Bitcoin Forum
August 06, 2020, 11:12:14 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Now that usb sticks are being sold by sidehack here is a new usb hub thread.  (Read 46365 times)
anorganix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 273



View Profile
June 18, 2017, 04:32:19 PM
 #121

It won't work, because when you remove the data cable (read on product's description on Amazon) the ports will provide the amps but NO data transfer capability.

LUX æterna
1596755534
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1596755534

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1596755534
Reply with quote  #2

1596755534
Report to moderator
1596755534
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1596755534

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1596755534
Reply with quote  #2

1596755534
Report to moderator
1596755534
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1596755534

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1596755534
Reply with quote  #2

1596755534
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1596755534
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1596755534

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1596755534
Reply with quote  #2

1596755534
Report to moderator
1596755534
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1596755534

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1596755534
Reply with quote  #2

1596755534
Report to moderator
1596755534
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1596755534

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1596755534
Reply with quote  #2

1596755534
Report to moderator
lucc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 01:32:40 PM
 #122

It won't work, because when you remove the data cable (read on product's description on Amazon) the ports will provide the amps but NO data transfer capability.


https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Aluminum-alloy-10-ports-USB-2-0-HUB-Charger-support-hot-plug/32515079039.html?spm=2114.01010208.3.8.vDJE9G&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_2_10152_10065_10151_10208_10068_5330018_10136_10137_10060_10155_10062_437_10154_10056_10055_10054_10059_303_100031_10099_10103_10102_10096_10052_10053_10142_10107_10050_10051_5320018_10084_10083_10080_10082_10081_10110_519_10175_10111_10112_10113_10114_10182_10078_10079_10073_10123_10189_142,searchweb201603_9,ppcSwitch_2&btsid=45310be3-9ae0-4d83-9e72-f7231513b350&algo_expid=a5a52dae-af45-414d-b4f1-ef8eb8be2562-1&algo_pvid=a5a52dae-af45-414d-b4f1-ef8eb8be2562

How about this?

Is this work properly with 4 of 2pac sticks?
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1469


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 02:32:40 PM
Last edit: June 21, 2017, 12:53:09 AM by NotFuzzyWarm
 #123

It won't work, because when you remove the data cable (read on product's description on Amazon) the ports will provide the amps but NO data transfer capability.
<snip insanely long link>
How about this?
Is this work properly with 4 of 2pac sticks?
As long as the sticks run at the the default 100MHZ - maybe.
That page says the power out (assumed per-port) is only 5V 600mA which is the output of normal non-charger USB ports/hubs. To push the sticks to higher freq means more current needed, as in up to 1.5 to 2 amps per-stick.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
mrgoldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 11:46:06 PM
 #124

New here, new to the 2pac.   But glad to see this miner still has active discussion.

I have 4 2pac's
I have an Anker 7port powered 3.0 that I currently use for 2 Futurebit Moonlanders and an Artic Breeze and they work great on it.
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B014ZQ07NE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I'm just testing the 2pac's to see if I can get all 4 working on the same Anker 7port to see if I should buy another
No luck

I'm using XP 32bit, USB2.0, did the Zadig
I can get 1 at time working easily, with a 150 freq setting.  So my thought is it's the hub or the .bat

I played around with unplugging and plugging in intervals and am able to get 2 out of 4 working,  but not always the same 2 (I know, fun right?)

I did the cgminer.exe -n , found my multiple Bus # Device #  thinking I could specify each USB device with a --gekko-2pac-freq 150 --usb #:# (4times)
which took it back down to 1 working
I can see them all in my device manager
Can you specify COM port instead of bus:device?
It's weird that cgminer will only start 2 of them

If it is the hub, what powered hub is recommended for 4 2pac's and a fan? planning on an affinity 120mm fan

These things are really finicky
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1585

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 20, 2017, 11:53:37 PM
 #125

You gotta consider a 2Pac at 150MHz is going to be pulling about 1.4 amps. That's not insignificant.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
mrgoldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 21, 2017, 12:05:51 AM
Last edit: June 21, 2017, 02:59:49 AM by mrgoldy
 #126

You gotta consider a 2Pac at 150MHz is going to be pulling about 1.4 amps. That's not insignificant.

so drop the freq and/or get a more powerful hub?  suggestions on hub?

FYI,  I feel like an idiot for not realizing that it had to do with power per port.

UPDATE:   I dropped them to freq 25 and all 4 worked fine.  Time for a new hub.
Namrok
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 21, 2017, 02:22:58 AM
 #127

You gotta consider a 2Pac at 150MHz is going to be pulling about 1.4 amps. That's not insignificant.

so drop the freq and/or get a more powerful hub?  suggestions on hub?

FYI,  I feel like an idiot for not realizing that it had to do with power per port.

I almost bought the 10 port Sipolar hub a few posts up that only provide 0.6 A per port.  Luckily I was able to cancel my order.  I must have been looking at hub specs so long I'd gotten confused about which hubs had which specs when I ordered it.  Maybe I got it confused with a different Sipolar 10 port model that did provide 2A per port.  No idea.

