Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 01:38:19 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Lets Solve the unreliable 7970 issues.... (share your observations/input)  (Read 25636 times)
Eric Rye
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 08:12:41 AM
 #41

Quote
Gets the device ID of the card
The device ID of the card is given by the atiflash tool ?
Seriously? You really should have a clue before you attempt to flash a GPU.

690+kh/s last night! I was ready to sell these cards 2 days ago, now I love them.


You should still sell them. My VaporX 7950 gets 660 kh/s and uses 140 W less than my Powercolor 7970 which gets 760 kh/s.
1513215500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513215500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513215500
Reply with quote  #2

1513215500
Report to moderator
1513215500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513215500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513215500
Reply with quote  #2

1513215500
Report to moderator
1513215500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513215500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513215500
Reply with quote  #2

1513215500
Report to moderator
Creating a Bitcoin client that fully implements the network protocol is extremely difficult. Bitcoin-Qt is the only known safe implementation of a full node. Some other projects attempt to compete, but it is not recommended to use such software for anything serious. (Lightweight clients like Electrum and MultiBit are OK.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513215500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513215500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513215500
Reply with quote  #2

1513215500
Report to moderator
1513215500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513215500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513215500
Reply with quote  #2

1513215500
Report to moderator
1513215500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513215500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513215500
Reply with quote  #2

1513215500
Report to moderator
amouretpaix
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 08:28:16 AM
 #42

Quote
You should still sell them. My VaporX 7950 gets 660 kh/s and uses 140 W less than my Powercolor 7970 which gets 760 kh/s.

Now I get 720Kh/s with the new bios on the vapor x 7970 ghz edition.

The meaning of Life is to have Love in your Heart, Love is the solution for everything Alaje - ADVANCED LIGHTWORK - English Sub
Eric Rye
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 08:30:38 AM
 #43

Quote
You should still sell them. My VaporX 7950 gets 660 kh/s and uses 140 W less than my Powercolor 7970 which gets 760 kh/s.

Now I get 720Kh/s with the new bios on the vapor x 7970 ghz edition.

At what price and power percentage over the VaporX 7950?

Edit: I'm selling the 7970 because it isn't worth the extra cost, power and noise. I also have a Powercolor 7950 which only gets 550 because it overheats and has shitty RAM which isn't stable at 1500 MHz. I'm selling that too. And buying 7 more VaporX 7950s. The moral of the story: don't use 7970s.
SubNoize
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 09:20:03 AM
 #44

can i load msi/gigabyte bios on my HIS cards?
JimmyFL
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:07:22 AM
 #45

My completely headless miner does 740khs on all cards. Gigabyte Windforce 3 OC 7970 (GV-R797OC-3GD) rev 2.1 volt locked cards here @ 1060/1460.

cgminer 2.11.4 --scrypt --lookup-gap 2 -I 13 -w 256 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192
Catalyst 13.1

Yeah! the same here (750@1080/1500). Love this card!!!
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946



View Profile WWW
May 04, 2013, 02:14:50 PM
 #46

Quote
Seriously? You really should have a clue before you attempt to flash a GPU.
I never flashed a gpu.

EDIT : Ok I flash with this bios http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/129658/Sapphire.HD7970.3072.120926.html

I have 670Kh/s with gpu:1050MHZ mem 1500MHZ
Quote
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o xxx -u xxx -p xxx  --thread-concurrency 11264 -I 13 -w 256 -g 2 --no-submit-stale

Thank you Smiley

Same here, works fine on my XFX cards.. had to reflash them all, now they're working...  Angry

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


Waves | 3PHMaGNeTJfqFfD4xuctgKdoxLX188QM8na


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2013, 02:19:10 PM
 #47

743 Khash/s, Gigabyte 7970

Code:
start /D "C:\cgminer" cgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://fc.altpool.com:3333 -u MaGNeT.1 -p x --thread-concurrency 8192 -I 13 --lookup-gap 2 --worksize 256 -g 2 -d 0 -d 1 --gpu-memclock 1500,1500 --shaders 2048 --gpu-engine 1080,1080 --gpu-fan 70,70

Unofficial Waves topic: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2142722   |   My Waves address alias = magnet
amouretpaix
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 10:36:17 AM
 #48

Quote
On a side note, The voltage on my XFX 7970 GHZ is at default 1.213.. Non of the bios's I have used allowed me to increase voltage past 1.200.

Preferably of course, I'd like to see a miner make use of the GHZ edition bios format rather than relying on flashing back and forth.

