Bitcoin Forum
June 26, 2019, 09:06:00 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Now that usb sticks are being sold by sidehack here is a new usb hub thread.  (Read 38339 times)
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1080



View Profile
June 29, 2017, 04:54:00 PM
Last edit: June 29, 2017, 06:24:36 PM by leowonderful
 #141

Most pools accept shares from my Compac, 2pac and even Antminer U1s. Of course you won't make much, but it's always fun to get some dust rewards. Solo mining is by far the best way to use stick miners as it's your only (small) chance to get anything from them these days.


Also, my Eyeboot 2-port 5v3a USB Hub is here! Pics coming in later. 2Pacs not liking either the voltage I have on em or the power (300mhz), but I will still post initial results.

Pictures:






Thoughts: 2 ports are a little too close to each other (possibly allowing for only one miner to run at once). Compac + 2Pac works fine as the heatsinks face opposite directions, but 2Pac + 2Pac does not as the heatsinks are too big.




The red LED on the hub itself is a little bad in my opinion as it shines pretty much through the shell of the entire hub, but that may be because I just don't like LEDs at all Smiley

Design is good and solid plastic, and the included power adapter doesn't have an obnoxiously bright LED, unlike most Chinese power adapters I have owned. The fact that it comes with a power adapter of substantial power is good already. It is capable of powering a 2Pac at a minimum of 300mhz if you find the best position for the voltage to the ASIC. I will find the numbers for the Compac later.

(Sorry for the way-too-big first image, switched image hosts until I found the best one).

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
1561583160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561583160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561583160
Reply with quote  #2

1561583160
Report to moderator
1561583160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561583160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561583160
Reply with quote  #2

1561583160
Report to moderator
COINSWITCH
Trade 300+ coins
No Login
No KYC
Get $5 on 1st order
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1561583160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561583160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561583160
Reply with quote  #2

1561583160
Report to moderator
roshanrbb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 01, 2017, 11:27:39 PM
 #142

Is this the only hub capable of running 15-19 2PAC at 2amp at the moment ?

https://www.eyeboot.com/19-port-40a-usb3-hub.html

Or is it better to use 3x 7port hub with same power output ? Like this one
http://plugable.com/products/usb3-hub7bc/

http://plugable.com/products/usb3-hub10c2/
klintay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1701
Merit: 1023

I thought we all equal -_-


View Profile
July 17, 2017, 08:17:32 PM
 #143

Most pools accept shares from my Compac, 2pac and even Antminer U1s. Of course you won't make much, but it's always fun to get some dust rewards. Solo mining is by far the best way to use stick miners as it's your only (small) chance to get anything from them these days.


Also, my Eyeboot 2-port 5v3a USB Hub is here! Pics coming in later. 2Pacs not liking either the voltage I have on em or the power (300mhz), but I will still post initial results.



nice pics! thanks for doing the review. we are starting a second giveaway for the eyeboot 2 port usb hub. details coming soon Smiley

EYE




██████████

████
████
█████████
███████
███████
█████
█████████
█████████
BOOT
   Online Mining Hardware Store   
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Industrial-Grade USB HubsBTC/LTC MinersPower SuppliesAdapter Cables

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Contact Us Now
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1096
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 31, 2017, 09:07:21 PM
 #144

From the specs:
Quote
Freq   GH   Vcore   Power   J/GH
100   11.00   1.26   3.67   0.33
125   13.75   1.26   4.48   0.33
150   16.50   1.26   5.27   0.32
175   19.25   1.26   6.12   0.32
200   22.00   1.32   7.43   0.34
225   24.75   1.36   8.73   0.35
250   27.50   1.40   10.11   0.37
275   30.25   1.46   12.25   0.40
300   33.00   1.50   13.98   0.42
It looks like you need about 14W per port to run at 300Mhz. So, a 7-port data/charging hub with 2.1A per port should be able to run at 250 MHz? 5V * 2.1A = 10.5W...
Wondering if a 70W charger/hub like this https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/ should be able to run at 250MHz wouldn't you think?
It does say it's a data hub, so it should work.
Quote
Hub enables connecting 7 additional USB devices. Forwards and backwards compatible with all USB 3.0, 2.0, or 1.1 host controllers and devices on Windows, Mac, and Linux/Unix computers at USB 2.0 speeds up to 480 Mbps. Transfer rates are device and USB host controller dependent. Fully plug and play, devices can be hot-plugged, supports USB over-current protection. Requires no driver installation (although individual devices may require drivers).
I don't know exactly how the power is distributed into chains inside the hub, assuming that I would need a full 10W (5V * 2.1A) per port.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1274


