Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2017, 08:11:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to get Zeusminer ThunderX3 Scrypt ASIC mining ?  (Read 2353 times)
Nthused
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
December 02, 2015, 01:03:35 PM
 #1

Hey all I recently purchased a 2nd hand Zeusminer ThunderX3 Scrypt ASIC.

I have read all the setup guides and forum information regarding it and am stuck...

It starts but does the whole nounce2 thing and shows stats every 5 seconds with hashrate that slowly goes down and no accepted, rejected, WU or even HW errors... Huh

I have been trying with cgminer too btw.

Can anyone please help point me in the right direction to get this thing working properly ?

1508616675
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508616675

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508616675
Reply with quote  #2

1508616675
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508616675
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508616675

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508616675
Reply with quote  #2

1508616675
Report to moderator
1508616675
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508616675

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508616675
Reply with quote  #2

1508616675
Report to moderator
1508616675
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508616675

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508616675
Reply with quote  #2

1508616675
Report to moderator
thefix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 866



View Profile WWW
December 02, 2015, 07:12:09 PM
 #2

Hey all I recently purchased a 2nd hand Zeusminer ThunderX3 Scrypt ASIC.

I have read all the setup guides and forum information regarding it and am stuck...

It starts but does the whole nounce2 thing and shows stats every 5 seconds with hashrate that slowly goes down and no accepted, rejected, WU or even HW errors... Huh

I have been trying with cgminer too btw.

Can anyone please help point me in the right direction to get this thing working properly ?

Running it on a RPI, windows or linux? Do you have the chip count and freq correct in the .bat file?

Nthused
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
December 02, 2015, 10:20:28 PM
 #3

I am using windows 7, used a generic config and changed pool and user + played around with clock speed and freq but it still just done the same thing.

I tried starting the miner manually and through a .bat file with the config but both give the same results.

When I first pluged it in it would make a weird sound upon connection to usb port compared to the normal noise, anyway to see it I had to install the zadig usb drivers.

I'm at work atm but will try again in a few hours time when I'm home, I will also take screenshots to help explain the problem a bit better.

Nthused
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
December 03, 2015, 09:49:24 AM
 #4

This is my config file I have been trying that I paste into cgminer (Designed for Thunder X3 Miner by Zeus)

-o stratum+tcp://drs.suprnova.cc:4865 -u Nthused.1 -p x -S //./COM1 --chips-count 128 --ltc-clk 328 --ltc-debug --nocheck-golden

It starts up like any other algorithm mining but does weird stuff with no shares or anything not even registering hash on pools.

|
|
|
|
V


cgminer

Nthused
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
December 03, 2015, 10:28:48 AM
 #5

Here is the config file used to run on bfgminer v5.3

--scrypt -o stratum+tcp://drs.suprnova.cc:4865 -u Nthused.1 -p x --set zus:ignore_golden_nonce=1 --set zus:chips=128 --set zus:freq=328 -d zus -S zus:\\.\COM1

Same thing but stable hashes and no accepts, rejects, wu or HW at all.

|
|
|
|
V


bfgminer

toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


View Profile
December 03, 2015, 02:15:55 PM
 #6

Code:
bfgminer --scrypt -S all -o stratum+tcp://pool:port -u user -p pass -S zeusminer:\\.\COMx --set zeusminer:clock=328 --set zeusminer:chips=128 --set zus:ignore_golden_nonce=1
bfgminer  --scrypt -S all -o stratum+tcp://pool:port -u user -p pass --set zeusminer:clock=328 --set zeusminer:chips=128
bfgminer  --scrypt -S all -o stratum+tcp://pool:port -u user -p pass --set zeusminer:clock=328 --set zeusminer:chips=128 --set zus:ignore_golden_nonce=1


Make Sure  this is -S all is after --scrypt,

if that doesn't work you may need to open it up and check the dip switches .

https://zeusminer.com/forums/topic/thunder-x3-running-at-15mhs/

The Board with the USB cable going into it, Yes all switches off to give it device 0
Now the next board it plugs in too I set DIP #1 on and the rest off give it device 1
Now the next board it plugs in too I set DIP #2 on and the rest off give it device 2
Now the last board has to be set with DIP #3 and DIP #4 on and the rest off. this gives it the device 3 commmand with a terminate command at the end.


if that doesn't work , check the PSU .


make sure that pool supports that type of script miner. why not use BFG 5.4.1 it handles my cyclone nicely on my pi .

or even try a different pool.

did you try https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=596620.0


Nthused
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 01:30:49 AM
 #7

I tried turning on the miner at the switch then plugged the usb into a port, it installed the drivers this time except for the last one about the UART driver.

I'm also using bfgminer v5.4.1 this time.

I fired it up and left it, it seems to be hashing at the correct rate of 27-30Mhs and is getting shares this time on the pool interface & bgfminer but I want to know if my miner is working correctly with accepted shares/rejects/hw ?

It originally started off with 7m share difficulty then 51m, 91m, 241m then back down to 91m share difficulty for its average, is this & the share difficulty normal ?


Nthused
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 01:53:39 AM
 #8

Well from personal experience with Sha-256 ASIC hardware I would safely say I'm all good now Grin

I have read reviews about the ThunderX3 and they are right that it sounds like an airplane taking off or even a leave blower due to the poor design of the fans Undecided But.... I read that you can replace them Smiley

Time to have a browse at my local PC parts store Tongue

thefix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 866



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2015, 08:22:58 PM
 #9

Well from personal experience with Sha-256 ASIC hardware I would safely say I'm all good now Grin

I have read reviews about the ThunderX3 and they are right that it sounds like an airplane taking off or even a leave blower due to the poor design of the fans Undecided But.... I read that you can replace them Smiley

Time to have a browse at my local PC parts store Tongue

Glad you figured it out

I used a Thunder x6 with a RPI for a while and it was noisy as hell

I would advise checking the power wires to the hashing boards to see how hot they get

I was always worried it would burn up some day

The x3 uses even more power

toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


View Profile
December 06, 2015, 12:12:05 AM
 #10

I rewired all mine right to the PSU no in between plugs which was very stupid, i read a lot stories from others how wires melted at the HB or in between at the y spits or other in between connection, some miners even had 18 g wire which made no sense at all.

 when I had them, all i have now is a cyclone, i may sell .
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


View Profile
December 06, 2015, 12:15:50 AM
 #11

Well from personal experience with Sha-256 ASIC hardware I would safely say I'm all good now Grin

I have read reviews about the ThunderX3 and they are right that it sounds like an airplane taking off or even a leave blower due to the poor design of the fans Undecided But.... I read that you can replace them Smiley

Time to have a browse at my local PC parts store Tongue

mine were replaced you could actually sleep in the same room then . they stayed just as cool etc.
bigs21024
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294

please help gofund.me/bigs21024 Family in need


View Profile
June 26, 2016, 03:47:31 PM
 #12

very interesting good post here thanks

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!