Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 07:59:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Group Buy] Avalon ASIC Batch 3 [CLOSED- Seven 4 module Avalons ordered]  (Read 48980 times)
Miner99er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 05:24:58 PM
 #441

US Breaker Box

95A ((20X4)+15) * 110v = 10.450KW


7 * 650w = 4550w or 4.55KW  so basically half his available wattage...if nothing else was run off that service.

I was just trying to point out some possible problems that might come up. I wish everyone the best of luck with this endeavor.

He's running them on 220v  Roll Eyes

No...he WILL hoping he can run them on 220v..it really depends on what powersupply you have...

Just be aware...I posted in this thread because I saw what I felt where some legit questions that had not been addressed by the OP.

MOST powersupplies are 110v/220v auto switching. There's even a little 110v/220v switch on the ones that aren't.

Another thing, the PSU's are bought in China. China is 220v. Why would they throw in a 110v only PSU? These are shipping world wide. There's no logical reason to throw something like than in.

REGARDLESS, Do the math. Most homes in the United States are wired for 220V service, with either 120, 150, or 200A mains. Power is simply NOT an issue. I'm all for throwing a line conditioner if the group thinks it would be wise, but other than that, let him keep them in his house. No need to co-locate something already co-located. /Queue Xzibit.

Bought From Yochdogx2, Alexmat, SgtSpike, David_Benz, Beaflag VonRathburg, Slaveindebt, Cptmooseinc, Coinhoarder

Donations? SURE! 16foPr8FAjYXKL8ApQAzihnigXm1qNhi8Q

http://pyramining.com/referral/yfab9med7   
http://pyramining.com/referral/ahmc7en6z
http://pyramining.com/referral/pagndq4xc   
http://pyramining.com/referral/79b2gmrzx
http://pyramining.com/referral/e2ghz4asy
1511164793
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164793

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164793
Reply with quote  #2

1511164793
Report to moderator
1511164793
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164793

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164793
Reply with quote  #2

1511164793
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511164793
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164793

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164793
Reply with quote  #2

1511164793
Report to moderator
1511164793
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164793

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164793
Reply with quote  #2

1511164793
Report to moderator
1511164793
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511164793

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511164793
Reply with quote  #2

1511164793
Report to moderator
nanobit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 06:14:14 PM
 #442

All of a sudden all Bitcoin miners in this thread became certified electricians. Smiley
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596



View Profile
March 27, 2013, 06:25:08 PM
 #443

All of a sudden all Bitcoin miners in this thread became certified electricians. Smiley

That's how this forum is.  In the Market Speculation subforum everybody is a fund manager, in the services subforum everybody is a professional, and here everybody knows all about electronics Tongue

BTC: 1AMfUrM37cCHcAvyYGx9bsJWjt6rdCu7sj
ETH: 0x427f41c3a6b79ca643210195a33cdbaa714177aa
Miner99er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 06:43:49 PM
 #444

I'm not a certified electrician.

Not even close.

But I have asked Certified Electricians how this works, and I try to pick their brain simply cause I'm curious.

It's pretty simple.

Amps * Volts = Watts * 0.8 for overhead.


Edit: But yeah, ask me to run conduit lines, proper pipe radius bends, what the difference between 5 different types of 110v outlets, etc, etc... I couldn't tell you. Least, not right now.

Bought From Yochdogx2, Alexmat, SgtSpike, David_Benz, Beaflag VonRathburg, Slaveindebt, Cptmooseinc, Coinhoarder

Donations? SURE! 16foPr8FAjYXKL8ApQAzihnigXm1qNhi8Q

http://pyramining.com/referral/yfab9med7   
http://pyramining.com/referral/ahmc7en6z
http://pyramining.com/referral/pagndq4xc   
http://pyramining.com/referral/79b2gmrzx
http://pyramining.com/referral/e2ghz4asy
jargoman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 07:50:59 PM
 #445

All of a sudden all Bitcoin miners in this thread became certified electricians. Smiley

That's how this forum is.  In the Market Speculation subforum everybody is a fund manager, in the services subforum everybody is a professional, and here everybody knows all about electronics Tongue

I actually went to school for this and these guys are schooling me. lmao

Be awesome and use my pyramining referral
http://www.pyramining.com/referral/yb9g3zq7x
mpjetta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 08:33:58 PM
 #446


Yes, there are still units for purchase. I decided I did not want to take on any more investors, as it was starting to get a little out of control.

