Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:03:27 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How often is hash counter updated ? Does closing the client save current state ?  (Read 1045 times)
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
October 17, 2010, 10:59:42 AM
 #1

Hey,

As I understand, the client is doing the hashing in an organized manner, based on some counter. I mean that when i close the client, it saves the current state, so it can continue just where it left last time. Am i right ?

I was wondering how often is the client doing backup of current state in its database, because in an event on sudden power failure, they client could forget where it was and waste some amount of time doing the same work twice when it is turned on later. Is that the case ? Or is the counter saved in real time ?

So If I hard-reset my computer or kill the client with -9 parameter and then restart the client, will it pick up hashing exactly where it left, or will it start some stage from the beginning ?

I hope i made myself clear enough, because my english surely isn't perfect.

1481198607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198607
Reply with quote  #2

1481198607
Report to moderator
1481198607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198607
Reply with quote  #2

1481198607
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481198607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198607
Reply with quote  #2

1481198607
Report to moderator
1481198607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198607
Reply with quote  #2

1481198607
Report to moderator
1481198607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481198607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481198607
Reply with quote  #2

1481198607
Report to moderator
tcatm
Sr. Member
****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 337


View Profile
October 17, 2010, 11:02:22 AM
 #2

It doesn't matter where your client resumes hashing. Chances for finding a block are the same.
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
October 17, 2010, 11:06:02 AM
 #3

It doesn't matter where your client resumes hashing. Chances for finding a block are the same.

Even if it repeats exactly the same work that has been done before ? Curious.

tcatm
Sr. Member
****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 337


View Profile
October 17, 2010, 11:10:33 AM
 #4

It won't repeat work. It'll create a new block to work on and this block will be different from the last one.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!