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 09:53:46 PM
 #145

From the specs:
Quote
Freq   GH   Vcore   Power   J/GH
100   11.00   1.26   3.67   0.33
125   13.75   1.26   4.48   0.33
150   16.50   1.26   5.27   0.32
175   19.25   1.26   6.12   0.32
200   22.00   1.32   7.43   0.34
225   24.75   1.36   8.73   0.35
250   27.50   1.40   10.11   0.37
275   30.25   1.46   12.25   0.40
300   33.00   1.50   13.98   0.42
It looks like you need about 14W per port to run at 300Mhz. So, a 7-port data/charging hub with 2.1A per port should be able to run at 250 MHz? 5V * 2.1A = 10.5W...
Wondering if a 70W charger/hub like this https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/ should be able to run at 250MHz wouldn't you think?
It does say it's a data hub, so it should work.
Quote
Hub enables connecting 7 additional USB devices. Forwards and backwards compatible with all USB 3.0, 2.0, or 1.1 host controllers and devices on Windows, Mac, and Linux/Unix computers at USB 2.0 speeds up to 480 Mbps. Transfer rates are device and USB host controller dependent. Fully plug and play, devices can be hot-plugged, supports USB over-current protection. Requires no driver installation (although individual devices may require drivers).
I don't know exactly how the power is distributed into chains inside the hub, assuming that I would need a full 10W (5V * 2.1A) per port.
That exact hub and what you need to know is described by me back in Feb. here in this thread, post #42. ref https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1779423.msg17921042#msg17921042

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1274


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 10:11:43 PM
 #146

re: the Plugable hub and PM about pullin more power out.
All should see my reply which is:
Does not work. Been there, tried that. Each of the 3 internal regulators is only good for about 1.5A before the voltage out drops below the USB spec of min 4.4V. If voltage drops below that the regulator in the sticks turns off until it is reset.

Charging applications really don't care but powering a device via USB does care very much.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1096
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 31, 2017, 10:18:19 PM
 #147

If I took a switching 5V 15A PSU, I should be able to wire all the power pins on any hub (which has easy access) to get the required amperage?
That would get me the required amperage.
If I read it correctly, 250MHz draws around 2A per port (10W / 5V = 2A). I should only need 10A to power 5 2Pac rigs.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1274


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 10:25:07 PM
Last edit: August 01, 2017, 12:44:57 PM by NotFuzzyWarm
 #148

If I took a switching 5V 15A PSU, I should be able to wire all the power pins on any hub (which has easy access) to get the required amperage?
That would get me the required amperage.
If I read it correctly, 250MHz draws around 2A per port. I should only need 10A to power 5 2Pac rigs.
Yep, would be perfect. Cut the internal power traces near the sockets so the logic drivers part still work and pigtail each power connection out from the socket pins using say 20ga wire and tie together at the supply. That way each socket can get full power if needed and not really affect the others.

Been thinking about doing that with an Intersil monolithic regulator dev board I have. The board is about the same footprint as the Plugable hub so they would stack very nicely... Given a healthy 12-24V main supply it'll put over 50A @ 5V Wink  Too much at work to do so just have not had the time to do the admittedly small amount of wiring needed.

As the old story goes: The cobblers children have no shoes...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
swoosh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 01:27:49 AM
 #149

Hi All,

I got now my 2 x 2pac usb from Klintay (eyeboot). Thanks

https://image.ibb.co/fPr9HF/20885028_10204007029371872_1618840630_n.jpg

My question is I have now 2 usb and 1 raspberry pi 3. What is now the best hub to use in this kind of setup?

What is the program/app should I download/run in order for it to start mining?

Thanks in advance
[newbie]
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1274


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 03:02:26 AM
 #150

Oh I don't know... Maybe read the Gekkoscience 2PAC hardware thread. All you need to know about them is in the first few posts about them Wink

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
swoosh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2017, 09:26:10 AM
 #151

Oh I don't know... Maybe read the Gekkoscience 2PAC hardware thread. All you need to know about them is in the first few posts about them Wink

Ohh its a cgminer. Thanks for the link NFW.  Grin
swoosh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 20, 2017, 10:49:39 PM
 #152

Got it working now hehehe...  Grin

https://www.imageupload.co.uk/images/2017/08/20/gumana.jpg

https://www.imageupload.co.uk/images/2017/08/20/bot.jpg

Thanks sidehack, vh, NotFuzzyWarm, klintay for the help.

Question now is since Im I have 1 extra usb miner that wont fit in rpi, what do you suggest a decent usb extension?

When do I receive payout?  Huh  Its been running now for 2 days non stop.

Thanks a lot.
hungdoan95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2017, 10:21:05 AM
 #153

Hi, I'm newcomer. I just used Gekkoscience to mine BTC so I get the problem when cgminer running with 2 more Gekkoscience.
When I put 1 stick on hub usb => it's working good
But when I put 1 more on hub usb => the first one will degrease the hashrate and degrease to Zero => it will show Zombie
I have some pic when I get the problem. Pls help me
https://1drv.ms/i/s!Ag6Isuac1nhsoBivDm4H_YJWlfYJ
https://1drv.ms/i/s!Ag6Isuac1nhsoBvZAUx1h_Wid8D1
https://1drv.ms/i/s!Ag6Isuac1nhsoBpHR70gyqEoYmJC

I also using the usb hub (type 7 ports usb hub) - Pic below
https://1drv.ms/i/s!Ag6Isuac1nhsoBkl8G4Gi4WHZGPH

Thank a lot.


leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1080



View Profile
August 27, 2017, 11:08:01 AM
 #154

I'm going to take a guess and say that your hub is underpowered. If the hub doesn't have any power input from a power brick then it is not usable for more than one Compac, and if it doesn't have enough input power it won't work either. (Just looked at it, it indeed is the issue).