It would be nearly impossible to keep track of all the transactions if I ordered one/two/several more. I already have my work cut out for me as it is. Smiley

Let me know if you need/want any help trying to automate things. It wouldn't take me long to put all the donations and payment addresses in a database and help automate the dividend payments. At the very least, we could generate a script to run on a bitcoin qt client or something. A properly configured linux VPS should be able to automate most of the payouts. We could also put all the info on a .com somewhere so investors can check their earnings based on that week/month's mining coins.

Just my $0.02.

 

https://CryptoPush.com : Bitcoin Market Alert System, now in [Beta]
W-M
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210

In Crypto we Trust.


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 08:36:12 PM
 #447


Yes, there are still units for purchase. I decided I did not want to take on any more investors, as it was starting to get a little out of control.

It would be nearly impossible to keep track of all the transactions if I ordered one/two/several more. I already have my work cut out for me as it is. Smiley

Let me know if you need/want any help trying to automate things. It wouldn't take me long to put all the donations and payment addresses in a database and help automate the dividend payments. At the very least, we could generate a script to run on a bitcoin qt client or something. A properly configured linux VPS should be able to automate most of the payouts. We could also put all the info on a .com somewhere so investors can check their earnings based on that week/month's mining coins.

Just my $0.02.

 
This sounds practical and sensible to me.

SatoshiCarnival.co ♢ Refreshing ♥ Fair ♧ Bitcoin Casino

WMCode ~ Web Development ~ Design
nanobit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 09:16:22 PM
 #448


Yes, there are still units for purchase. I decided I did not want to take on any more investors, as it was starting to get a little out of control.

It would be nearly impossible to keep track of all the transactions if I ordered one/two/several more. I already have my work cut out for me as it is. Smiley

Let me know if you need/want any help trying to automate things. It wouldn't take me long to put all the donations and payment addresses in a database and help automate the dividend payments. At the very least, we could generate a script to run on a bitcoin qt client or something. A properly configured linux VPS should be able to automate most of the payouts. We could also put all the info on a .com somewhere so investors can check their earnings based on that week/month's mining coins.

Just my $0.02.

 
Very good idea. Though I hope you mean 0.000225479 BTC? Smiley
 
finlof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 09:20:51 PM
 #449

US Breaker Box

95A ((20X4)+15) * 110v = 10.450KW


7 * 650w = 4550w or 4.55KW  so basically half his available wattage...if nothing else was run off that service.

I was just trying to point out some possible problems that might come up. I wish everyone the best of luck with this endeavor.

He's running them on 220v  Roll Eyes

No...he WILL hoping he can run them on 220v..it really depends on what powersupply you have...

Just be aware...I posted in this thread because I saw what I felt where some legit questions that had not been addressed by the OP.

MOST powersupplies are 110v/220v auto switching. There's even a little 110v/220v switch on the ones that aren't.

Another thing, the PSU's are bought in China. China is 220v. Why would they throw in a 110v only PSU? These are shipping world wide. There's no logical reason to throw something like than in.

REGARDLESS, Do the math. Most homes in the United States are wired for 220V service, with either 120, 150, or 200A mains. Power is simply NOT an issue. I'm all for throwing a line conditioner if the group thinks it would be wise, but other than that, let him keep them in his house. No need to co-locate something already co-located. /Queue Xzibit.

he had the ability to order without PSU, which they actually recommend to avoid any problems in customs.  so hopefully he did that option and will just purchase 7 high-end PSUs to install himself.
zif33rs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
March 27, 2013, 09:38:58 PM
 #450

REGARDLESS


As stated before....use whats between your ears. Have you looked into 220v power supplies?  Have you looked into the different connectors between 110v and 220v? Sure you can plug your stove or washing machine into a 220v receptacle....most computers(i.e. power supplies)? Not so much. You want to argue and defend this post..fine..I have no problem with what the OP is doing....I was just pointing out that there might be something that was overlooked that could end up being a problem.

zif


New to bitcoin? Want to mine? Not sure where to start out?
Check out www.hostedmining.com
Donations and Tips  btc - 1MkjKHpZbSaRepeYaAcmRMcqt8o3HKQCF   ltc  - LNz48TP8MZmke38qbZD5gXi53KrktbJG7V  ftc  - 6iDt92cyDvxXkrDhCzMh4zEmK1b9PqShs4
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 09:50:27 PM
 #451

Actually most modern ATX power supplies are autoswitching, and can take anywhere from 90V to 250V or so.

