Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2018, 11:16:56 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking KNC Titan / Jupiter / Neptune miners back to life. Why not?  (Read 75607 times)
LongAndShort
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1050


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 01:04:25 AM
 #621

Meantime I have been working on the bbb titan code. I've got everything patched so I can distribute this as a .img file and let people extract it to sd cards except I can't figure out how to get i2c-loop.sh to auto start. It's annoying as hell because aside from that everything works now.

Will keep pounding this weekend. What's a good free-file site to post a couple of gig file?

C

Sounds awesome, may i suggest asking Henrik about the i2c-loop.sh.

https://mega.nz
dropbox and some others if you need them.

If you managed to document your steps on a fresh linux install, please hand them to me and ill make a guide for you to post somewhere.
Well, I figured it out. Putting i2c-loop in rc.local gets it up and running, but too late for bfgminer which has started and needs to be bounced. So I put a 30second delay in the bfgminer.sh file, that stalls it long enough for the loop to enable the i2c lines properly.

Documenting this takes a lot of time, I'm focused now on getting code out there for people to use (ie: you....). Will work on that eventually.

Truly a man for the people!
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544483816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544483816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544483816
Reply with quote  #2

1544483816
Report to moderator
1544483816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544483816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544483816
Reply with quote  #2

1544483816
Report to moderator
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1051


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 02:24:15 AM
 #622

All done, just need a micro-SD card reader to make a copy of the image. Instructions are simple: Write it to a Micro SD card, put it in, boot, set your titan values, and rock. The root password is not set, so you can log in as needed, I'll set the default web account to admin/admin.

The screen will display titan-bbb 2.00, and the light will be blue when it goes solid on (to differentiate this from the usual green LED). You can mine with my default credentials for a week if you want to repay me or send some bitcoin/litecoin to the proper address.

That's about it. Underneath the hood it's kind of a mess, but on the top end it's pretty nice. I should have it posted to a dropbox by Monday or so at the latest.

C
Xeon_Xeon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 04:09:59 AM
 #623

Alright since I have my Jupiter running, not 24/7 just when I tinker with it, what is the best version of firmware to run on it?

 I'm running KNC jupiter-1.01 now, or can a KNC one from a newer miner or a newer one that is not from KNC?



Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1064


Clueless!


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 08:07:07 AM
 #624

Meantime I have been working on the bbb titan code. I've got everything patched so I can distribute this as a .img file and let people extract it to sd cards except I can't figure out how to get i2c-loop.sh to auto start. It's annoying as hell because aside from that everything works now.

Will keep pounding this weekend. What's a good free-file site to post a couple of gig file?

C

Be sure to make it so the LCD says LIGHTFOOT BBB mod...(would not want to mix up controllers......and intermingle with them 'evil knc PI boards) Smiley

Hm....just got 3 pi qberty boards fixed ....and got 3 neppie cards coming with BBB ..crap...I should now get more Smiley















 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1051


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 10:48:12 AM
 #625

Be sure to make it so the LCD says LIGHTFOOT BBB mod...(would not want to mix up controllers......and intermingle with them 'evil knc PI boards) Smiley

Hm....just got 3 pi qberty boards fixed ....and got 3 neppie cards coming with BBB ..crap...I should now get more Smiley
That's why these light up blue, not green. My comments and such are on the main status page.

C
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1051


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 10:49:01 AM
 #626

Alright since I have my Jupiter running, not 24/7 just when I tinker with it, what is the best version of firmware to run on it?

 I'm running KNC jupiter-1.01 now, or can a KNC one from a newer miner or a newer one that is not from KNC?




I believe the Neptune 1.06 code should be able to run a Jupiter board. Give it a try for experiment's sake.
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1064


Clueless!


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 01:29:53 PM
 #627

Be sure to make it so the LCD says LIGHTFOOT BBB mod...(would not want to mix up controllers......and intermingle with them 'evil knc PI boards) Smiley

Hm....just got 3 pi qberty boards fixed ....and got 3 neppie cards coming with BBB ..crap...I should now get more Smiley
That's why these light up blue, not green. My comments and such are on the main status page.

C

Er ...confused...unfamilar with 'main status page' and/or if you are gonna brand the LCD with your name version like

Lightfoot BBB ver 1.00 (or some such)

300mh

that kinda thing (point me to the link or post for clarity...thanks)

edit $7.85 LTC what I feel like now Smiley Just love watching it go up Smiley



lol Smiley

Pump LTC Pump......the evil KNC Titans need Bitmain's for company!














