Bitcoin Forum
November 16, 2018, 11:25:54 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: S9 Possible Bricked Controller Bounty  (Read 694 times)
Kyphon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 04:08:32 AM
 #1

The antminer s9 in particular we are having issues with is kinda a fluke. it won't ID on the network no hashing board light up when you push the reset both green and red lights go on. Ip scanners don't Pick up the miner that is having the issue but pick up all the others.

So first of let me say what my team has attempted to do thus far.

Power on let run for 20 min. Attempt to reset by hold down reset for 10 seconds. - No change

Access Restore options from the device its self (Pull up previous ip address that miner has used and it will pull up the standard miner page but half of the options won't load.)

Swapped out PDU PSU every cable from miner to switch and back to outlet. still no gas.

we believe it was caused by a error when the Static IP was being set as two of the 20 miners had this same issue. The second miner has the exact same issue and was located at a different location. The only common factor is the update on the static ip. It was successful for all the other miners but 2. we normally try and make a transition like that slowly so that it can be monitored. but for what ever reason these two miners didn't react as planned. Any recommendations on this would be a great help. Thanks in advance.


Bounty is set at .5btc for anyone that can fix this issue.
1542410754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542410754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542410754
Reply with quote  #2

1542410754
Report to moderator
1542410754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542410754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542410754
Reply with quote  #2

1542410754
Report to moderator
1542410754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542410754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542410754
Reply with quote  #2

1542410754
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1377


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 05:03:05 AM
 #2

How about I ship a controller to you.

or contact bitmainwarranty.com  for a spare one or two controllers


https://bitmainwarranty.com/shop/


you need the 98 dollar part and the 20 dollar part. on that  parts page


they would also repair your controller

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 05:27:45 AM
 #3

And consider doing a static config in your DHCP server.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Kyphon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 01:26:03 PM
 #4

How about I ship a controller to you.

or contact bitmainwarranty.com  for a spare one or two controllers


https://bitmainwarranty.com/shop/


you need the 98 dollar part and the 20 dollar part. on that  parts page


they would also repair your controller

I have every intention of buying a few spares. I'm working with the warranty now. Just figured i would see if there was a solution beside going through the warranty that anyone knew of.
Elphamyto
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 05:56:23 PM
 #5

Is it possible to access the controllers on these units via serial connection? If so, you could grab a cheap UART to USB adapter from somewhere like SparkFun and see if you're able to open a terminal connection.
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1714
Merit: 1017


View Profile
November 27, 2016, 11:07:38 PM
 #6

I haven't heard of it being done on an S9 yet but you can try the boot from microsd option.  I had actually ordered a new microsd card and adapter to try this but before the stuff arrived I had figured out a solution for my issue so I never tried it.

https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/204339655-How-to-create-a-bootable-MicroSD-card-with-factory-setting-
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!