I just plugged my GPU miner with it's regular Antec PSU right into my outlet that I had wired up for 240V and turned it on.  No magic smoke came out, just hashes.

If in doubt, the label on the side of the power supply will indicate acceptable input voltage(s).

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
zif33rs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
March 27, 2013, 10:02:47 PM
 #452

Actually most modern ATX power supplies are autoswitching, and can take anywhere from 90V to 250V or so.

I just plugged my GPU miner with it's regular Antec PSU right into my outlet that I had wired up for 240V and turned it on.  No magic smoke came out, just hashes.

If in doubt, the label on the side of the power supply will indicate acceptable input voltage(s).

This is also kinda what I was pointing out. You want to jury rig your 70k investment with improper wiring that's fine. i.e. wiring a 110v receptacle's for 220v.....BRILLIANT!

/done with trying to be nice to idiots with their heads up their asses.

New to bitcoin? Want to mine? Not sure where to start out?
Check out www.hostedmining.com
Donations and Tips  btc - 1MkjKHpZbSaRepeYaAcmRMcqt8o3HKQCF   ltc  - LNz48TP8MZmke38qbZD5gXi53KrktbJG7V  ftc  - 6iDt92cyDvxXkrDhCzMh4zEmK1b9PqShs4
skyhigh2004
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201



View Profile
March 27, 2013, 10:25:55 PM
 #453

Why is anybody still arguing about power issues or constraints?  He already uses 5000 watts of gpu-miners and the asics will draw less power and in turn generate less heat.  There's really no need to bash people and tell them to use their brains when if you do use your common sense you'll known his wiring is more than adequate for the asics.

Edit: totally forgot that the asics will have the fourth module therefore will use a little more juice than his gpu-miners.  Still way more than adequate.

BTC:157BZV5z5dEdEoE5KSr5D7CQGXamLpsZ7n  LTC:LYCf5PnQpXCCmpR4ka3mR8DFDe5hKhTdfc
MEC:MAgTT8QdhVCkgHTkUoKvs4w1TQvv3NU99v  DGC:D8Ubh9oYTpSe1HEBptY8wf6ZrPpj7bhkV5
FTC:6hb1VsGzkej4kSsssGA4FMnkCoVp7PLi8D  PXC:PqQwQKJoYxGSVrKtVfDa5aaJVL9Yevhb2b
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 11:13:30 PM
 #454

Let me clear up some misinformation about power issues that others have said ITT. Some people have hit the nail on the head, but some have been pretty far off as well.

First of all, the standard US home uses 120v and 240v, not 220v like some others have suggested.

People are correct in saying you can only use 80% of the amps of a circuit safely running at 24/7 continuous load.

I will be running this equipment on a 30a 240v circuit and a 60a 240v circuit.

Amps x Volts = Watts, So... [(30 x 240) + (60 x 240)] * .8 = 17280w

I could run 17280 watts of Avalons safely from the 240v circuits I have ready to go.

I only expect the Avalon's we purchased to used about 5600w of power (800w x 7).

Therefore, I already have the power infrastructure to run many more than 7 Avalons as is. People are making this out to be a bigger deal than it really is.


jubalix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


View Profile
March 28, 2013, 12:23:22 AM
 #455

Let me clear up some misinformation about power issues that others have said ITT. Some people have hit the nail on the head, but some have been pretty far off as well.

First of all, the standard US home uses 120v and 240v, not 220v like some others have suggested.

People are correct in saying you can only use 80% of the amps of a circuit safely running at 24/7 continuous load.

I will be running this equipment on a 30a 240v circuit and a 60a 240v circuit.