The voltage for the sapphire radeon 7970 vapor x ghz edition, 1050Mhz 1500Mhz is 1256mV VDDC (locked)
When I flashed with the bios from a classic 7970 (no Ghz edition) mem clock, core clock and VDDC change in to
Quote
GPU Clock:    950 MHz
Memory Clock:    1425 MHz
So with the new bios I set with "Trixx" the ghz edition clock 1050/1500Mhz and change the VDDC also with "Trixx" from 1200mV to 1256mV, because VDDC is unlocked with this bios.
It work too with afterburner.

Now it is stable without HW errors at 735Khs on cgminer 3.1.


The meaning of Life is to have Love in your Heart, Love is the solution for everything Alaje - ADVANCED LIGHTWORK - English Sub
Surpbitcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 04:27:28 PM
 #49

Hey guys, We have a machine setup for mining with 3x MSI R7970 Power Edition 3GD5 cards.
The motherboard is a Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Running Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Catalyst driver version 13.1
ATI SDK version 2.6.831.4

Current cgminer settings are:
  cgminer --scrypt --intensity 13 --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 8192 -g 2 --lookup-gap 2 --auto-gpu

Using this configuration the system is stable and according to GPU shark
  -The GPU temps are around: 70-80 degrees
  -Fan speeds are around 80-85%
  -GPU: 945.0Mhz
  -Mem: 1375.0Mhz
  -VDDC: 1.170V
  -GPU Usage: 99.0%

Unfortunately our KH/s rates seem to be pretty low. They are getting about ~490-510KH/s per card.

I'd appreciate any help on getting our KH/s rates up to the theoretical 700Kh/s that we should be getting.

Thanks
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:13:30 PM
 #50

They are not unreliable if you buy the proper version to begin with. Never buy Gigibyte, XFX, but only Sapphire Dual-X 3gb OC with Boost. All latest non-beta drivers/software. Run afterburner first on startup with the "apply to like cards "setting. Core voltage ~1094, Mem voltage 1638
Clocks 1070/1500 (MUST be a 0.7 ratio or less)
Got 4 cards so far running at 740+ within 5 minutes! lol

Use this to run cgminer:

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
CLS
COLOR 70

cgminer --scrypt -o <url> -u <user>.<worker> -p <pw> --failover-only -o <url> -u <user>.<worker> -p <pw> --intensity 13 --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 8192 -g

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
amouretpaix
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118



View Profile
May 07, 2013, 08:15:24 AM
 #51

Sorry for my last message, I can have 730Khs just by changing the core and mem clock, If i change the VDDC to 1256mV the hashrate dive.
MSI afterburner show me core voltage 1775mV by defaut setting and Sapphire TRIXX 1200mV ... ?
How I can now the true voltage ?
Quote
only Sapphire Dual-X 3gb OC with Boost. All latest non-beta drivers/software. Run afterburner first on startup with the "apply to like cards "setting. Core voltage ~1094, Mem voltage 1638
Clocks 1070/1500 (MUST be a 0.7 ratio or less)
Got 4 cards so far running at 740+ within 5 minutes! lol

What is the version of your bios ? Is it this one ?
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/129658/sapphire-hd7970-3072-120926.html

How you can control the mem voltage ? On msi afterburner 3.0 beta 9 I can control only the Core voltage...

Thank you

The meaning of Life is to have Love in your Heart, Love is the solution for everything Alaje - ADVANCED LIGHTWORK - English Sub
bowen151
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Caveat Emptor


View Profile
May 07, 2013, 08:31:39 AM
 #52

Got a good deal on new 7970s, that good I couldnt pass on them.

After around 24hours mining my rig gets unstable and the primary GPU starts throwing up artifacts. Reseat the card and also try in a different slot with different risers etc...
Problem persists
Underclocked the core and memory to around 90% of the factory clocks give me a stable and slightly usable card (no artifacts under moderate to high load)
Reboot and get my cgminer launch strings ready...
Problem persists - cgminer appears to crash on launch and the mining pool im with only reports around 33% of the shares I should expect. Artifacts are back and everything I try leads to miners crashing the entire OS on initializing.

Remove the card and all is well. Dropped a 5870 in its place, cut rate yes but effective Wink

Waiting on my supplier to get back to me about a replacement card.

Have any of you guys received a dead or dying new card. Im thinking its all of these RMA's from miners that clock their bits a bit too hard. Have you seen some of the memory clock speeds for the 7970s people are using, are these safe?!? I diddnt feel comfortable OC'ing with cgminer to some of those speeds but I did try to find some decent core/memory ratios with afterburner. Will this have an affect on my ability to return the card to the supplier I got it from or can I just claim it under the XFX warranty/RMA procedure?

