In fact an integrated version of what we have been playing with on the S5 with a 12V PSU and an external Buck Converter.

The big unknown here is have they made this voltage software adjustable to give say 0.55V to 0.75V / Chip, or is it a fixed voltage? If they have done this perhaps it was done as a reaction to the Avalon6 which has an automatic frequency / undervolt algorithm?

Either way although there will be a small loss in efficiency with the Buck Converter but a gain in flexibility and overall be it software adjustable or good old pencil mod I think it represents an improvement over the straight string design.

It is also possible that I have completely misunderstood what the components are and the change that they have made is for something completely different.......


Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
carlosmnk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 24, 2015, 07:41:26 AM
 #168

So following the publication of the picture of the Batch 8 Hash Board on the Bitnain Product page this is my current thinking.



As we knew they have removed 3 triples, 9 ASIC's, from the chain. However rather than that being it, which never completely added up because the resultant increase in the Core Voltage from 0.6V to 0.8V took the chips way off the data Sheet and would have ruined the efficiency. So they have removed the chips from the bottom of the chain and my best guess is that the have added a Buck converter to the board, in the vacated space.

We can see the large inductor & capacitors and I am assuming that the Buck Converter chip is on the other side, which they are choosing to keep from us at the moment.  Smiley So assuming that is correct I am further assuming that the 45 chips are still arranged as a 15 Chip triple node string. The buck converter presumably reduces the 12V to around 10V, giving us a hybrid design. In fact an integrated version of what we have been playing with on the S5 with a 12V PSU and an external Buck Converter.

The big unknown here is have they made this voltage software adjustable to give say 0.55V to 0.75V / Chip, or is it a fixed voltage? If they have done this perhaps it was done as a reaction to the Avalon6 which has an automatic frequency / undervolt algorithm?

Either way although there will be a small loss in efficiency with the Buck Converter but a gain in flexibility and overall be it software adjustable or good old pencil mod I think it represents an improvement over the straight string design.

It is also possible that I have completely misunderstood what the components are and the change that they have made is for something completely different.......


Rich

Very interesting. Before i saw this picture, i did not want to but this batch, but now... I don't think so, perphaps it could be a good idea...

Thanks Rich!!

Played with: USB RedFury - BlackArrows Prospero X1/X3 - Butterfly Monarch- Spondoolies SP20E - Avalon 6 - Antminer U3/S3/S3+/C1/S5/S7 Batches 3-7-8 - Sfards SF100 - Innosilicon A2 Terminator - Alcheminer 96/256 - KNC Titan - Etherum Rigs
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!