Amps x Volts = Watts, So... [(30 x 240) + (60 x 240)] * .8 = 17280w

I could run 17280 watts of Avalons safely from the 240v circuits I have ready to go.

I only expect the Avalon's we purchased to used about 5600w of power (800w x 7).

Therefore, I already have the power infrastructure to run many more than 7 Avalons as is. People are making this out to be a bigger deal than it really is.



excellent...also i hope the cny psu are good for your supply

Admitted Practicing Lawyer::BTC/Crypto Specialist.
B.Engineering/B.Laws
jargoman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
March 28, 2013, 12:50:03 AM
 #456

I went to school for this stuff. Coinhoarders math is spot on. Even if it wasn't the worst that would happen is that the breaker cuircut would blow and he would have to move some of the units to another cuircut. If he was going to run with the asics/money he wouldn't be dealing with these issues on this thread. It seems this is all legit. People need to relax. I'm sure some issues will come up and it was already said that we could all vote on solutions.

A more likely issue is delayed delivery. I'm willing to bet we will not get all the units at once. It was already stated that all shareholders will share on all asics so it may happen that only one is delivered and we are all sharing those payments while the rest of the asics are delivered.

If you are an investor the best thing you can do to keep your investment safe is to make coinhoarders job the easiest possible.

Be awesome and use my pyramining referral
http://www.pyramining.com/referral/yb9g3zq7x
skyhigh2004
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201



View Profile
March 28, 2013, 02:05:28 AM
 #457

Completely agree. 

BTC:157BZV5z5dEdEoE5KSr5D7CQGXamLpsZ7n  LTC:LYCf5PnQpXCCmpR4ka3mR8DFDe5hKhTdfc
MEC:MAgTT8QdhVCkgHTkUoKvs4w1TQvv3NU99v  DGC:D8Ubh9oYTpSe1HEBptY8wf6ZrPpj7bhkV5
FTC:6hb1VsGzkej4kSsssGA4FMnkCoVp7PLi8D  PXC:PqQwQKJoYxGSVrKtVfDa5aaJVL9Yevhb2b
silvercoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
March 28, 2013, 02:16:16 AM
 #458

Hello everyone. I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm excited to be a part of the group. I got 8 BTC in the mix!

Does that equate to roughly a 1/103 (8btc/824btc)? Just checking to see if I have roughly the right numbers. Also, with 8 4mod units we have 640,000 mh? or 640/gh.  I enjoy a little trading and collecting. Thanks for any help out there.
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
March 28, 2013, 02:51:36 AM
 #459

All of a sudden all Bitcoin miners in this thread became certified electricians. Smiley

My dad started as a lineman, and worked up the chain to become an EE and design transmission lines.
I actually did work as an electrician's helper for a year.  Plugging & Switching, they called it.  Had pretty fast dykes and Kleins.


I try to be respectful and informed.
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
March 28, 2013, 03:42:40 AM
 #460

Hello everyone. I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm excited to be a part of the group. I got 8 BTC in the mix!

Does that equate to roughly a 1/103 (8btc/824btc)? Just checking to see if I have roughly the right numbers. Also, with 8 4mod units we have 640,000 mh? or 640/gh.  I enjoy a little trading and collecting. Thanks for any help out there.

Hi, I've been working on the numbers all night and am maybe about 1/2 through confirming investors deposits, payout addresses, and forum names. I took a break to check the forums and.. umm... crunch some more numbers.

A crude estimate of your monthly portion of the profits can be calculated by using the following formula:

(X-409.08) * .98 * .97 * (Y/715.694) = Your portion of profit in USD

Note: Enter X in USD and Y in BTC
X= Net profit (without power costs/pool fee/my fee)
409.08 = Power costs I expect to be about $409.08/month
.98 = pools 2% fee (may be a little more or less depending on what pool we choose)
.97 = my 3% fee
Y= your investment in BTC
715.694 = total amount invested in BTC (this number is not exact, but very close)

With the above formula, use any Bitcoin mining calculator with these numbers: 595,000 Mh @ 5600 watts.

I hope my above math is correct, someone please check me. I have been dealing with numbers with many decimal places for hours now.. at my day job aswell..  Cry  Cheesy

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!