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1051


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 04:38:47 PM
 #628

Well, how much more profitable does this make Titans? Worth fixing again?
Xeon_Xeon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 07:29:09 PM
 #629

Well I have a few issues,

Can't login via ssh even tho its enabled.
After about 10 minutes the web gui gets unresponsive and the heat sinks get cool so i'm assuming its no longer hashing.
Most of the time I can not access the "Advanced" tab on the web gui.
Looks like I have 2 dead dc/dc converters.







 
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1051


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 07:33:25 PM
 #630

Meantime I just took a look at the latest litecoin price.

Xeon_Xeon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 07:58:05 PM
 #631

I gave the jupiter a new network name so it would ask to save the key, it did but it still gives permission denied if I try to login via ssh.

So I changed the default username and password, still cant log in.

I can log in via the web gui just fine.

Also unplugged three of the four data cables and am now just running on asic 1, the one with the two dead dc/dc converters, still working after about 15 minutes.

Ok asic 1 ran for about 20 minutes with zero issues.

So now I'll unplug it and plug in asic 5 for a while.

Xeon_Xeon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 11:39:15 PM
 #632

I can login via ssh now.

I logged in as root using the admin password.........allowing root login via ssh is not good security.
Xeon_Xeon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 11:48:11 PM
 #633

root@miner1:/# waas
Error reading /sys/bus/i2c/devices/4-0050/eeprom
ASIC board #1 is non-functional: Bad EEPROM data
Error reading /sys/bus/i2c/devices/5-0050/eeprom
ASIC board #2 is non-functional: Bad EEPROM data
Error reading /sys/bus/i2c/devices/8-0050/eeprom
ASIC board #5 is non-functional: Bad EEPROM data
{
"asic_1_voltage": {
   "die1": "0.0000",
   "die2": "0.0000",
   "die3": "0.0000",
   "die4": "0.0000"
},
"asic_1_frequency": {
   "die1": "900",
   "die2": "900",
   "die3": "900",
   "die4": "400"
},
"asic_2_voltage": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_2_frequency": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_3_voltage": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_3_frequency": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_4_voltage": {
   "die1": "0.0000",
   "die2": "0.0000",
   "die3": "0.0000",
   "die4": "0.0000"
},
"asic_4_frequency": {
   "die1": "900",
   "die2": "900",
   "die3": "900",
   "die4": "900"
},
"asic_5_voltage": {
   "die1": "0.0000",
   "die2": "0.0000",
   "die3": "0.0000",
   "die4": "0.0000"
},
"asic_5_frequency": {
   "die1": "900",
   "die2": "900",
   "die3": "900",
   "die4": "900"
},
"asic_6_voltage": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_6_frequency": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"spi_frequency": "201442",
"spi_voltage": "1.95",
"auto_spi_voltage": true
}


I have asic boards 1, 4 and 5 plugged in.

Soooo whats up with those errors?

If I plug in the fourth I get an unresponsive jupiter after about 5-10 minutes.
 
Xeon_Xeon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 12:14:17 AM
 #634

So I plugged in asic 3 board, it has issues also.
 
If I plug it in it is the reason the jupiter hangs after a few minutes.

When that board is plugged in either with the others or by itself the Advanced page hangs and does not display then after a minute the whole miner just locks up.

But it seems to hash ok until it locks up.

Before it locked up it has errors under waas.



@LinuxBeast:~$ ssh root@192.168.1.168
root@192.168.1.168's password:
root@miner1:~# waas
Error reading /sys/bus/i2c/devices/3-0050/eeprom
ASIC board #0 is non-functional: Bad EEPROM data
Error reading /sys/bus/i2c/devices/4-0050/eeprom
ASIC board #1 is non-functional: Bad EEPROM data
Error reading /sys/bus/i2c/devices/5-0050/eeprom
ASIC board #2 is non-functional: Bad EEPROM data
Error reading /sys/bus/i2c/devices/6-0050/eeprom
ASIC board #3 is non-functional: Bad EEPROM data
Error reading /sys/bus/i2c/devices/7-0050/eeprom
ASIC board #4 is non-functional: Bad EEPROM data
Error reading /sys/bus/i2c/devices/8-0050/eeprom
ASIC board #5 is non-functional: Bad EEPROM data
FPGA I2C error: read data 0xFFFFFFFF (expected 0x3C) from reg 113:3
{
"asic_1_voltage": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_1_frequency": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_2_voltage": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_2_frequency": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_3_voltage": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_3_frequency": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_4_voltage": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_4_frequency": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_5_voltage": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_5_frequency": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_6_voltage": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"asic_6_frequency": {
   "die1": "",
   "die2": "",
   "die3": "",
   "die4": ""
},
"spi_frequency": "201442",
"spi_voltage": "1.95",
"auto_spi_voltage": true
}


