Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 11:55:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What are the first steps in installing a second GPU Card?  (Read 540 times)
paramind22
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2017, 09:03:33 PM
 #1

I have a machine which has a functional gpu it's using and I bought another gpu card to install.  What are the first steps after installing the second card?  I noticed that it tried to use the new card as the monitor gpu but since the drivers aren't in, the monitor wasn't working.
Using an older Ubuntu Suse with a Radeon HD 5570.  I know it won't mine much but I already do ASICs and wanted to get started at least. 

1510962958
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510962958

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510962958
Reply with quote  #2

1510962958
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510962958
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510962958

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510962958
Reply with quote  #2

1510962958
Report to moderator
1510962958
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510962958

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510962958
Reply with quote  #2

1510962958
Report to moderator
1510962958
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510962958

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510962958
Reply with quote  #2

1510962958
Report to moderator
JaredKaragen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 12:41:23 AM
 #2

I have a machine which has a functional gpu it's using and I bought another gpu card to install.  What are the first steps after installing the second card?  I noticed that it tried to use the new card as the monitor gpu but since the drivers aren't in, the monitor wasn't working.
Using an older Ubuntu Suse with a Radeon HD 5570.  I know it won't mine much but I already do ASICs and wanted to get started at least. 

Remove first gpu.

Install new gpu.

Install new gpu drivers; don't do a clean install if asked.

Once miner works on new gpu; install old gpu as well and it should work fine.

paramind22
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2017, 02:28:16 AM
 #3

I have a machine which has a functional gpu it's using and I bought another gpu card to install.  What are the first steps after installing the second card?  I noticed that it tried to use the new card as the monitor gpu but since the drivers aren't in, the monitor wasn't working.
Using an older Ubuntu Suse with a Radeon HD 5570.  I know it won't mine much but I already do ASICs and wanted to get started at least. 

Remove first gpu.

Install new gpu.

Install new gpu drivers; don't do a clean install if asked.

Once miner works on new gpu; install old gpu as well and it should work fine.

Thanks, but how do you remove an onboard gpu?

molitar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 307


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 03:48:25 AM
 #4

I have a machine which has a functional gpu it's using and I bought another gpu card to install.  What are the first steps after installing the second card?  I noticed that it tried to use the new card as the monitor gpu but since the drivers aren't in, the monitor wasn't working.
Using an older Ubuntu Suse with a Radeon HD 5570.  I know it won't mine much but I already do ASICs and wanted to get started at least. 

Remove first gpu.

Install new gpu.

Install new gpu drivers; don't do a clean install if asked.

Once miner works on new gpu; install old gpu as well and it should work fine.

Thanks, but how do you remove an onboard gpu?

You have two options.  Go into BIOS and turn off the onboard video or leave it on and set the PCIe to primary.  Use the onboard one for another monitor if you want.  Having the onboard one active will not cause any issues at all as I have 7 GPU's running on my mining rig and one is used for the monitor video.. (lower in graphics)
paramind22
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2017, 05:21:33 AM
 #5

I have a machine which has a functional gpu it's using and I bought another gpu card to install.  What are the first steps after installing the second card?  I noticed that it tried to use the new card as the monitor gpu but since the drivers aren't in, the monitor wasn't working.
Using an older Ubuntu Suse with a Radeon HD 5570.  I know it won't mine much but I already do ASICs and wanted to get started at least. 

Remove first gpu.

Install new gpu.

Install new gpu drivers; don't do a clean install if asked.

Once miner works on new gpu; install old gpu as well and it should work fine.

Thanks, but how do you remove an onboard gpu?

You have two options.  Go into BIOS and turn off the onboard video or leave it on and set the PCIe to primary.  Use the onboard one for another monitor if you want.  Having the onboard one active will not cause any issues at all as I have 7 GPU's running on my mining rig and one is used for the monitor video.. (lower in graphics)

Thanks again.  Preferably having the PCIe to secondary will free up more hashing power from it.

JaredKaragen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 07:54:53 AM
 #6

most boards will have problems trying to use their onboard along with a 16x card.....

Typically you choose internal, or external video.  not both.....  Too much heartache in most instances.

I have also tested on my daily use PC;  putting my faster hashing card as a secondary did not increase hashrate at all.  Being able to trim up the intensity on it, and lower on my screen-use video card did not yield a net gain in hashrate ever.  So I always run the best card as primary (for use) and the others purely for mining.

I did see issues in windows when mining on a secondary card and gaming on the primary card at the same time.  The hashing on the other card somehow used the GPU for some things in the nvidia driver.  HArd to explain as I don't know much about it, but I know the driver has an ability to select what GPU(s) to use in the control panel... and I think that paid a part in it.

I wish I could game from one card, and mine at un-reduced intensity on the secondary cards... but I just get too much weirdness from mining on other cards while gaming on the primary GPU.

Hopefully this adds some help and skips some hurdles for you.  It can be applied in several ways; not just to gaming.

For reference this was on a first gen i7 that I utilize every bit of pretty much all day.... I've been in need of a generational upgrade.  Been looking for a high core/high ghz Xeon ES chip... Feelers have already been sent out... just waiting....  Then I select a board for the chip and upgrade.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!