I'm currently running a pair of 2PACs on a Superbpag 7 port hub which is rated at 2A per port.  I have them up to 225Mhz which is as much as I dare with my current cooling solution.  Going by the spreadsheet on post 1 of the support thread, that should have them pulling something like 1.75A, especially since I have the vcore tuned as close I could without hardware errors.  But I suppose it could be a bit above that.  The heatsinks are warm enough to be uncomfortable to the touch, but not immediately yank my fingers away.  So I think I'm ok.

I'm hoping to get a few more 2PACs and then we'll see how well the hub holds up.  I think I read elsewhere that running this hub at 100% capacity with poor ventilation for extended periods killed it pretty hard though.  So we'll see how things progress.
mrgoldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 21, 2017, 02:55:45 AM
Last edit: June 21, 2017, 03:47:17 AM by mrgoldy
 #128

I'm reading the same about the superbpag 7port

capable of 2A per port, but that they die out if overloaded.

It seems the only hubs with higher power are the eyeboot options.  I was hoping to not spend so much on a hub, but maybe it's a sign that I just need to buy more usb asics! Shocked Cheesy

UPDATE:
Or maybe the better cheaper option is 2-3 superbpag hubs in a daisy chain? so there's only 2 devices per hub.  anyone done that?
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 657


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 01:22:10 AM
 #129

After a days of testing this Hub klintay generously shipped over,
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1779423.msg19508324#msg19508324

here is an initial summary of the unit:

Eyeboot USB Mini 2-Port USB 2.0 Hub Splitter

Pros:
  • Works with a single 2Pac out of the box on Linux (Pi3B) and Windows.
  • 5V 3 Amp power adapter
  • No power backfeed.  Won't mysteriously keep components awake when the PC is off.

Cons:
  • Can not run more than one 2Pac (with right angle adapter)
    • Voltage starts a bit low @ 4.7V with one 2Pac connected.
    • And begins to drop as load is applied 4.3-4.7V.
    • A second device connected and running amplifies this drop < 4.3V.

I'll update this post with more details and some photos as it becomes available.

vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 657


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 01:36:21 AM
 #130

UPDATE:
Or maybe the better cheaper option is 2-3 superbpag hubs in a daisy chain? so there's only 2 devices per hub.  anyone done that?

I don't see why you shouldn't be able to plug them into different ports on the computer or daisy chain.
Not with this particular model, but I've had multiple hub connected in both configurations without issues.

klintay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1756
Merit: 1028

Value will be measured in SATS


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2017, 07:32:52 AM
 #131

After a days of testing this Hub klintay generously shipped over,
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1779423.msg19508324#msg19508324

here is an initial summary of the unit:

Eyeboot USB Mini 2-Port USB 2.0 Hub Splitter

Pros:
  • Works with a single 2Pac out of the box on Linux (Pi3B) and Windows.
  • 5V 3 Amp power adapter
  • No power backfeed.  Won't mysteriously keep components awake when the PC is off.

Cons:
  • Can not run more than one 2Pac (with right angle adapter)
    • Voltage starts a bit low @ 4.7V with one 2Pac connected.
    • And begins to drop as load is applied 4.3-4.7V.
    • A second device connected and running amplifies this drop < 4.3V.

I'll update this post with more details and some photos as it becomes available.


thanks for the feedback, I have noted the issue with voltage being a bit low. will look into that

EYE




██████████

████
████
█████████
███████
███████
█████
█████████
█████████
BOOT
   Online Mining Hardware Store   
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Industrial-Grade USB HubsBTC/LTC MinersPower SuppliesAdapter Cables

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Contact Us Now
stone cold
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 09:17:34 PM
Last edit: June 26, 2017, 10:03:35 PM by stone cold
 #132

10 running on Sipolar 150MHz(1 2pac keeps dropping out)

http://i.imgur.com/cC9CecPm.gif?1

10 running on Sipolar 175MHz

http://i.imgur.com/T5oTxzgm.gif


http://i.imgur.com/QgXH5g8m.jpg


awesome,reasonable price as well.thinking to buy this 10 port sipolar.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01K6NPLKE/ref=s9_acsd_hps_bw_c_x_2_w

Would anyone here share his/her experience with this USB hub?
in2tactics
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576
Merit: 501



View Profile
June 26, 2017, 11:48:24 PM
 #133

10 running on Sipolar 150MHz(1 2pac keeps dropping out)



10 running on Sipolar 175MHz







awesome,reasonable price as well.thinking to buy this 10 port sipolar.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01K6NPLKE/ref=s9_acsd_hps_bw_c_x_2_w

Would anyone here share his/her experience with this USB hub?
That is not a hub. It is a charging station. If you read the description carefully, it says as much.

