Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 03:33:49 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: S9 Possible Bricked Controller Bounty  (Read 694 times)
Kyphon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 04:08:32 AM
 #1

The antminer s9 in particular we are having issues with is kinda a fluke. it won't ID on the network no hashing board light up when you push the reset both green and red lights go on. Ip scanners don't Pick up the miner that is having the issue but pick up all the others.

So first of let me say what my team has attempted to do thus far.

Power on let run for 20 min. Attempt to reset by hold down reset for 10 seconds. - No change

Access Restore options from the device its self (Pull up previous ip address that miner has used and it will pull up the standard miner page but half of the options won't load.)

Swapped out PDU PSU every cable from miner to switch and back to outlet. still no gas.

we believe it was caused by a error when the Static IP was being set as two of the 20 miners had this same issue. The second miner has the exact same issue and was located at a different location. The only common factor is the update on the static ip. It was successful for all the other miners but 2. we normally try and make a transition like that slowly so that it can be monitored. but for what ever reason these two miners didn't react as planned. Any recommendations on this would be a great help. Thanks in advance.


Bounty is set at .5btc for anyone that can fix this issue.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537716829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537716829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537716829
Reply with quote  #2

1537716829
Report to moderator
1537716829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537716829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537716829
Reply with quote  #2

1537716829
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1338


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 05:03:05 AM
 #2

How about I ship a controller to you.

or contact bitmainwarranty.com  for a spare one or two controllers


https://bitmainwarranty.com/shop/


you need the 98 dollar part and the 20 dollar part. on that  parts page


they would also repair your controller

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 05:27:45 AM
 #3

And consider doing a static config in your DHCP server.

Kyphon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 01:26:03 PM
 #4

How about I ship a controller to you.

or contact bitmainwarranty.com  for a spare one or two controllers


https://bitmainwarranty.com/shop/


you need the 98 dollar part and the 20 dollar part. on that  parts page


they would also repair your controller

I have every intention of buying a few spares. I'm working with the warranty now. Just figured i would see if there was a solution beside going through the warranty that anyone knew of.
Elphamyto
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 05:56:23 PM
 #5

Is it possible to access the controllers on these units via serial connection? If so, you could grab a cheap UART to USB adapter from somewhere like SparkFun and see if you're able to open a terminal connection.
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1703
Merit: 1017


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 11:07:38 PM
 #6

I haven't heard of it being done on an S9 yet but you can try the boot from microsd option.  I had actually ordered a new microsd card and adapter to try this but before the stuff arrived I had figured out a solution for my issue so I never tried it.

https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/204339655-How-to-create-a-bootable-MicroSD-card-with-factory-setting-
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!