-Buying/Selling graphics cards every month
--Buying BTC every month £/$/€200+ wanted
---UK based re-seller of physical bitcoins  Click here to buy
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
May 07, 2013, 01:39:11 PM
 #53

Sorry for my last message, I can have 730Khs just by changing the core and mem clock, If i change the VDDC to 1256mV the hashrate dive.
MSI afterburner show me core voltage 1775mV by defaut setting and Sapphire TRIXX 1200mV ... ?
How I can now the true voltage ?
Quote
only Sapphire Dual-X 3gb OC with Boost. All latest non-beta drivers/software. Run afterburner first on startup with the "apply to like cards "setting. Core voltage ~1094, Mem voltage 1638
Clocks 1070/1500 (MUST be a 0.7 ratio or less)
Got 4 cards so far running at 740+ within 5 minutes! lol

What is the version of your bios ? Is it this one ?
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/129658/sapphire-hd7970-3072-120926.html

How you can control the mem voltage ? On msi afterburner 3.0 beta 9 I can control only the Core voltage...

Thank you

I did not change the BIOS is all I can tell you. There is a setting to unlock the voltage under the advanced tab. You type in the new numbers and hit enter and then apply. After that, save the changes to a profile number. I don't have beta version of anything. Just the latest non-betas.

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
Tornate
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 12:11:13 AM
 #54

My completely headless miner does 740khs on all cards. Gigabyte Windforce 3 OC 7970 (GV-R797OC-3GD) rev 2.1 volt locked cards here @ 1060/1460.

cgminer 2.11.4 --scrypt --lookup-gap 2 -I 13 -w 256 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192
Catalyst 13.1

Yeah! the same here (750@1080/1500). Love this card!!!
Using the same GV-R797OC-3GD and can't get higher than 550 kh/s...  Sad
Have tried more than 100 combinations with Memory and Engine clocks, still nothing  Sad
I have also tried to remove .bin files from cgminer directory to make cgminer recompile kernel with default clocks.. Still nothing, that shit sucks.



config is:
Quote
"intensity" : "13",
"worksize" : "256",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"shaders" : "2048",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192",
"gpu-engine" : "1080",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500",
"scrypt" : true
FullLife
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 12:33:11 AM
 #55

My completely headless miner does 740khs on all cards. Gigabyte Windforce 3 OC 7970 (GV-R797OC-3GD) rev 2.1 volt locked cards here @ 1060/1460.

cgminer 2.11.4 --scrypt --lookup-gap 2 -I 13 -w 256 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192
Catalyst 13.1

Yeah! the same here (750@1080/1500). Love this card!!!
Using the same GV-R797OC-3GD and can't get higher than 550 kh/s...  Sad
Have tried more than 100 combinations with Memory and Engine clocks, still nothing  Sad
I have also tried to remove .bin files from cgminer directory to make cgminer recompile kernel with default clocks.. Still nothing, that shit sucks.



config is:
Quote
"intensity" : "13",
"worksize" : "256",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"shaders" : "2048",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192",
"gpu-engine" : "1080",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500",
"scrypt" : true

Copied this post from the Consolidated Litecoin Mining Guide for 5xxx, 6xxx, and 7xxx GPUs thread:


So after reading through this whole thead, I thought I'd contribute my setup and config.

Rig:
i3-3225
Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3 mobo (in hindsight, I should have bought a different board, this one is overkill)
8GB DDR3
(4) Gigabyte 7970s link (in hindsight, I should have bought either vanilla 7970s or 7950s, these are not worth the extra $$)
1200W Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold ps (I can't say enough about this power supply, it's excellent)
250GB Samsung 840 SSD
(2) WD hard drives (500GB, 2TB)
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit

Setup:
So I had all 4 cards running in my case, but with them being all crammed together, it was way too hot.  So I pulled everything out and sat it on a rack.  I have 2 of the cards plugged into the board, a 3rd card plugged in via 16x riser cable, but couldn't get the 4th card to work with another 16x riser cable. So, I ordered a 1x to 16x riser cable and hopefully this will solve my problem.