Xeon_Xeon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 12:28:01 AM
 #635

I shut it down and swapped data cables and at first it seemed to be doing like it supposed to but after it ran for a few minutes it started acting up again until it is unresponsive.

So as it heats up it dies.


Edit:

More errors for asic 3:
i2c_smbus_read_word_data failed: addr 0x21
i2c_smbus_read_word_data failed: addr 0x21
i2c_smbus_read_word_data failed: addr 0x21
FPGA I2C error: read data 0xFFFFFFFF (expected 0x3C) from reg 113:3


Edit2:

Im suspecting its the #3 port on the controller board with the FPGA error, so I just swapped the #3 asic and data cable to the #4 header on the controller board and letting it run.

Edit3: Its been running fine on the other header so yep its the controller board.  Sad

Need to take it out and see if I can repair it by adding a header to one of the empty spots on the controller board.

Edit4: So it looks like three boards are good to go and one has a bad asic chip or a couple of bad dc/dc converters, not going to worry about that, and a bad port on the controller board and in pretty sure I can fix that.
forzendiablo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


the grandpa of cryptos


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 12:56:14 AM
 #636

this neptunes dont work good at all now, i hate KnC for this money waste ehhh

yolo
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1051


I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 01:24:52 AM
 #637

No, Neppies are only about .6w/gh efficiency, they got caught in the insane difficulty jumps a year or two ago. Titans still seem to be rocking along, but this is partially because it took a few years for someone else to make a scrypt chip that worked.

Xeon_Xeon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 01:27:31 AM
 #638

Alright since I have my Jupiter running, not 24/7 just when I tinker with it, what is the best version of firmware to run on it?

 I'm running KNC jupiter-1.01 now, or can a KNC one from a newer miner or a newer one that is not from KNC?




I believe the Neptune 1.06 code should be able to run a Jupiter board. Give it a try for experiment's sake.

It worked but the first time you boot it you have to configure everything under the advanced tab because it does not load the factory default, but it remembers after a reboot.

I went back to jupiter-1.01 to troubleshoot my jupiter.
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1064


Clueless!


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 05:44:21 AM
 #639

I shut it down and swapped data cables and at first it seemed to be doing like it supposed to but after it ran for a few minutes it started acting up again until it is unresponsive.

So as it heats up it dies.


Edit:

More errors for asic 3:
i2c_smbus_read_word_data failed: addr 0x21
i2c_smbus_read_word_data failed: addr 0x21
i2c_smbus_read_word_data failed: addr 0x21
FPGA I2C error: read data 0xFFFFFFFF (expected 0x3C) from reg 113:3


Edit2:

Im suspecting its the #3 port on the controller board with the FPGA error, so I just swapped the #3 asic and data cable to the #4 header on the controller board and letting it run.

Edit3: Its been running fine on the other header so yep its the controller board.  Sad

Need to take it out and see if I can repair it by adding a header to one of the empty spots on the controller board.

Edit4: So it looks like three boards are good to go and one has a bad asic chip or a couple of bad dc/dc converters, not going to worry about that, and a bad port on the controller board and in pretty sure I can fix that.

I'd repaste the unit with gelin extreme thermal past if I was you...just to be safe (and have fun....you can pray a new sha-256 coin will come and save you ..lol)

Also not you can use the LCD port I think on Jupiters? also? I think the LCD port is there even if never used as such?

need clarification on this...so you may have a spare port Smiley

















 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
Xeon_Xeon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 04, 2017, 01:55:49 AM
 #640

Ok, I read in an earlier post on soldering tips on how to add extra data port connectors to my Jupiter controller board.......


My little 25 watt iron is not even coming close to melting this stuff out of the through holes.

What is this stuff?   LOL
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!