Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2018, 02:40:19 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: how to solomine using cuda gpu?  (Read 2174 times)
papamoi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 12:48:39 PM
 #21

what do you suggests if we want to achieve something around 1.5 terahash/sec?

thanks


almost yes


Do you already have the hardware?

almost yes
1544928019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928019
Reply with quote  #2

1544928019
Report to moderator
1544928019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928019
Reply with quote  #2

1544928019
Report to moderator
1544928019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928019
Reply with quote  #2

1544928019
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544928019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928019
Reply with quote  #2

1544928019
Report to moderator
1544928019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544928019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544928019
Reply with quote  #2

1544928019
Report to moderator
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1591
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 12:57:11 PM
 #22

OT: How does scrypt run under nVidia/CUDA? Are nVidia GPUs better at mining LTC?
Notanon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389
Merit: 250


Pastor of Muppets


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 01:02:34 PM
 #23

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CUDA

Got the 3.5 from the Compute Capability Table, hence the slight confusion there. I'm not expecting miraculous results due to the differences in architecture between the ATI and nVidia cards in general, but would be nice to try and find a way to squeeze a bit more out of the nVidia cards just for kicks.

AMHash
ASICMINERROCKMINER ● Purchase from: AMHash (20Th/s min) ● Havelock (1Gh/s min)
Cloud-mining contracts: 0.0012 BTC per Gh ● Maintenance fee: $0.001551 per Gh per day ● Upto 6% Christmas Bonus

Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2013, 01:07:14 PM
 #24

what do you suggests if we want to achieve something around 1.5 terahash/sec?

thanks


To do those speeds, it be more realistic to get the next batch of ASIC's coming out.

To compare GPU wise you'd need 2000-2500 Radeon 7970's. I'm not sure I want to figure out how many Nvidia cards that would be, but most likely just multiple that 2000-2500 by 4-6 depending on which card you get. Buying 10,000+ GPU's will cost way more than it's worth ($3 Million).

However an Avalon ASIC, running at around 60-65 GH/s ($1300-1500), would mean you'd need around 20-25 of them to get to 1.5 Th/s.

Clearly it is more cost effective you can buy ASIC's.

If you haven't actually bought the CUDA cards yet ( you said nearly yes), I advice you do not.
Unless you actually have another reason to buy CUDA cards, outside of bitcoin mining.

I know CUDA cards, are very popular in Render farms and simulation programs, but these are not good choices for Bitcoin.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
papamoi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 01:29:21 PM
 #25

as read on internet,the titan card has around 3000 cores

so even with that there is nothing we can achieve with it?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1148


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2013, 02:28:16 PM
 #26

as read on internet,the titan card has around 3000 cores

so even with that there is nothing we can achieve with it?

Correct.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Miner99er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 03:15:37 PM
 #27

This still applies.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Why_a_GPU_mines_faster_than_a_CPU#NVIDIA_Releases_NEW_Generations_of_GPU_Cards

Bought From Yochdogx2, Alexmat, SgtSpike, David_Benz, Beaflag VonRathburg, Slaveindebt, Cptmooseinc, Coinhoarder

Donations? SURE! 16foPr8FAjYXKL8ApQAzihnigXm1qNhi8Q

http://pyramining.com/referral/yfab9med7   
http://pyramining.com/referral/ahmc7en6z
http://pyramining.com/referral/pagndq4xc   
http://pyramining.com/referral/79b2gmrzx
http://pyramining.com/referral/e2ghz4asy
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!