In my experience these hubs work pretty well for mining but their lifetime and build quality might not be the best.https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B013OK10YM/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1503832033&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=70w+usb+hub&dpPl=1&dpID=31WLrxeZrqL&ref=plSrch

At this price point though, this is hard to beat. What you are looking for in mining hubs is high output per USB connector and lots of wattage for the entire hub (wattage is volts x amps)

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
hungdoan95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 28, 2017, 05:41:37 AM
 #155

I'm going to take a guess and say that your hub is underpowered. If the hub doesn't have any power input from a power brick then it is not usable for more than one Compac, and if it doesn't have enough input power it won't work either. (Just looked at it, it indeed is the issue).

In my experience these hubs work pretty well for mining but their lifetime and build quality might not be the best.https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B013OK10YM/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1503832033&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=70w+usb+hub&dpPl=1&dpID=31WLrxeZrqL&ref=plSrch

At this price point though, this is hard to beat. What you are looking for in mining hubs is high output per USB connector and lots of wattage for the entire hub (wattage is volts x amps)


Thank you. Is this equipment enough the power for more Gekkoscience Compac?
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1096
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 28, 2017, 09:48:46 AM
 #156

Im running 4x 2Pac sticks using this exact hub at 250MHz.
strada001
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 04, 2017, 07:02:04 PM
 #157

As I discovered with my 7-port, 60W charging hub from Plugable -- pop it open and look at how the power is distributed.

On the Plugable, it takes 12vdc in and has 3 buck regulators taking that down to 5v  for the USB plugs. That said... 1 regulator feeds ports 1 & 2, the 2nd regulator feeds ports 3 & 4, the 3rd feeds ports 5-7. See where this is going?

After futzing around with 2x of the 2PAC's along with an original Compac just plugging them in 1-2-3 I was unable to run all 3 at decent speed without at least 1 stick dropping out. Looked inside the hub and found ^^ so...

Put one 2PAC on port-2, the other on port-4 and the Compac on port-6 so each stick has it's own 5v regulator. Now the Compac is back up to its usual 318.75MHz and the 2PACs are running 175MHz 225MHz giving a total of 65-70ish GHs pointed at solo.kano.org. Lovin' it Cheesy


https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/ref=pd_sbs_147_2?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B00L2LK164&pd_rd_r=2KEH574PN7ZYFVFXHXSE&pd_rd_w=lEXyf&pd_rd_wg=h8kAR&psc=1&refRID=2KEH574PN7ZYFVFXHXSE


is this the one you're talking about?Huh

I need to find a good hub to power both my 2pacs and maybe a 3rd one.

if this is not the one..... any suggestions on a good hub to run 3 "2pacs"Huh

Thanks in advance.
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 151
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 05, 2017, 08:11:33 AM
 #158

Can this hub be used for 2PACs?

https://www.amazon.com/D-Link-including-Charging-Adapter-DUB-H7/dp/B0000B0DL7/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1504597896&sr=8-1&keywords=dlink+dub-h7

DeeMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 1


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 02:56:40 AM
 #159

Noob here, having some trouble chaining my USB 3.0 hub to RPi 3 with a 2.0 hub (Noticed it was mentioned earlier).  The hubs seem to chain together fine when hooked up to my PC but my sticks aren't detected when chaining with the Pi.  Not sure what I am missing, maybe  my 2.0 selection was poor?

3.0 Hub:
https://www.amazon.ca/Anker-Charging-Adapter-Included-VL812-B2/dp/B014ZQ07NE

2.0 Hub:
https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182168&cm_re=usb_2.0_hub-_-17-182-168-_-Product
ChrisJones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 04:07:23 AM
 #160

Noob here, having some trouble chaining my USB 3.0 hub to RPi 3 with a 2.0 hub (Noticed it was mentioned earlier).  The hubs seem to chain together fine when hooked up to my PC but my sticks aren't detected when chaining with the Pi.  Not sure what I am missing, maybe  my 2.0 selection was poor?

3.0 Hub:
https://www.amazon.ca/Anker-Charging-Adapter-Included-VL812-B2/dp/B014ZQ07NE

2.0 Hub:
https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182168&cm_re=usb_2.0_hub-_-17-182-168-_-Product

I couldn't get my Anker's (I have 10 port models) to work with chaining at all.  Ended up buying some of these https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01ALLWDFW/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 with the data cable connected to a 2.0 Superbgpag and the other to the Ankers for power. 
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!