Current HW: 2x Apollo
Retired HW: 3x 2PAC, 3x Moonlander 2, 2x AntMiner S7-LN, 5x AntMiner U1, 2x ASICMiner Block Erupter Cube, 4x AntMiner S3, 4x AntMiner S1, GAW Black Widow, and ZeusMiner Thunder X6
achtung082
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335
Merit: 255


View Profile
June 27, 2017, 04:51:10 PM
Last edit: June 27, 2017, 06:46:57 PM by achtung082
 #134

I got my 10 port from aliexpress, the data rates were included in the full product spec's when i purchased it. Look on the Sipolar web site for details.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Sipolar-high-quality-usb-2-0-hub-power-supply-usb-hub-10-port-usb/32705044739.html?spm=2114.13010608.0.0.mF9xrG

The amazon one in the picture also doesn't have a up port.

Please support sidehack with his miner projects Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
My Sales Wallet
BTC:14A7W4hWAL8uLgVdGvrseHYkVvo5TGAgtX - LTC:LNLKyKkGNCJakZudGjc2qg26yYz7oeo92k - BCH:16ZSZvkuQXDqhBi4o2RPMVx8t7aVkqKGGC
bitsph
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 28, 2017, 10:43:16 AM
 #135

Hello All,

Sorry newbie here. Need your advise.

For simplicity, may i ask to share your hubs that works with multiple 2Pacs or even with other USB Sticks.  If possible, kindly advise where u purchase it too. Negative and Positive remarks will definitely help to avoid failed purchase.

Example

1. USB HUB NAME -
$xx.xx -
Purchase it here.. 
CONS:
PROS:

I am looking to buy one to work with a minimum of 2 to 8 2PACs.

Thank you all in advance.

mrgoldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 28, 2017, 01:03:48 PM
 #136

4 2pacs will fit in this superbpag https://smile.amazon.com/Superbpag-Portable-Charger-Transfer-Samsung/dp/B013OK10YM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1498654958&sr=8-1&keywords=superbpag

so you would need 2 hubs

others may use different hubs, but I found this one to work for me
PriitV
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2017, 10:54:15 AM
 #137

Oh cool, I just found out about USB mining and now there's a thread! Smiley I have some questions, though..

1. Where does one purchase USB miners?
2. What is they power and/or resources (CPU, RAM?) usage?
3. Are they worth it? I have in mind that I would like to mine altcoins, namely LTC I think.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1469


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
June 29, 2017, 03:53:23 PM
 #138

Oh cool, I just found out about USB mining and now there's a thread! Smiley I have some questions, though..

1. Where does one purchase USB miners?
2. What is they power and/or resources (CPU, RAM?) usage?
3. Are they worth it? I have in mind that I would like to mine altcoins, namely LTC I think.
You almost hit the right thread, this one is for what it takes to power them.... Try GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread for all your answers. These days stick miners are only good for Solo Lottery mining as they are too under-powered for most pools to accept.
btw: the sticks ONLY do Bitcoin -- not altcoins.













a

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
mrgoldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 29, 2017, 04:00:36 PM
 #139

Oh cool, I just found out about USB mining and now there's a thread! Smiley I have some questions, though..

1. Where does one purchase USB miners?
2. What is they power and/or resources (CPU, RAM?) usage?
3. Are they worth it? I have in mind that I would like to mine altcoins, namely LTC I think.
You almost hit the right thread, this one is for what it takes to power them.... Try GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread for all your answers. These days stick miners are only good for Solo Lottery mining as they are too under-powered for most pools to accept.
btw: the sticks ONLY do Bitcoin -- not altcoins.



Not all sticks, I have futurebits that are daily profitable for scrypt, by 10cents or so after electricity. but upfront cost is so high on sticks that ROI will be 20years or so at current difficulty.
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1123


Bitcoin FTW!


View Profile
June 29, 2017, 04:54:00 PM
Last edit: June 29, 2017, 06:24:36 PM by leowonderful
 #140

Most pools accept shares from my Compac, 2pac and even Antminer U1s. Of course you won't make much, but it's always fun to get some dust rewards. Solo mining is by far the best way to use stick miners as it's your only (small) chance to get anything from them these days.


Also, my Eyeboot 2-port 5v3a USB Hub is here! Pics coming in later. 2Pacs not liking either the voltage I have on em or the power (300mhz), but I will still post initial results.

Pictures:






Thoughts: 2 ports are a little too close to each other (possibly allowing for only one miner to run at once). Compac + 2Pac works fine as the heatsinks face opposite directions, but 2Pac + 2Pac does not as the heatsinks are too big.




The red LED on the hub itself is a little bad in my opinion as it shines pretty much through the shell of the entire hub, but that may be because I just don't like LEDs at all Smiley

Design is good and solid plastic, and the included power adapter doesn't have an obnoxiously bright LED, unlike most Chinese power adapters I have owned. The fact that it comes with a power adapter of substantial power is good already. It is capable of powering a 2Pac at a minimum of 300mhz if you find the best position for the voltage to the ASIC. I will find the numbers for the Compac later.

(Sorry for the way-too-big first image, switched image hosts until I found the best one).
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!