Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2018, 11:37:02 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Now that usb sticks are being sold by sidehack here is a new usb hub thread.  (Read 21951 times)
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 19, 2017, 01:23:41 PM
 #161

I'm not that good of figure out how many of Sidehacks 2PACS I can mount on this USB Hub.
I can't understand these numbers.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.0

I have this and it's not in use.
http://www.dlink.com/dk/da/products/dub-h7-7-port-usb-2-0-hub

Could someone help me?
1524569822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524569822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524569822
Reply with quote  #2

1524569822
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524569822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524569822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524569822
Reply with quote  #2

1524569822
Report to moderator
1524569822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524569822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524569822
Reply with quote  #2

1524569822
Report to moderator
1524569822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524569822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524569822
Reply with quote  #2

1524569822
Report to moderator
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 26, 2017, 10:04:36 AM
 #162

Noob here, having some trouble chaining my USB 3.0 hub to RPi 3 with a 2.0 hub (Noticed it was mentioned earlier).  The hubs seem to chain together fine when hooked up to my PC but my sticks aren't detected when chaining with the Pi.  Not sure what I am missing, maybe  my 2.0 selection was poor?

3.0 Hub:
https://www.amazon.ca/Anker-Charging-Adapter-Included-VL812-B2/dp/B014ZQ07NE

2.0 Hub:
https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182168&cm_re=usb_2.0_hub-_-17-182-168-_-Product

I couldn't get my Anker's (I have 10 port models) to work with chaining at all.  Ended up buying some of these https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01ALLWDFW/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 with the data cable connected to a 2.0 Superbgpag and the other to the Ankers for power. 
Could you add a picture of that setup, please?
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 26, 2017, 10:56:21 AM
 #163

Trying to find a USB Hub for my 2 2PACs and my RPi3.

All the links I have seen here are mostly pointed to Amazon. A lot from Amazon is not shipped to Denmark.
Could someone help me to find a USB hub that will fit the 2PAC and can be shipped to Denmark?

I'm not trying to be lazy, but I can't figure it out.
ZedZedNova
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369
Merit: 250

Ooh La La, C'est Zoom!


View Profile
September 27, 2017, 04:49:37 AM
 #164

Trying to find a USB Hub for my 2 2PACs and my RPi3.

All the links I have seen here are mostly pointed to Amazon. A lot from Amazon is not shipped to Denmark.
Could someone help me to find a USB hub that will fit the 2PAC and can be shipped to Denmark?

I'm not trying to be lazy, but I can't figure it out.

So click on the links that are provided, copy the name, model number, description, or whatever, then search for that info on your favorite online seller that does ship to Denmark. I would imagine that many of the same products are shipped around the world, and perhaps the only difference is the power supply that feeds the units. And that might be for local laws regarding safety approvals.

Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 27, 2017, 08:56:35 AM
 #165

Trying to find a USB Hub for my 2 2PACs and my RPi3.

All the links I have seen here are mostly pointed to Amazon. A lot from Amazon is not shipped to Denmark.
Could someone help me to find a USB hub that will fit the 2PAC and can be shipped to Denmark?

I'm not trying to be lazy, but I can't figure it out.

So click on the links that are provided, copy the name, model number, description, or whatever, then search for that info on your favorite online seller that does ship to Denmark. I would imagine that many of the same products are shipped around the world, and perhaps the only difference is the power supply that feeds the units. And that might be for local laws regarding safety approvals.

I found that Amazon have a UK division too. They ship to Denmark.
Thank you for your answer.
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 27, 2017, 10:54:10 AM
 #166

I trying to understand this, if you have max 3 2PACs sticks, this hub will be able to complete the task by adding them to Ports 2, 4 and 6.

https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/

If you have more than 3 then it's a hub like this that have to be used:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01KPOEX9O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

marc206
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 30, 2017, 10:09:17 AM
 #167

Just tried the atolla 7 port usb 3.0 hub i am returning it because it is zombifying my 2pacs.
marc206
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 30, 2017, 09:37:50 PM
 #168

so not even sha256 altcoins can be mined with these sticks. I bought them thinking that i could mine other altcoins. shit does anyone want to buy 4 2pacs?
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 107


View Profile
October 01, 2017, 02:11:52 AM
 #169

so not even sha256 altcoins can be mined with these sticks. I bought them thinking that i could mine other altcoins. shit does anyone want to buy 4 2pacs?