In the meantime, I'm running 3 cards and getting pretty nice hashrates.  These are my settings and results using cgminer 2.11.3 and AMD Catalyst 13.1 drivers:

--intensity 13 -g 2  715/710 = ~1500Kh/s
--intensity 13 -g 2  925/1000 = ~1950Kh/s
--intensity 13 -g 2  1000/1206 = ~2100Kh/s
--intensity 13 -g 2  1022/1244 = ~2150Kh/s

Other settings:
--thread-concurrency 8192 -w 256

I've literally spent most of a entire week playing around with settings and trying to find the sweet spot and I feel like I'm pretty much there.  As you can see, I actually underclocked my cards to get these hashrates.  Stock clocks are 1100 core/1500 memory.  Unfortunately the default voltage is about 1.2 volts on my cards and its locked (@#&($$^(@&$!!), otherwise, I'd be able to save 100-150W easily by undervolting.



I'm seriously thinking about getting rid of these cards and getting 7950s or 7970s that don't have the voltage locked.  Having the voltage locked is such a huge drawback, I'm just wasting too much power right now.
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 12:34:25 AM
 #56

So you probably don't want to hear that I instantly got a 5th 7970 running at ~750 right from the start...

Are you guys using two 8-pin connectors? Single 12V rail PS? Powered-risers if you have them? What about
ram? 2 gigs per card minimum...

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
Surpbitcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 12:54:26 AM
 #57

I guess nobody has any advice for the question i asked a bt earlier in the thread?

 Angry
amouretpaix
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 09:10:35 AM
 #58

Quote
Hey guys, We have a machine setup for mining with 3x MSI R7970 Power Edition 3GD5 cards.
The motherboard is a Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Running Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Catalyst driver version 13.1
ATI SDK version 2.6.831.4

Current cgminer settings are:
  cgminer --scrypt --intensity 13 --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 8192 -g 2 --lookup-gap 2 --auto-gpu

Using this configuration the system is stable and according to GPU shark
  -The GPU temps are around: 70-80 degrees
  -Fan speeds are around 80-85%
  -GPU: 945.0Mhz
  -Mem: 1375.0Mhz
  -VDDC: 1.170V
  -GPU Usage: 99.0%

Unfortunately our KH/s rates seem to be pretty low. They are getting about ~490-510KH/s per card.

I'd appreciate any help on getting our KH/s rates up to the theoretical 700Kh/s that we should be getting.

Thanks
Try with Catalyst 13.5
If you need sdk use 2.8
In cgminer 3.1 for me it work better with --shaders 2048 than any --thread-concurrency.
Try with 950Mhz and 1500Mhz memclock.

If it don't work, flash your gpu bios with the classic 7970 sapphire bios.

I have 730Khs with a sapphire vaporx 7970 ghzedition flashed with the "classic edition 7970" bios.

The meaning of Life is to have Love in your Heart, Love is the solution for everything Alaje - ADVANCED LIGHTWORK - English Sub
Surpbitcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 10:42:56 PM
 #59

Quote
Hey guys, We have a machine setup for mining with 3x MSI R7970 Power Edition 3GD5 cards.
The motherboard is a Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Running Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Catalyst driver version 13.1
ATI SDK version 2.6.831.4

Current cgminer settings are:
  cgminer --scrypt --intensity 13 --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 8192 -g 2 --lookup-gap 2 --auto-gpu

Using this configuration the system is stable and according to GPU shark
  -The GPU temps are around: 70-80 degrees
  -Fan speeds are around 80-85%
  -GPU: 945.0Mhz
  -Mem: 1375.0Mhz
  -VDDC: 1.170V
  -GPU Usage: 99.0%

Unfortunately our KH/s rates seem to be pretty low. They are getting about ~490-510KH/s per card.

I'd appreciate any help on getting our KH/s rates up to the theoretical 700Kh/s that we should be getting.

Thanks
Try with Catalyst 13.5
If you need sdk use 2.8
In cgminer 3.1 for me it work better with --shaders 2048 than any --thread-concurrency.
Try with 950Mhz and 1500Mhz memclock.

If it don't work, flash your gpu bios with the classic 7970 sapphire bios.

I have 730Khs with a sapphire vaporx 7970 ghzedition flashed with the "classic edition 7970" bios.


Thanks so much for your help, I'm gonna have the changes made and post the results here.

Thanks again.

Surp
xthestig
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 09:27:15 AM
 #60

Hey guys quick question, i'm using the xfx 7970 double d edition. stock 925/1375

My question, from doing my research online it appears xfx no longer use the reference pcb in these cards, cost saving, so the pcb isn't AMD any more. Would it be safe to flash the bios mentioned in this thread?

I'm struggling to get 550kh/s out of it at 1025/1375



Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!