You can mine any SHA256 coin with these. Digibyte, Namecoin, Peercoin, Bitcoin Cash, etc etc
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 107


View Profile
October 01, 2017, 02:13:22 AM
 #170

I trying to understand this, if you have max 3 2PACs sticks, this hub will be able to complete the task by adding them to Ports 2, 4 and 6.

https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/

If you have more than 3 then it's a hub like this that have to be used:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01KPOEX9O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1



You could also get two of the pluggable hubs and run them from one Pi, but yes, you're right. I'm using the 20 port one to run 7 2PACs .
ChrisJones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 01, 2017, 05:58:34 AM
 #171

Noob here, having some trouble chaining my USB 3.0 hub to RPi 3 with a 2.0 hub (Noticed it was mentioned earlier).  The hubs seem to chain together fine when hooked up to my PC but my sticks aren't detected when chaining with the Pi.  Not sure what I am missing, maybe  my 2.0 selection was poor?


I couldn't get my Anker's (I have 10 port models) to work with chaining at all.  Ended up buying some of these https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01ALLWDFW/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 with the data cable connected to a 2.0 Superbgpag and the other to the Ankers for power.  
Could you add a picture of that setup, please?


Just a thrown together desktop setup to tinker with when I need a break from work really.  Actually working on it now, so it's slightly sloppier than normal, but not by much.  

There are two Ankers here, neither send data, just power. Data cables all go to the Superbpag.  The one in the front powers the two fans and I have one of the 2Pacs power-only cable running to charging power at the moment to test running all 7 at 300 (I have one plugged in to the charging only port on the back Anker as well).  The Anker in the back has the other six power-only cables attached and is hanging by the cables so that the 2Pacs are slightly angled from tension on the cables - I did have to play around with which connections for which 2pac worked best.

RPi3 is connected only to the Superbpag (and HMDI, keyboard, mouse).  Pi freezes occasionally with this setup and has to be restarted.  I think it's an issue with power (or PSU) going in to the Pi, not the USBs, but I'm not sure as I haven't taken the time to look at that yet.

The wire mesh basket it's hanging over is just something I happened to have lying around unused that fit the bill.  I originally tried to set this up with everything mounted upright using a Vans shoe box my son had.   : ]

https://i.imgur.com/9WaTgXF.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/AXWYI0R.jpg

tfbiii
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0

http://ckpool.org


View Profile WWW
October 01, 2017, 03:42:14 PM
 #172

so not even sha256 altcoins can be mined with these sticks. I bought them thinking that i could mine other altcoins. shit does anyone want to buy 4 2pacs?

Sure, $10 each?

-Fred

http://ckpool.org
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 02, 2017, 10:18:02 AM
 #173

I trying to understand this, if you have max 3 2PACs sticks, this hub will be able to complete the task by adding them to Ports 2, 4 and 6.

https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Charging-Adapter-Support-Android/dp/B00L2LK164/

If you have more than 3 then it's a hub like this that have to be used:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01KPOEX9O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1



You could also get two of the pluggable hubs and run them from one Pi, but yes, you're right. I'm using the 20 port one to run 7 2PACs .
Thank you for your answer.
Has it been confirmed that you can more than 1 pluggable running from 1 Pi?

Can the 20 port run more than 7 2PACs?

Can you add a picture?
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 107


View Profile
October 18, 2017, 01:46:08 PM
 #174

I've been using the Sipolar 20 port to run 9 2Pacs @ 200Mhz





This is the hub:
https://www.amazon.com/Sipolar-Industrial-Charger-Refurbish-Cellphone/dp/B01KPOEX9O

(I got it cheaper on eBay, though.)
btcpapaluna
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 11:32:02 AM
 #175

Hi,
Thanks for the info here about hubs for Gekkoscience sticks. I have read through this hub topic and the 2PAC topic as thorough as possible. I'm not an electrical engineer so please excuse me If I write nonsense.

I would like to experiment with some stick miners and I have some questions about USB Hubs. The newest one in the bundle is 2PAC (from Bitshopper de). The other ones are older (RedFury style etc.). The plan is to connect them all to 1 USB Power Hub.

I'm located in Europe so the options for buying a good USB Hub are limited (unless you want to pay some serious import taxes). I have narrowed it down to 2 products:
  1. Plugable USB 2.0 7-Port High Speed Charging Hub 60W https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00L2LK164/
  2. Anker 60W 3 PowerIQ Hub 7-Port USB 3.0 https://www.amazon.com/Anker-PowerIQ-Charging-Macbook-Surface/dp/B00VDVCQ84/

This topic already contains plenty of info about the Plugable Hub, thanks for that.

The Anker hub specifications:
  • It is a USB3 hub.
  • 12V 5A AC Power Supply.
  • Provides power -simultaneously- to max. 3 ports up to 2.1A, and 0.9A for all other ports.

The hub will be connected to a custom low-power Mini-ITX Linux Server which I use for various purposes, with an ASRock H110 Skylake motherboard and a Pentium G4500 cpu and 16GB of memory. The box is powered-up 24x7.

I plan to connect 2-3 2PAC's (not overclocked) to the USB Hub and fill up the other USB ports on the hub with older sticks and place a 120mm fan alongside the hub.

The older sticks are all < 0.9A.

The hub (USB3) does not have to work with a Raspberry Pi.


I have some specific questions about the Anker hub.

Q1: Is someone using this hub, do u recommend it?

Q2: Do you think the hub can handle this setup (2-3 2PAC's and 4-5 older sticks)?

Q3: Are the specs of this USB3 Hub (2.1A on max 3 ports simultaneously) also valid if you hook up a USB2 device such as the 2PAC?

Q4: Are the specs the same if I connect the USB hub to an USB2 connector on the Server motherboard (opposed to a USB3 connector)?

Thanks.

***UPDATE#1*** The three 2.1A ports of the Anker 60W are charge-only so they do NOT support data transfer. This means that this Anker hub is not suitable for the stickminers. I will go with the Plugable USB.
***UPDATE#2*** The USB Hub Plugable USB2.0 7-Port 60W arrived today and it is working fine. Thanks for the info in this thread Smiley

Apostle4444
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 23, 2017, 04:12:50 AM
 #176

Wanting to run 5 2pacs on something like the following. Anyone else got one ?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/QICENT-Aluminum-USB-3-0-Powered-HUB-7-Port-BC-1-2-Charging-HUB-Splitter-with/32831430292.html?spm=2114.search0104.3.129.edx0f3&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_3_10152_10065_5000015_10151_10344_10068_10345_10342_10547_10343_51102_10340_10341_10548_5130015_10609_10541_10084_10083_10307_5870020_5080015_10312_10059_10313_10314_10534_100031_10604_10103_10605_10594_5060015_10142_10107,searchweb201603_1,ppcSwitch_2&algo_expid=e7b5a990-8f41-437b-819c-6d5644410a52-17&algo_pvid=e7b5a990-8f41-437b-819c-6d5644410a52&rmStoreLevelAB=5
ParaplegicRacehorse
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 10

HODL. Patience.


View Profile
December 30, 2017, 04:30:29 AM
 #177

Does anyone have experience with this hub?

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/insignia-4-port-usb-3-0-hub-black/5631038.p?skuId=5631038

Spotted it last night browsing though Best Buy while waiting for a movie to start. The package claims 3.6A per port. And the price is right on par with Sipolar and other manufacturers making high-power-output USB data hubs.
TimBuck2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2017, 09:04:59 PM
 #178

Does anyone have experience with this hub?

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/insignia-4-port-usb-3-0-hub-black/5631038.p?skuId=5631038

Spotted it last night browsing though Best Buy while waiting for a movie to start. The package claims 3.6A per port. And the price is right on par with Sipolar and other manufacturers making high-power-output USB data hubs.

Don't have experience but if you read the Q&A's the first one states:

"Only one of the ports is 3A, the others are 0.5A ports. Be aware that the full capacity is 3.5A so if you have a device that truly pulls 3A in the high power port the other ports will have diminished capacity."

4 ports / 3.5 = 1.14 max as I see it.

TimBuck2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2017, 10:20:55 PM
 #179


I have a question about the Blue Block Erupter 49 port Hubs - The description on the website and eBay say:

"This is the most up to date version (V3) of the popular USB 2.0 hub, it has new improvements such as a built in 70A fuse. It is capable of supplying 0.5 - 1 amp per port. "

I have two of them and and they both came with 50 amp fuses installed (blade type replaceable).

If you take 50 amps and divide the 49 ports then it comes out to right around the 1 amp per port as they describe. However if these are the "most up to date version (V3)" and is designed for a 70 amp fuse then that would come out to nearly 1.5 amps per port.

I do not plan on filling the entire 49 ports per USB hub.

Main question is - is this blue block erupter 49 port hub limited by the chipset so that even replacing the 50 amp fuse with a 70 amp will make no difference or possibly did they just ship them with 50 amp fuses that they have in stock, and are actually capable of the 70 amp total.

TheNerdyType
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 02:49:46 PM
 #180

I got an ad for surge protectors/USB chargers and had a thought.

I have four 2pacs.

If I got four USB 3 Y cables, two of these power blocks, and any old el cheapo USB 2 hub, I should be in good shape, right?
Power blocks:
http://a.co/3uJgw5y

I could connect the 2pacs to the female end of the Y, connect the power side of the Y cable to the power blocks, and have data sent through the USB 2 hub through the data side of the Y.

It could work, right? From what I read, each of the two USB ports on the power block supplies 2.1A, which should be enough to power a 2pac at around 225-250Hz at the right voltage.

Thanks.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!